My Madder Fatter Diary

Author: Rae Earl

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1444754297

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 352

View: 8368


RAE'S BACK! But now it's 1990. The Berlin wall is down and the Happy Mondays are up, really up, but the new decade's brought new mortifications for Rae Earl and she's MADDER and FATTER than ever. About to enter the most important year of her life - her actual bloody A Level year - everyone expects her to concentrate on schoolwork but how can she when Haddock's backside is still a national treasure and revision at home is just NOT HAPPENING! It's hell outside the house too, if hell was in Stamford, Lincolnshire, and punishment for sins was a fiery eternity of awkwardness. In My Madder Fatter Diary, Rae reveals her real-life teenage diary once again, transporting us to a Britain instantly recognisable to those who remember Bryan Adams at the top of the charts and anybody who's been eighteen and agonisingly embarrassed by EVERYTHING. It's wet-your-knickers hilarious. It's blub-your-eyes-out sad. It's the touching, romantic, MAD, FAT story of what happened next.

My Life Gone Viral

Author: Rae Earl

Publisher: Imprint

ISBN: 1250133815

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 320

View: 9162


For fans of Girl Online and Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging, Rae Earl's My Life Gone Viral (the sequel to My Life Uploaded) is a quirky, irresistible story that tackles the unpredictability, joy, and insecurity of life online. Millie Porter finally has everything she wanted. But it doesn’t make her feel the way she thought it would... The pressure of having to create a great vlog forces Millie to take risks that her usual sensible self would never take. And soon, everything starts changing before her eyes—she’s not getting along with her boyfriend, her former enemy suddenly wants to be her best friend, and she’s unwillingly involved in her mom’s dating life. Plus, the boy she thought was her totally, completely, non-romantic buddy is now feeling like anything but. Can Millie balance it all? She is about to find out and share it all online. An Imprint Book Praise for My Life Uploaded: "Quite excellent." —Kirkus Reviews

My Mad Fat Diary

Author: Rae Earl

Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin

ISBN: 1250116503

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 352

View: 8599


It's 1989 and Rae Earl is a fat, boy-mad 17-year-old girl, living in Stamford, Lincolnshire with her mum and their deaf white cat in a council house with a mint green bathroom and a refrigerator Rae can't keep away from. She’s also just been released from a psychiatric ward. My Mad Fat Diary is the hilarious, harrowing and touching real-life diary Rae kept during that fateful year and the basis of the hit British television series of the same name now coming to HULU. Surrounded by people like her constantly dieting mum, her beautiful frenemy Bethany, her mates from the private school up the road (called “Haddock”, “Battered Sausage” and “Fig”) and the handsome, unattainable boys Rae pines after (who sometimes end up with Bethany...), My Mad Fat Diary is the story of an overweight young woman just hoping to be loved at a time when slim pop singers ruled the charts. Rae's chronicle of her world will strike a chord with anyone who's ever been a confused, lonely teenager clashing with her parents, sometimes overeating, hating her body, always taking herself VERY seriously, never knowing how positively brilliant she is and keeping a diary to record it all. My Mad Fat Diary – 365 days with one of the wisest and funniest girls in England.

My Life Uploaded

Author: Rae Earl

Publisher: Imprint

ISBN: 1250133793

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 224

View: 2772


For fans of Girl Online and Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging, the fresh, funny, and utterly irresistible young adult novel My Life Uploaded by Rae Earl explores the ups and downs of life online. Hello! Millie Porter here. I’m posting this from a garden shed, because three so-called adults are in the house arguing over whether you can train penguins. You see, I moved in with my dad, granddad, and aunty to escape my mum’s neat freak boyfriend. (He follows me around with a vacuum cleaner, like that’s a normal thing to do. It’s not.) The point is, this reality thing is HARD, so my BFF Lauren and I are taking it online to tell you how to handle it. We are going to make a difference with this vlog. That is, if I can just get Dave the cat’s tail OUT OF MY FACE. Yes, we know it’s usually only übergeeks like Bradley Sanderson who do vlogs. Yes, we know that Instagram queen Erin Breeler will not like it ONE TINY BIT. But Lauren says she’ll be too obsessed with the hot new boy at school to notice us. You get to see me juggling real life, online life, and a cat intent on my destruction as it happens—IRL. This is my life. Uploaded. And don't miss the sequel, My Life Gone Viral! An Imprint Book "Quite excellent." —Kirkus Reviews

