The Mother-in-Law Cure (Originally published as Only in Naples)

Author: Katherine Wilson

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 0812998170

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 320

View: 2120


Full of lighthearted humor, sumptuous food, the wisdom of an Italian mother-in-law, and all the atmosphere of Elena Ferrante’s Neapolitan Novels, this warm and witty memoir follows American-born Katherine Wilson on her adventures abroad. Thanks to a surprising romance—and a spirited woman who teaches her to laugh, to seize joy, and to love—a three-month rite of passage in Naples turns into a permanent embrace of this boisterous city on the Mediterranean. In this warmly funny and spirited memoir, American-born Katherine Wilson arrives in Naples, Italy, for an internship at the U.S. Consulate. One evening, she meets handsome Salvatore and finds herself immediately enveloped by his elegant mother, Raffaella, and the rest of the Avallone family. From that moment, Katherine’s education begins: Never eat the crust of a pizza first, always stand up and fight for yourself and your loved ones, and consider mealtimes sacred—food must be prepared fresh and consumed in compagnia. Unexpectedly falling for Salvatore, and captivated by Raffaella’s companionship and guidance, Katherine discovers how to prepare meals that sing—from hearty, thick ragù to comforting pasta al forno. Through courtship, culture clashes, marriage, and motherhood, Katherine comes to appreciate carnale, the quintessentially Neapolitan sense of comfort and confidence in one’s own skin. The Mother-in-Law Cure is a sumptuous story that is a feast for the senses. Goethe said, “See Naples and die.” But Katherine Wilson saw Naples and started to live. Praise for The Mother-in-Law Cure “In a world filled with food memoirs, this one stands out. Katherine Wilson gives us more than the fabulous food of Naples. She offers us a passport to an exotic country we would never be able to enter on our own.”—Ruth Reichl, author of My Kitchen Year “Warmhearted . . . an exuberant account of love and great Italian food.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review) “Sweet and humorous.”—Publishers Weekly “Wilson has written a glorious memoir celebrating the holy trinity of Italian life: love, food, and family. Her keen eye and sense of humor take you through the winding streets of Naples at a clip, on a ride you hope will never end.”—Adriana Trigiani, author of The Shoemaker’s Wife “How lucky we are to get these hilarious and wise perceptions filtered through a sincerely loving eye.”—Julie Klam, author of Friendkeeping “This thoroughly enjoyable love letter to Naples is a tribute to the author’s irrepressible mother-in-law.”—Luisa Weiss, author of My Berlin Kitchen and founder of The Wednesday Chef

Only in Naples

Author: Katherine Wilson

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0349006318

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 304

View: 6279


A Radio 4 Book of the Week 'See Naples and die', said Goethe. But Katherine Wilson saw Naples and started to live. Katherine is fresh out of college when she arrives in Naples to intern at the US Consulate. There she meets handsome, studious Salvatore, and finds herself enveloped by his family - in particular by his elegant mother, Raffaella, who begins her real education: never eat the crust of a pizza first, always stand up and fight for yourself and your loved ones, and remember that mealtimes are sacred. Immersed in Neapolitan culture, tradition and cooking, slowly and unexpectedly falling for Salvatore, and basking in Raffaella's company and guidance, Katherine discovers how to prepare meals that sing, from rich ragù to pasta al forno, with bacon, béchamel and four kinds of cheese. Through courtship, culture clashes, Sunday Mass, marriage and motherhood, Katherine slowly comes to appreciate carnale, the quintessentially Neapolitan sense of comfort and confidence in one's own skin. Steeped in sunlight, wine and unforgettable food, Only in Naples is a love letter to a city and a family, a coming-of-age story, and a transporting account of learning to live the Italian way. 'Katherine Wilson gives us more than the fabulous food of Naples. She offers us a passport to an exotic country we would never be able to enter on our own.' Ruth Reichl, author of My Kitchen Year

