Operation Playboy

Author: Kathryn Bonella

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1787476952

Category: True Crime

Page: 400

View: 7203


Sex. Drugs. Danger. Death. FROM THE ACCLAIMED AUTHOR OF BESTSELLERS HOTEL KEROBOKAN AND SNOWING IN BALI This is the adrenaline-pumping story of the world's most audacious drug runners and the police hunt, 'Operation Playboy', to track them down. These drug-running playboys travel the globe: they ski in Europe, surf in Bali, hook up with celebrity models and live in five-star hotels. They are 24/7 party boys with brass balls, steely nerves and reckless ambitions. They pay for their high-risk, hedonistic lifestyle by trafficking cocaine, ecstasy and marijuana on international flights and through the world's biggest airports. But to ride the wave you have to roll the dice. And in this game a bust means prison - or even a firing squad. A Brazilian cop is watching closely, determined to close the net. With a small team, he battles corrupt colleagues and bent judges to learn the secrets of the playboys and bring about their downfall. Celebrated true-crime writer and journalist Kathryn Bonella has travelled the world to collect first-person testimony from an international network of mules and their bosses, as well as from the elite cops who are hot on their trail. The result is a page-turning, white-knuckle thriller - the true story of a manhunt codenamed OPERATION PLAYBOY.

Operation Playboy

Author: Kathryn Bonella

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN: 9781743533321

Category: Drug control

Page: 400

View: 7695


FROM THE ACCLAIMED AUTHOR OF BESTSELLERS HOTEL KEROBOKAN AND SNOWING IN BALI Sex. Drugs. Danger. Death. This is the adrenaline-pumping story of the world's most audacious drug runners and the police hunt, 'Operation Playboy', to track them down. These drug-running playboys travel the globe: they ski in Europe, surf in Bali, hook up with celebrity models and live in five-star hotels. They are 24/7 party boys with brass balls, steely nerves and reckless ambitions. They pay for their high-risk, hedonistic lifestyle by trafficking cocaine, ecstasy and marijuana on international flights and through the world's biggest airports. But to ride the wave you have to roll the dice. And in this game a bust means prison - or even a firing squad. A Brazilian cop is watching closely, determined to close the net. With a small team, he battles corrupt colleagues and bent judges to learn the secrets of the playboys and bring about their downfall.Celebrated true-crime writer and journalist Kathryn Bonella has travelled the world to collect first-person testimony from an international network of mules and their bosses, as well as from the elite cops who are hot on their trail. The result is a page-turning, white-knuckle thriller - the true story of a manhunt codenamed OPERATION PLAYBOY.PRAISE FOR KATHRYN BONELLA"[A] graphic insight into the hidden world of Bali's top western cocaine bosses... With unprecedented access into their lives author Kathryn Bonella charts their rise to incredible wealth and power... [and] also follows many to the depths of hell when they are busted." Tracks on Snowing in Bali"... an insightful and sharply ovbserved account of life inside Indonesia's most notorious prison. Bonella casts a cool journalistic eye over some horrific events..." Sun Herald on Hotel Kerobokan"Bonella's portrayal of the jail... will make readers flinch with its graphic descriptions of violence and debauchery taking place under the eyes of bent guards." South China Morning Post on Hotel Kerobokan

Sexual Diversity in Africa

Author: S.N. Nyeck,Marc Epprecht

Publisher: McGill-Queen's Press - MQUP

ISBN: 0773589759

Category: Social Science

Page: 296

View: 6829


How does one address homophobia without threatening majority rule democracy and freedoms of speech and faith? How does one "Africanize" sexuality research, empirically and theoretically, in an environment that is not necessarily welcoming to African scholars? In Sexual Diversity in Africa, contributors critically engage with current debates about sexuality and gender identity, as well as with contentious issues relating to methodology, epistemology, ethics, and pedagogy. They present a tapestry of issues that testify to the complex nature of sexuality, sexual practices, and gender performance in Africa. Essays examine topics such as the well-established same-sex networks in Accra and Bamako, African "traditions" defined by European observers, and the bizarre mix of faith, pharmaceuticals, and pseudo-science used to "cure" homosexual men. Their evidence also demonstrates the indefensibility of over-simplified constructions of homosexuality versus heterosexuality, modern versus traditional, Africa versus the West, and progress from the African closet towards Western models of out politics, all of which have tainted research on same-sex practices and scientific studies of HIV/AIDS. Asserting that the study of sexuality is intellectually and politically sustainable in Africa, Sexual Diversity in Africa contributes to the theorization of sexualities by presenting a more sensitive and knowledgeable study of African experiences and perspectives. Contributors include Olajide Akanji, Christophe Broqua, Cheryl Cooky, Serena Owusua Dankwa, Shari L. Dworkin, Marc Epprecht, Melissa Hackman, Notisha Massaquoi, Crystal Munthree, Kathleen O’Mara, Stella Nyanzi, S.N.Nyeck, Vasu Reddy, Amanda Lock Swarr, and Lisa Wiebesiek.

Anti-crime Program

Author: United States. Congress. House. Committee on the Judiciary,United States. Congress. House. Committee on the Judiciary. Subcommittee No. 5

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Crime prevention

Page: 1551

View: 6597


Hearings

Author: United States. Congress. House. Committee on the Judiciary

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 7013


Anti-crime Program

Author: United States. Congress. House. Judiciary Committee

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 1551

View: 6209


Hearings

Author: United States. Congress. House

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 8742


Snowing in Bali

Author: Kathryn Bonella

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1782062661

Category: True Crime

Page: 384

View: 2794


Kathryn Bonella lifts the lid on Bali's nightmarish narcotics underworld. Among the island's drug dealers 'It's snowing in Bali' is code that the south-east Asian paradise is full of cocaine. For the men who run the country's drug empires, it's time to get rich and party hard. Snowing in Bali is the story of the drug trafficking and dealing scene that's made Bali one of the world's most important destinations in the global distribution of narcotics. Kathryn Bonella, bestselling author of Hotel K, has been given extraordinary access into the lives of some of the biggest players in Bali's drug world. She charts their rise to incredible wealth and power, and their drug- fuelled lifestyles: filled with orgies, outrageous extravagance and surfing. From the highs of multi-million dollar deals to the desperate lows of death row in an Indonesian high security jail, Snowing in Bali is a unique, uncensored insight into a hidden world.

The Russian Key

Author: Jeri Laber

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1951627733

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 4072


“An intriguing spy novel written in the form of a memoir . . . Those seeking a fresh take on the genre will be satisfied.”—Publishers Weekly An exciting debut for fans of The Americans and Red Sparrow. In 1964, at the height of the Cold War, Kate Landau, a young American expert on Russia, joins the CIA. Drawn to danger and adventure, she hopes to be sent to Moscow, but instead finds herself stuck in an office doing boring translations. When her big break comes, she’s recruited to work undercover in New York City, investigating a KGB officer posing as a UN diplomat. Exactly the kind of work she’d hoped for. The KGB officer is not a stranger. She’d met him in Moscow years before when he was a handsome university student named Max and she was a naive American college girl visiting the Soviet Union on a rare friendship tour. Max had been her first lover. She still treasures the little gold key he'd given her one memorable night in a Moscow park. When Kate and Max meet up again in New York and inevitably resume their love affair, it is passionate, but fraught with distrust and secret agendas. A series of dangerous events lead Kate to fear for her life—and to suspect the man who is both her lover and her enemy. Against a background of Soviet brutality and international intrigue, The Russian Key will keep you guessing as it builds to its shocking and unexpected climax.