Nobody's Child

Author: Ann Major

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 1459271939

Category: Fiction

Page: 192

View: 3057


MR. NOVEMBER THAT WAS THEN… Cutter Lord: Seven years ago the intense, powerful millionaire barged into his brother's wedding reception and attempted to steal the brand-new bride. THIS IS NOW… The Single Mother: With her husband's murderer still on the loose, Cheyenne Rose had no choice but to turn to her brother-in-law, the notorious Cutter, for help—the Lord brother she should have married. And the Deep, Dark Secret: Still haunted by the rumors surrounding the baby Cheyenne delivered less than eight months after the wedding to his brother, Cutter made a proposal of his own…. MAN OF THE MONTH Children of Destiny: Ann Major's bestselling miniseries continues!

Nobody's Child

Author: Elizabeth Gill

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1784298972

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 5377


Will these orphan sisters find their happy ending? When their mother dies and their father, in his grief, burns down their wagon and runs away, Kath and Ella - gypsy sisters - suddenly become orphans. With no one to turn to for help, they face hardship and hunger at every turn. Will their special sisters' bond be strong enough to see them to safety? From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Far From My Father's House comes a heartwarming tale of family and overcoming adversity. A perfect tearjearker for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Dilly Court. 'A wonderful book, full of passion, pain, sweetness, twists and turns' Sheila Newberry.

Nobody's Child

Author: Victoria Jenkins

Publisher: Bookouture

ISBN: 1786814889

Category: Fiction

Page: 350

View: 432


Nobody's Child: A Victorian Romance

Author: Ellie Jacobs

Publisher: Blue Gem Publishing

ISBN: 0645215198

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 9412


Bereft and alone after the death of her mother and newborn sister, Ginnie is pitchforked from the stark world of the London workhouse to the horror of a cotton factory. Her only friend is Frank… and then he leaves her, too. Ginnie Buckley adores her brave mother, so it is a cruel blow to lose both her and her baby sister in childbirth. Life is unadulterated misery, until Eliza Shaw and her brother Frank Shaw come to the workhouse. Ginnie and Eliza become friends, and life is tolerable… just. But one day she and Frank are abruptly taken away to work for a cruel and greedy cotton factory owner in Essex. Daily, they are forced to risk their lives and limbs to keep production up and profits rising. Ginnie is always afraid, but forges an unlikely friendship with Will Gillespie, the quiet son of the owner. When Frank decides to run away, Ginnie cannot bring herself to go with him and risk an unknown fate on the dirty and inhospitable streets of London — not without saying goodbye to Will. But the owner and the overseer, enraged at losing Frank, make life intolerable for Ginnie. A target of their spite, she is forced to do ever-more dangerous tasks — and one day, the worst happens. Badly injured and no longer of any use to the bullying factory owner, Ginnie is forced out onto the very streets she’d refused to risk with Frank. Now, she has no idea how she will cope. Then life takes an unexpected turn, and it appears that Ginnie might survive. Until Frank, now a hardened thief, reappears and threatens everything she hopes for…

Nobody's Child

Author: Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch

Publisher: Dundurn

ISBN: 1459720989

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 200

View: 1358


Commended for the 2004 Canadian Children’s Book Centre Our Choice Selection, short-listed for the 2005 Red Maple Award and Rocky Mountain Book Award When the Armenians of Turkey are marched into the desert to die in 1915, Mariam is rescued by her Turkish friend Rustem, and lives with mixed acceptance as a guest in his father’s harem. Kevork is shot and left for dead in a mass grave in the desert, but is rescued by nomadic Arabs and nurtured back to health. Both teens must choose between the security of an adopted home or the risk of death in search of family. A sequel to the highly successful The Hunger, Nobody’s Child is a stirring and engaging account of one of the twentieth century’s most significant events.

Nobody's Child

Author: Val Wood

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1446436322

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 8264


When Laura Page returns to the remote Holderness village of Welwick, it is to try and discover the mystery of her mother Susannah's early life. Now a prosperous businesswoman in Hull, Susannah never speaks of her childhood, when she was brought up with the terrible stigma of bastardy - of being nobody's child. Susannah's own mother, Mary-Ellen, born into poverty and living in a labourer's cottage, had the misfortune to fall in love with a local landowner's son. She was his one and only great love, but was unable to acknowledge their child and had to watch her growing up in hardship. As the years passed and Laura began to be curious about her mother's past, so too did she become aware of the mystery about her own father.