Only in Naples

Author: Katherine Wilson

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 0812998162

Category: BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY

Page: 306

View: 5995


"In the tradition of M.F.K. Fisher and Peter Mayle, this ... memoir follows American-born Katherine Wilson on her adventures abroad, where a three-month rite of passage in Naples turns into a permanent embrace of this boisterous city on the Mediterranean. It is all thanks to a surprising romance, a new passion for food, and a spirited woman who will become her mother-in-law--and teach her to laugh, to seize joy, and to love"--

A Taste of Naples

Author: Marlena Spieler

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN: 1442251263

Category: History

Page: 312

View: 2778


Naples is an international and deeply traditional city, especially in its foodstyle and cuisine. Its mysteries reveal themselves the more you learn about it. Marlena Spieler takes readers on a vivid tour of this vibrant culinary culture with recipes and history, as well as an exploration of the dishes of holidays and celebrations.

Retire In Style

Author: Warren R. Bland

Publisher: Next Decade, Inc.

ISBN: 9781932919196

Category: Social Science

Page: 358

View: 1683


Seventy-six million American and 10 million Canadian "baby boomers" born between 1946 and 1964 are moving toward retirement in an era of increasing affluence and mobility. Providing information on 60 of the communities that are most rich in amenities across North America, this handy sourcebook guides retirees toward outstanding places to spend their golden years. Careful consideration was given to the final 12 criteria covered for each place—landscape, climate, quality of life, cost of living, transportation, retail services, health care, community services, cultural activities, recreational activities, work/volunteer activities, and crime—and each review includes a discussion of each characteristic as well as a city map and climatic table. Structured regionally rather than alphabetically, this revised and updated edition enables readers to search similar options based on general areas in both the United States and Canada.

Ancient Marbles in Naples in the Eighteenth Century

Author: Eloisa Dodero

Publisher: BRILL

ISBN: 9004399100

Category: Art

Page: 654

View: 6091


In Ancient Marbles in Naples in the Eighteenth Century Eloisa Dodero aims at documenting the history of numerous private collections formed in Naples during the 18th century, with particular concern for the “Neapolitan marbles” and the circumstances of their dispersal.

Gesture in Naples and Gesture in Classical Antiquity

Author: Andrea de Jorio

Publisher: Indiana University Press

ISBN: 9780253215062

Category: History

Page: 636

View: 5122


It also deals with numerous issues important for any semiotics of gesture, such as the question of the relationship between physical forms and meaning, the problem of how to present a description of the gestural repertoire of a community in a consistent manner, the importance of context for the interpretation of gesture, how gestures may be combined, and how they develop as metaphorical expressions."--Jacket.

Environmental Geochemistry: Site Characterization, Data Analysis and Case Histories

Author: Benedetto DeVivo,Harvey Belkin,Annamaria Lima

Publisher: Elsevier

ISBN: 9780080558950

Category: Science

Page: 350

View: 7396


This volume contains chapters spanning from the role of geochemistry in the environment in general to specific investigations on site characterization (sampling strategy, analytical procedures and problems). Specific articles deal with health problems related to environment pollution, waste disposal, data base management, and provide illustrations of specific case histories of site characterization and remediation of brownfield sites. * Comprehensive analysis providing background information ranging from geochemistry in general to specific investigations * Provides practical insight through case study material * Informs and updates students and practitioners on hot topics, latest trends and developments

The Serpent Coiled in Naples

Author: Marius Kociejowski

Publisher: Haus Publishing

ISBN: 1909961809

Category: Travel

Page: 464

View: 4832


A travelogue revealing the hidden stories of Naples. In recent years Naples has become, for better or worse, the new destination in Italy. While many of its more unusual features are on display for all to see, the stories behind them remain largely hidden. In Marius Kociejowski’s portrait of this baffling city, the serpent can be many things: Vesuvius, the mafia-like Camorra, the outlying Phlegrean Fields (which, geologically speaking, constitute the second most dangerous area on the planet). It is all these things that have, at one time or another, put paid to the higher aspirations of Neapolitans themselves. Naples is simultaneously the city of light, sometimes blindingly so, and the city of darkness, although often the stuff of cliché. The boundary that separates death from life is porous in the extreme: the dead inhabit the world of the living and vice versa. The Serpent Coiled in Naples is a travelogue, a meditation on mortality, and much else besides.