Out of my Depth

Author: Emily Barr

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755381610

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 6147


When old school friends get together it's supposed to be a laugh - but not when you've got something to hide... Critically acclaimed author Emily Barr digs up the past for four school friends when they reunite in France. Out of my Depth is a tale of friends and 'frenemies' with dark secrets - perfect for fans of Sam Baker and Samantha Hayes. 'Sleep-sabotagingly moreish' - Cosmopolitan When Susie decides to invite her old school friends for a reunion she tells herself that it's just about showing off. It's about letting Amanda, Izzy and Tamsin, see how well she's done, with her successful career as an artist, her gorgeous house in France, her deliciously louche boyfriend. But the truth is that this is a dark plan. A plan that could make or break her seemingly perfect life...and she knows it. As the old friends gather at Susie's for a long weekend of catching up and comparisons, it is clear that despite their lives having taken very different turns, they are all still haunted by a dark and common past. They each know that up until now they have been treading water -- waiting for the inevitable moment when they have to face the truth. The question is, now that the time has come, who will sink and who will swim? What readers are saying about Out of my Depth: 'Another fantastic read from a fantastic author' 'Barr's clever plotting and observant descriptions mean that you easily get involved in the lives of everyone in the book' 'Takes some very unexpected twists and turns'

Out Of Her Depth

Author: Lizzy Barber

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 1529060990

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 1222


Patricia Highsmith meets E. Lockhart in Out Of Her Depth – a simmering summer thriller about the choices you make as a teenager, and what happens when they go horribly wrong. 'This book is, quite simply, sublime'- Lesley Kara, author of The Rumour There are summers that could change your life. There are summers that could end it. Meet Rachel. An unassuming young woman from a quiet London suburb. Picture the scene: A summer job at the beautiful Villa Medici in the Tuscan hills. A group of glamorous teenagers, used to a life of privilege. Lavish parties, heady sun-soaked days, backstabbing and bedhopping. Until someone goes too far. And nothing will ever be the same. Readers love Lizzy Barber's Out Of Her Depth: ‘Really believable characters, a great plot, a wonderful setting . . . felt like I was in Italy soaking up the sun’ ***** ‘A tantalisingly written suspense . . . and a premise that delivers. Delicious.’ ***** ‘A classic take on the unreliable narrator, a terrific page turner with themes of those with privilege versus those without’ ***** ‘This is one of those totally addictive psychological thrillers that has you reading 'just one more page' and ignoring everything else you need to do until you finish it’ *****

Out of Her Depth

Author: Brenda Hiatt

Publisher: Bell Bridge Books

ISBN: 1611942713

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 3461


No fear was her new motto. But she never expected to be targeted for murder. Indiana housewife Wynne Seally is determined to put her life back together after her husband leaves her for a younger woman. Traveling alone to Aruba and learning to scuba dive seem like big steps in that direction. However, Wynne plunges in over her head when an underwater discovery turns out to be a clue in a high-profile murder case. With the help of handsome insurance investigator Ronan Gale, she soon finds herself embroiled in unraveling clues that could set an accused man free . . . or get her killed.

Visitor

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 490

View: 2080


The Diary of a Curious Man

Author: Patrick Black

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1847284639

Category: Fiction

Page: 222

View: 8258


Edited with a Foreword by Leo de Freyne. It is impossible to write a synopsis of this book in terms of plot and themes. This is because it is a diary in form and, although cohesive, it has a myriad of themes. It is written over a period of twenty-six years and is set in six countries principally: Ireland, Spain, China, Poland, Estonia and the Sultanate of Oman. Other countries also appear: England, France, Germany, Russia and more. However, this is not a travel book, although travel is an important aspect of the book's structure. It is a story, though not a novel in the conventional sense of the word. The work is music-like in structure, with motifs reappearing both overtly and subtly. It is a work of philosophy, psychology, literary and art criticism, political and social commentary, and much more. The book is humorous too, and because all diarists take themselves somewhat seriously, some of the humour is not Patrick Black's intention.

A Trick of the Mind

Author: Penny Hancock

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1471115097

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 3096


'Brilliantly written and totally gripping. I loved it' S J Watson, author of Before I Go to Sleep on Tideline Have you committed a crime ... or are you the victim of one? Driving down to the cottage in Southwold she's newly inherited from her Aunty May, Ellie senses she is on the edge of something new. The life she's always dreamed of living as a successful artist seems as though it is about to begin. So excited is she that she barely notices when the car bumps against something on the road. That evening Ellie hears a news flash on the radio. A man was seriously injured in a hit and run on the very road she was driving down that evening. Then Ellie remembers the thump she heard. Could she have been responsible for putting a man in hospital? Unable to hold the doubts at bay, she decides to visit the victim to lay her mind to rest, little knowing that the consequences of this decision will change her life forever. From the acclaimed author of Tideline, The Darkening Hourand the forthcoming AStranger in my House.

A Dictionary of Confusable Phrases

Author: Yuri Dolgopolov

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN: 0786459956

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 403

View: 5181


Covering over 10,000 idioms and collocations characterized by similarity in their wording or metaphorical idea which do not show corresponding similarity in their meanings, this dictionary presents a unique cross-section of the English language. Though it is designed specifically to assist readers in avoiding the use of inappropriate or erroneous phrases, the book can also be used as a regular phraseological dictionary providing definitions to individual idioms, clichés, and set expressions. Most phrases included in the dictionary are in active current use, making information about their meanings and usage essential to language learners at all levels of proficiency.

In and Out of Character

Author: Basil Rathbone

Publisher: Limelight Editions

ISBN: 0879105569

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 173

View: 4089


(Limelight). "Basil Rathbone's book about himself...is better written than most books by or about actors and is more intellectually vigorous...Sherlock Holmes fans will be much interested in his remarks on the character with whom he has been so closely identified." Library Journal ; "Quite naturally full of memories, full of names, full of glimpses of stars of stage and screen of yesterday and today." New York Times Book Review