Nobody's Child

Author: Elizabeth Dejeans

Publisher: Litres

ISBN: 5040752342

Category: Fiction

Page: 252

View: 5373


"Nobody's Child" by Elizabeth Dejeans. Published by Good Press. Good Press publishes a wide range of titles that encompasses every genre. From well-known classics & literary fiction and non-fiction to forgotten−or yet undiscovered gems−of world literature, we issue the books that need to be read. Each Good Press edition has been meticulously edited and formatted to boost readability for all e-readers and devices. Our goal is to produce eBooks that are user-friendly and accessible to everyone in a high-quality digital format.

Nobody's Child

Author: John Robinson

Publisher: Monarch Books

ISBN: 0857213105

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 160

View: 5438


John Robinson had the worst possible start in life. Taken into care at four months old, he was left in abusive foster homes for most of his childhood. At fourteen he was sent to a detention centre for arson. Gravitating towards a life of crime, he moved from borstal to the streets to psychiatric hospital, a scarred, tattooed, broken and angry young man. Yet God had plans for John. He would go on to run the Eden bus ministry: frontline youth buses which travel the toughest parts of Manchester with the gospel. The teams befriend young people and sometimes accompany them to court. 'My passion is, and I pray always will be, for those who feel downtrodden, hurt and rejected,' says John Robinson. 'They feel like scum, and wake up each day with nothing and no one. I know exactly what that feels like.'

Nobody's Child

Author: Cora Coleman

Publisher: Poolbeg Press Ltd

ISBN: N.A

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 384

View: 6152


"We were swill. We weren't even piglets. We were the foul slop that farmers feed to pigs, animals that will eat absolutely anything. Did he hate us so much that only the foulest image would do?" Cora Coleman was born into a house of violence and fear in a small town in Ireland. Her disturbed father constantly beat her mother, and treated their seven children with contempt and obscenity. Their lives revolved around his moods. It was no surprise that when Cora grew up the cycle continued, as she went through a series of abusive relationships. Her personal hell culminated when she left her violent partner in Canada and went to stay first in a women's refuge with her young son, Luke, finally finding peace when she was taken in by a group of nuns. From there, her slow road to recovery began. Cora Coleman's poignant, harrowing memoir shows that even "swill" can grow and into a confident, whole, peaceful human being.

Nobody’s Child

Author: Jewel Wheeler,John Dvorak

Publisher: LifeRich Publishing

ISBN: 1489728910

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 4759


Sarah was severely beaten by her abusive husband while she was pregnant with Amy. He was trying to kill the unwanted life inside her. Mother and baby survived, but Amy was born prematurely, weighing just over a pound. Grandma Liz, a midwife and an old country doctor, fought desperately to give little Amy the chance to live. Listening to that story always made Amy feel close to God. When Grandma Liz, Amy’s caretaker, suffered a stroke, she solicited help from her brother-in-law and his wife, who had lost their own child at birth. Under the guise of helping, they stole Amy away to the swampy woods of southeast Texas, where little Amy nearly died of malaria...... another close call. God was really watching out for Amy. The “Great Depression” hit the country in 1929. Rural Texas and America were locked in its stranglehold. Amy was six. She wandered East and West Texas with her aunt and uncle, seeking work to buy food. Survival was the name of the game. They slept in their car, under the sky and in abandoned houses. They picked cotton; they tenant farmed, cut firewood to sell and raised hogs for market. By the time Amy was twelve, she could work like a full grown man. She nearly didn’t make it to twelve. When Amy was eleven, she nearly drowned in a creek. God put a total stranger in the woods at just the right time to rescue her. Amy was certain that God had saved her life for some special purpose or person. “Nobody’s Child” chronicles Amy’s story from her earliest childhood recollections, through the hard years of the “Depression” and later as a young mother awaiting her husband’s return from service in World War II. Her story is filled with both funny and sad moments and is told in a compelling faith based narrative.