Not Without My Sister: The True Story of Three Girls Violated and Betrayed by Those They Trusted

Author: Kristina Jones,Celeste Jones,Juliana Buhring

Publisher: Harper Element

ISBN: 9780008162085

Category:

Page: 432

View: 7009


The bestselling, devastating account of three sisters torn apart, abused and exploited at the hands of a community that robbed them of their childhood. It reveals three lives, separate but entwined, that have experienced unspeakable horror, unrelenting loyalty and unforgettable courage. From as early as three years old, Juliana, Celeste and Kristina were treated as sexual beings by their 'guardians' in the infamous religious cult known as the Children of God. They were made to watch and mimic orgies, received love letters and sexual advances from men old enough to be their grandfather, and were forced into abusive relationships. They were denied access to formal schooling, had to wander the streets begging for money, and were mercilessly beaten for 'crimes' as unpredictable as reading an encyclopaedia. Finally, unable to live with the guilt of what had happened to her children, their mother escaped with Kristina, cutting herself off from her remaining children in a bid to save at least one child. Desperate to save her sisters, Kristina eventually returned to the place of her torture to free Celeste. Years later, Juliana found the courage to escape, knowing that the child she was carrying would be subjected to the same fate if she did not. Now the three sisters have finally come together to reveal in full and horrific detail their existence within the Children of God cult. Their stories reveal a community spread throughout the world and its legacy of anorexia, depression, drug abuse, suicide and even murder. Lives are ripped apart and painstakingly mended with a shared strength that finally enabled the sisters to free themselves from the shadows of their past.

Not Without My Sister

Author: Celeste Jones,Kristina Jones,Juliana Buhring

Publisher: Harpercollins Pub Limited

ISBN: 9780007248070

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 416

View: 1666


Kristina, Celeste, and Juliana were all born into the Children of God cult, and from as early as three years old were mistreated and used as sexual beings. They were denied access to formal schooling, forced to wander the streets begging for money, and were mercilessly beaten for "crimes" as harmless as reading an encyclopedia. After being separated from each other and their mothers and forced to live in various missions with multiple foster parents, the sisters eventually managed to escape. In this startling exposé, they have come together to reveal in horrific detail the group that has destroyed the lives of so many. Their intertwining stories reveal a community spread throughout the world whose legacy of anorexia, depression, drug abuse, suicide, and even murder are impossible to erase. Together, the sisters found a strength that finally enabled them to uncover and free themselves from the shadows of their past.

Not Without My Sister: The True Story of Three Girls Violated and Betrayed by Those They Trusted

Author: Kristina Jones,Celeste Jones,Juliana Buhring

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0007369824

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 432

View: 1555


The bestselling, devastating account of three sisters torn apart, abused and exploited at the hands of a community that robbed them of their childhood. It reveals three lives, separate but entwined, that have experienced unspeakable horror, unrelenting loyalty and unforgettable courage.

Not Without My Sister

Author: Celeste Jones,Kristina Jones,Juliana Buhring

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0007248067

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 416

View: 1992


Kristina, Celeste, and Juliana were all born into the Children of God cult, and from as early as three years old were mistreated and used as sexual beings. They were denied access to formal schooling, forced to wander the streets begging for money, and were mercilessly beaten for "crimes" as harmless as reading an encyclopedia. After being separated from each other and their mothers and forced to live in various missions with multiple foster parents, the sisters eventually managed to escape. In this startling exposé, they have come together to reveal in horrific detail the group that has destroyed the lives of so many. Their intertwining stories reveal a community spread throughout the world whose legacy of anorexia, depression, drug abuse, suicide, and even murder are impossible to erase. Together, the sisters found a strength that finally enabled them to uncover and free themselves from the shadows of their past.

