Neanderthal Man

Author: Svante Pääbo

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0465080685

Category: Science

Page: 325

View: 3048


A preeminent geneticist, winner of the 2022 Nobel Prize in medicine, hunts the Neanderthal and Denisovan genomes to answer the biggest question of them all: how did our ancestors become human? Neanderthal Man tells the riveting personal and scientific story of the quest to use ancient DNA to unlock the secrets of human evolution. Beginning with the study of DNA in Egyptian mummies in the early 1980s and culminating in the sequencing of the Neanderthal genome in 2010, Neanderthal Man describes the events, intrigues, failures, and triumphs of these scientifically rich years through the lens of the pioneer and inventor of the field of ancient DNA, Svante Pääbo. We learn that Neanderthal genes offer a unique window into the lives of our ancient relatives and may hold the key to unlocking the mysteries of where language came from as well as why humans survived while Neanderthals went extinct. Pääbo redrew our family tree and permanently changed the way we think about who we are and how we got here. For readers of Richard Dawkins, David Reich, and Hope Jahren, Neanderthal Man is the must-read account of how he did it.

Neanderthal Man

Author: Kenneth A. R. Kennedy

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Neanderthal race

Page: 106

View: 6997


The Great Ice Age

Author: N.A

Publisher: In the Hands of a Child

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 66

View: 3578


Prehistoric Man (ENHANCED eBook)

Author: Robert Byrne

Publisher: Lorenz Educational Press

ISBN: 1429116269

Category:

Page: 16

View: 7986


PowerPoint Presentation Included! Prehistoric Man contains 12 PowerPoint slides, 4 reproducible pages, and a richly detailed teacher's guide. Among the topics covered in this volume are prehistoric sites, the Olduvai Gorge, Paleolithic men, Neanderthal man, Paleolithic animals and tools, Cro-Magnon man, Paleolithic art, Cro-Magnon art, and the Mesolithic and Neolithic periods.

Neanderthal Man

Author: Myra L. Shackley

Publisher: Hamden, Conn. : Archon Books

ISBN: N.A

Category: Science

Page: 170

View: 6462


The World of Man

Author: Francis Borgia

Publisher: Page Publishing Inc

ISBN: 1682897672

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 6230


Book Delisted

Evolution and the Diversity of Life

Author: Ernst Mayr

Publisher: Harvard University Press

ISBN: 9780674271050

Category: Science

Page: 742

View: 9107


The diversity of living forms and the unity of evolutionary processes are the focus of these essays. The collection helps form much of the basis of contempoary undertanding of evolutionary biology.

The Origin of Species by DNA Coding

Author: Victor W Chang & Guoping Song

Publisher: Samuel Chang

ISBN: 1945177241

Category: Antiques & Collectibles

Page: 420

View: 4872


Who are we? Where are we from? These questions have troubled people for centuries. The textbooks have long taught us that human beings evolved from anthropoid apes. Today, a new science, molecular anthropology, tells us this: 7 billion human beings in the world share a common grand, grand…father, the Y-chromosome Adam, and share a common grand, grand…mother, the Mitochondrial Eve. After reading information in this book, you will be convinced that human beings could not be the result of evolution, sudden mutation, or in any way related to the anthropoid apes.

Man's Destiny

Author: Colin Leach

Publisher: Author House

ISBN: 1477239367

Category: Religion

Page: 226

View: 5826


This book contains: A new theory for the Big Bang that created the universe Validation of the Genesis account of creation The real reason why God created Man The real reason for the construction of the Great Pyramid at Giza The real reason why God sent the Israelites to Egypt The real reason why God sent Jesus to preach Christianity The author has applied his powers of analysis and imagination to all the above and linked them in a cause-and-effect relationship that points to an undreamt-of destiny for mankind.