It's All In Your Head

Author: Rae Earl

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1526360802

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 288

View: 4580


"A warm hug of a book ... a true gem" Buzzfeed This witty, honest and enlightening guide to the whirrings of your brain is the perfect read for any young person who's ever felt overwhelmed, at a loss or in a downward spiral. From the author of My Mad Fat Diary, Rae Earl, it's full of friendly advice, coping strategies and laugh-out-loud moments to get you through the difficult days. Most of all, this is a book from someone who gets it - someone who won't try and fob you off with confusing jargon or irritating slogans, but instead will help you through it with a smile and a cup of tea on hand. Rae says: As a teenager, I was very adept at hiding my OCD, my anxiety, my depression and my eating disorders. That's why I've written this book - because I hate to think of any teen going through what I did, and feeling like they can't talk about it, or need to hide it. So let's break down some taboos and start a conversation. I want to help you come out the other side feeling happier and healthier, with a deeper understanding of what's going on in your head and how to navigate through life without feeling overwhelmed or isolated. Where my lack of medical background becomes an issue, Dr Radha swoops in to the rescue. As a GP, mental-health expert and co-host of BBC Radio 1's The Surgery, I've worked with her to make sure all the information and advice is spot-on. She's clever, she's kind and she GETS it. I wish my teenage brain had had access to Dr Radha. This is a book for fans of Gemma Cairney and Open, Ruby Wax and Frazzled, Matt Haig and Reasons to Stay Alive, Bryony Gordon and Mad Girl. And most importantly, it's a book to make you feel like you're not alone. You're really, really not.

Your Brain Needs a Hug

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781663635242

Category:

Page: 288

View: 3793


Diary of a Mad Poet -

Author: Urban Poet

Publisher: Strategic Book Publishing

ISBN: 1618978632

Category: Music

Page: 312

View: 1969


I have seen both sides of America - the ghetto and Wall Street. Unfortunately, the past decade has not shown America in a good light. I would like to apologize to the world, also to the American middle class, poor, disabled, and senior citizens for enduring an America that has been un-American. My writings reflect the bad and good in America and I hope it inspires America to do better. My style of writing is not poetry, but rather hip hop on paper. For example: I don't know what to do I can't tell angels from demons Demons from angels Don't know if these women wanna be loved or strangled Don't know if they wear chains or bangles Don't know if they're strippin' or tango All these dudes flossin' They say they got paper, but when they walk, they jangle Don't know if these politicians for real or got an angle Don't know if these preachers married to the church or sangle America, she doesn't know the Lord's Prayer But she knows the Pledge of Allegiance and Star Spangle I would like to apologize in advance if some of my writings seem harsh and offensive. However, my writings reflect the external world as I experienced it.My experiences have influenced and shaped my internal world, the way I think and feel. I pray that you have had many more positive experiences than I. Welcome to my world, the world of URBAN Poet. I am in love with a country that sometimes doesn't love me. I am disappointed in America and angry at government, politicians, religion, and citizens who have chosen greed and selfishness over humanity. Furthermore, I am disappointed in the world and all the evil, injustice, prejudice, poverty, and corruption. Today we live in the new age of Sodom and Gomorrah. An environment where money is god, sex is casual, and love conditional. These are the things that motivated and inspired me to write this book. Writing as the URBAN Poet, this is my first book. My next two books will be titled Diary of a Mad Poet - Volume 2 and From the Ghetto to Wall Street. My parents lived in a very poor community in Grenada, Mississippi. In search of better living conditions, they moved to Chicago. I was born in Maplewood Projects, on the West Side of Chicago. I had a physically abusive father. I ran away from home at the age of fifteen, but still attended high school for food and shelter.After high school, my life went on a downward spiral for many years. When I fell to the bottom, I wondered, Why was I poor and the rich man rich? I came to the conclusion that it had to be more than race, it had to be education. Shortly afterward, I enrolled in college and started receiving an abundance of loans, scholarships and grants. After tuition and rent were paid, I invested in the stock market. I continued on this course for seven years and received a bachelor of science in accounting and a master's in finance, while managing to develop a large investment portfolio. I've been working on Wall Street since I graduated. Currently I live in Atlanta, my income is well into the six-figure range, and I have traveled around the world. Publisher's website: http: //sbpra.com/URBANPoe

Punch

Author: Mark Lemon,Henry Mayhew,Tom Taylor,Shirley Brooks,Francis Cowley Burnand,Owen Seaman

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: English wit and humor

Page: N.A

View: 6589