Not Without My Sister

Author: Marion Kummerow

Publisher: Bookouture

ISBN: 1800192304

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 9094


1944, Germany. Two sisters seek to overcome impossible odds to be reunited, in this utterly devastating and unforgettable novel about sisterhood, courage and survival. All they had left was each other. Until the Nazis tore them apart. After years of hiding from the Nazis, Rachel Epstein and her little sister Mindel are captured by the Gestapo and sent to the concentration camp at Bergen-Belsen. The only ray of light for either girl is that they are together. But on arrival they are separated. As she’s seventeen and deemed an adult, Rachel is sent to work in a brutal factory whilst four-year-old Mindel is sent into the so-called “star” camp for Jewish prisoners. All on her own, Rachel knows her sister will have no chance of survival—unless she can find someone to take care of her. Working in the windowless, airless factory—filling munitions casings with chemicals that burn her fingers and make her eyes sting—the only thing that keeps Rachel going is the thought of her little sister. Because if there’s even a chance Mindel is alive, Rachel knows she must try to save her. But, separated by barbed wire, and treated brutally by SS guards who do not even see them as human beings, can either of the orphaned sisters ever dare to hope that they’ll find their way back to each other? And to freedom? A completely heartbreaking, utterly gripping tale of courage, loss and overcoming impossible odds, perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Ragged Edge of Night and The Orphan’s Tale. Readers are loving Not Without My Sister: “Incredible… I couldn’t stop reading… It would be a great movie… [It] made me cry.” Rachel Wesson ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “So emotional, heartbreaking… I couldn’t even put this book down and I got so engrossed into the book that I didn’t even realize until I came to the end!… Grab your tissues because this book will make you cry… Unputdownable historical fiction!” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “It made me weep… a roller coaster of emotions.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “[A] beautiful, heart-breaking story… a poignant story that will tug at even the most hardened heart strings, with beautifully drawn characters, and filled with raw emotion, it’s a book that will stay with you long after you’ve reached the last page.” The Book Review Café “By the end of the story I was crying… gripping… A must read!” jasminegalsreadinglog ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “A heartbreaking read that brought tears to my eyes… Both beautiful and harrowing.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Heart-wrenching… such an emotional read, have your tissues ready.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Beautifully told and heart wrenching… inspirational—one that you will not be able to put down and that will stay with you for a long time.” Christian Novel Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “A story that will both break your heart and also have you hoping.” Goodreads reviewer “A fresh and thought provoking story… heartbreaking… This will tug your heart strings… Historical fiction lovers, this is a must read.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “An emotional read… 5*” NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “5 star read… Such a heartwarming, emotional read! HIGHLY RECOMMEND.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Heart -wrenching… heart-breaking… This book brought tears to my eyes… I recommend this one to all historical fiction fans… You will love this one.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

100 of the Most Shocking Reviews Not Without My Sister

Author: Thomas Silver

Publisher: Lennex

ISBN: 9785458821704

Category:

Page: 44

View: 2488


In this book, we have hand-picked the most sophisticated, unanticipated, absorbing (if not at times crackpot!), original and musing book reviews of "Not Without My Sister: The True Story of Three Girls Violated and Betrayed by Those They Trusted." Don't say we didn't warn you: these reviews are known to shock with their unconventionality or intimacy. Some may be startled by their biting sincerity; others may be spellbound by their unbridled flights of fantasy. Don't buy this book if: 1. You don't have nerves of steel. 2. You expect to get pregnant in the next five minutes. 3. You've heard it all.

Not Without My Son

Author: Mariam Naseem

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 1438993544

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 360

View: 7232


Not Without My Son is the memoir of Iranian-born Dr. Mariam Naseem, a Jewish woman who must flee for her safety from the new theocracy of Iran. Together with her infant son and the husband who was chosen for her, she arrives in the United States to face unexpected challenges. The greatest obstacle of all, though, is the sudden change in her son, whose studies at a prestigious Ivy League school are cut short by illness. When it seems that no one can or will offer a helping hand, Naseem discovers that her own inner strength will help her get by.

Escaping the Cult: One cult, two stories of survival

Author: Natacha Tormey,Kristina Jones,Celeste Jones,Juliana Buhring

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0007577176

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 752

View: 7397


The bestselling “Not Without My Sister”, detailing the incredible story of three siblings battling to escape the infamous Children of God cult, is for the first time combined with “Born Into The Children of God”, the shocking but inspiring account of Natacha Tormey, who underwent similar horrors.