My Year Without Matches

Author: Claire Dunn

Publisher: Black Inc.

ISBN: 1922231541

Category: Self-Help

Page: 288

View: 9620


In the tradition of Wild and Tracks, one woman's story of how she left the city and found her soul. Disillusioned and burnt out by her job, Claire Dunn quits a comfortable life to spend a year off the grid in a wilderness survival program. Her new forest home swings between ally and enemy as reality – and the rain – sets in. Claire's adventure unfolds over four seasons and in the essential order of survival: shelter, water, fire and food. She arrives in summer, buoyant with idealism, and is initially confronted with physical challenges: building a shelter, escaping the vicious insects and making fire without matches. By winter, however, her emotional landscape has become the toughest terrain of all. Can she connect with her inner spirit to guide her journey onwards? Brimming with earthy charm and hard-won wisdom, My Year Without Matches is one woman's quest for belonging, to the land and to herself. When Claire finally cracks life in the bush wide open, she discovers a wild heart to warm the coldest night. ‘A brave and adventurous book ... Claire's writing is full of life and profound surprises.’ —Anne Deveson ‘An entertaining look at how Dunn survived for four seasons in a 'hundred acres of baking scrubland’ —Sun Herald ‘With earthy, expressive honesty she shares her struggles [and] the swooping highs of crafting life out of a block of unforgiving scrub... by sharing such an intimate journey, Claire has given us all a gift.’ —WellBeing Magazine

Rewilding the Urban Soul

Author: CLAIRE. DUNN

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781913348724

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 5021


How can we become more in tune with nature, even in the heart of the city? Once upon a time, a burnt-out Claire Dunn spent a year living off the grid in a wilderness survival program. Yet love and the possibilities of human connection drew her back to the city, where she soon found herself as overscheduled, addicted to her phone, and lost in IKEA as the rest of us. Given all the city offers -- comfort, convenience, community, and opportunity -- she wants to stay. But to do so, she'll have to learn how to rewild her own urban soul. Claire swims in city rivers, forages in the suburbs, and explores many other practices to connect to the world around her. Rewilding the Urban Soulis a field guide to being at one with nature, wherever you are.

Connect with Nature

Author: Dr Les Higgins

Publisher: Australian Self Publishing Group

ISBN: 1922618764

Category: Self-Help

Page: 256

View: 1745


If you want a deeper connection with nature, this book is for you.It will help you form a relationship with nature that can improve happiness, well-being and health. At the same time, it will foster in you a desire to take care of the natural environment.

The Art of Free Travel

Author: Patrick Jones,Meg Ulman

Publisher: NewSouth

ISBN: 174224212X

Category: Travel

Page: 256

View: 4465


Patrick, Meg and their family had built a happy, sustainable life in regional Victoria. But in late 2013, they found themselves craving an adventure: a road trip. But theirs was a road trip with a difference. With Zephyr (10), Woody (1) and Zero their Jack Russell, they set off on an epic 6,000km year-long cycling journey along Australia’s east coast, from Daylesford to Cape York and back. Their aim was to live as cheaply as possible − guerrilla camping, hunting, foraging and bartering their permaculture skills, and living on a diet of free food, bush tucker, and the occasional fresh road kill. They spent time in Aboriginal communities, joined an anti-fracking blockade, documented edible plants, and dodged speeding cars and trucks on the country’s most dangerous highways. The Art of Free Travel is the remarkable story of a rule-breaking year of ethical living.

Riddle Gully Secrets

Author: Jen Banyard

Publisher: Fremantle Press

ISBN: 1925163989

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 224

View: 894


Just when famed youth reporter Pollo di Nozi thinks she’ll never find another news story she stumbles upon not one, but two very surprising secrets. With hidden treasure, cunning crooks, mistaken identities and mysterious disappearances, unravelling them may be Pollo’s greatest challenge yet.

OPPORTUNITIES EMERGING: Social Change in a Complex World

Author: bruce meder

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1326973681

Category: Self-Help

Page: 194

View: 3083


The world is chaotic and complex and becoming more so. How do you work for social justice or community development in such an environment? Bruce Meder asks the reader to embrace chaos and complexity and to work with emergence. He also suggests you have a cup of coffee.

Rewilding the Urban Soul

Author: Claire Dunn

Publisher: Scribe Publications

ISBN: 192593893X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 336

View: 5215


We’re a famously nature-loving nation, yet 86 per cent of Australians call the city home. Amid the concrete and the busyness, how can we also answer the call of the wild? Once upon a time, a burnt-out Claire Dunn spent a year living off the grid in a wilderness survival program. Yet love and the possibilities of human connection drew her back to the city, where she soon found herself as overscheduled, addicted to her phone, and lost in IKEA as the rest of us. Given all the city offers — comfort, convenience, community, and opportunity — she wants to stay. But to do so, she’ll have to learn how to rewild her own urban soul. Join Claire as she sits by and swims in the brown waters of the Yarra River, forages for undomesticated food in the suburbs, and explores many other practices in a quest for connection. To make our human hearts whole, she realises, we’ve all got to pay attention and learn to belong to our cities — our land. This is where change begins. For ourselves and for the world.

Life Is But a Dream

Author: Lesia Hammonds Dunn

Publisher: Tate Publishing

ISBN: 1613460872

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 144

View: 2294


What is a dream? It is not necessarily wishful thinking or hoping for a better tomorrow; it is about living your best life now. It's the expression of your heart, mind, body, and soul. The truth that life is but a dream was accomplished through author Lesia Dunn's son, Erwin.Life Is but a Dreamis an inspiring and breathtaking chronological biography of Erwin's battle with acute lymphocytic leukemia from his diagnosis at ten months old to his death at age fifteen. Through Lesia's firsthand account, you will follow the Dunn family and witness Erwin fight the good fight of faith, never giving up on his Creator throughout his affliction. If you have ever had to deal with the tragic loss of a child due to cancer, this book is for you. InLife Is but a Dreamwitness how this family came together and never once lost their faith in the Lord throughout the trials and tribulations of Erwin's illness.

My Year in the No-Man's-Bay

Author: Peter Handke

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

ISBN: 1466806826

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 1537


Nobel Prize winner Peter Handke's autobiographical novel My Year in No-Man's Bay is "a meditation on two decades of a writer's life culminating in a solitary, sobering year of reckoning" (Publishers Weekly). In his most substantial novel to date, Handke tells the story of an Austrian writer--a man much like Handke himself--who undergoes a "metamorphosis" from self-assured artist into passive "observer and chronicler." He explores the world and describes his many severed relationships, from his tenuous contact with his son, to a failed marriage to "the Catalan," to a doomed love affair with a former Miss Yugoslavia. As the writer sifts through his memories, he is also under pressure to complete his next novel, but he cannot decide how to come to terms with both the complexity of the world and the inability of his novel to reflect it.

A Year Without "Made in China"

Author: Sara Bongiorni

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 0470116137

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 253

View: 6313


After she and her family spent one year not buying any products from China, the author offers revealing insights into the complex relationship between the American standard of living and the numerous Chinese imports that are necessary to maintain it.