Once More We Saw Stars

Author: Jayson Greene

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 147367381X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 256

View: 945


'A gripping and beautiful book about the power of love in the face of unimaginable loss' Cheryl Strayed, author of Wild 'Extraordinary . . . both heartbreaking and life-affirming . . . you will find your heart magically expanded' Mail on Sunday 'Unimaginably poetic . . . I learned a lot reading this book and have passed it on to others' Jessie Cave, Red Magazine 'Greene's account of his loss is remarkably uplifting. It's hard-won proof that love can survive our worst fears and our darkest, most desperate emotions' Daily Mail 'This minutely observed memoir will surely be helpful to people whose world changes in an instant . . . a hopeful book in many ways' The Times 'Wonderful writing, brave, unbearably sad' Adam Kay Two-year-old Greta Greene is sitting chatting with her grandmother on a park bench in New York when a brick crumbles from a windowsill overhead and strikes her unconscious. As she is rushed to hospital in the hours before her death Once More We Stars leads us into the unimaginable. Her father Jayson and mother Stacy begin a painful journey that is as much about hope and healing as it is grief and loss. Even in the midst of his ordeal, Jayson recognises that there will be a life for him beyond it - if he can only continue moving forward, from one moment to the next, he will survive what seems un-survivable. With raw honesty, deep emotion, and exquisite tenderness, he captures the fragility of life and the absoluteness of death, and most important of all, the unconquerable power of love. This is an unforgettable memoir of courage and transformation - and a book that will change the way you look at the world.

Once More We Saw Stars

Author: Jayson Greene

Publisher: Vintage

ISBN: 1524733547

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 256

View: 7052


“A gripping and beautiful book about the power of love in the face of unimaginable loss.” --Cheryl Strayed For readers of The Bright Hour and When Breath Becomes Air, a moving, transcendent memoir of loss and a stunning exploration of marriage in the wake of unimaginable grief. As the book opens: two-year-old Greta Greene is sitting with her grandmother on a park bench on the Upper West Side of Manhattan. A brick crumbles from a windowsill overhead, striking her unconscious, and she is immediately rushed to the hospital. But although it begins with this event and with the anguish Jayson and his wife, Stacy, confront in the wake of their daughter's trauma and the hours leading up to her death, Once More We Saw Stars quickly becomes a narrative that is as much about hope and healing as it is about grief and loss. Jayson recognizes, even in the midst of his ordeal, that there will be a life for him beyond it--that if only he can continue moving forward, from one moment to the next, he will survive what seems unsurvivable. With raw honesty, deep emotion, and exquisite tenderness, he captures both the fragility of life and absoluteness of death, and most important of all, the unconquerable power of love. This is an unforgettable memoir of courage and transformation--and a book that will change the way you look at the world.

Popular Astronomy

Author: William Wallace Payne,Charlotte R. Willard,Herbert Couper Wilson,Ralph Elmer Wilson,Curvin Henry Gingrich

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Astronomy

Page: N.A

View: 9051


The Argosy

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 602

View: 6586


The Argosy

Author: Mrs. Henry Wood,Charles William Wood

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: English literature

Page: N.A

View: 8461


A magazine of tales, travels, essays, and poems.

Good words

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 1102

View: 6878