Outrunning the Demons

Author: Phil Hewitt

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1472956516

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 273

View: 9872


An exploration of the transformative power of running - and how it can be the key to unlocking resilience we never knew we had, told through 34 deeply affecting real-life stories and covering such diverse themes as trauma, bereavement, addiction, depression and anxiety

Outrunning the Demons

Author: Phil Hewitt

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1472956524

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 273

View: 3420


Hope through running... Written by bestselling author Phil Hewitt, Outrunning the Demons is an exploration of the transformative power of running – and how it can be the key to unlocking resilience we never knew we had. 'an inspiring collection of stories about runners who have run through unimaginable adversity to find perspective, resolution and ultimately peace, within themselves and with the universe.' - Dean Karnazes 'a really good book ... with fascinating stories' – BBC Radio Four, Today Programme Exhilarating, compelling and beautifully written; this extraordinary book, both humbling and uplifting.' - Peter James, international bestselling writer 'a remarkable collection of intensely personal stories connects the reader to the restorative power of running.' – Hugh Bonneville Running can take us to fantastic places. Just as importantly, it can also bring us back from terrible ones. For people in times of crisis, trauma and physical or mental illness – when normality collapses – running can put things back together again. After bestselling author Phil Hewitt was viciously mugged, stabbed and left for dead in 2016, he found himself suffering the acute symptoms of post-traumatic stress disorder. Unable to make sense of the horrific experience that had happened to him, Phil found that dedicating himself to running was slowly but surely helping him heal. Outrunning the Demons is an enriching and celebratory exploration of the transformative power of running – and how it can be the key to unlocking resilience we never knew we had. Told through 34 deeply affecting real-life stories and covering such diverse themes as trauma, bereavement, addiction, depression and anxiety, this compelling book is an exposition of just why running can so often be the answer to everything when we find ourselves in extremis. THE RUNNING AWARDS – BEST CHRISTMAS BOOK

Cracked

Author: Eliza Crewe

Publisher: Eliza Crewe

ISBN: N.A

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 209

View: 2557


Meet Meda. She eats people. Well, technically, she eats their soul. But she totally promises to only go for people who deserve it. She’s special. It’s not her fault she enjoys it. She can’t help being a bad guy. Besides, what else can she do? Her mother was killed and it’s not like there are any other “soul-eaters” around to show her how to be different. That is, until the three men in suits show up. They can do what she can do. They’re like her. Meda might finally have a chance to figure out what she is. The problem? They kind of want to kill her. Before they get the chance Meda is rescued by Crusaders, members of an elite group dedicated to wiping out Meda’s kind. This is her chance! Play along with the “good guys” and she’ll finally figure out what, exactly, her “kind” is. Be careful what you wish for. Playing capture the flag with her mortal enemies, babysitting a teenage boy with a hero complex, and trying to keep one step ahead of a too-clever girl are bad enough. But the Hunger is gaining on her.

Veil of Shadows

Author: Shiloh Walker

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101443278

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 4461


A rebel army has been established to win back the land from demons-and a ne soldier named Xan has appeared out of nowhere to join them. Beautiful army captain Laisyn Caar is shocked by the powerful, all- consuming desire she feels in his presence, but when she discovers the dark secrets of Xan's agenda, she'll have to determine whether the man she's starting to love is a friend of her people-or a dreaded enemy.

The Desert Prince

Author: Peter V. Brett

Publisher: Del Rey

ISBN: 1984817094

Category: Fiction

Page: 721

View: 4894


An epic fantasy adventure set in the beloved world of the Demon Cycle, following a new generation of heroes, from New York Times bestselling author Peter V. Brett “Heart-wrenching, smart, and modern . . . The Desert Prince has set a new standard for fantasy.”—Wesley Chu, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The War Arts Saga Fifteen years have passed since the end of the war with demons, creatures of darkness who have hunted the night and plagued humanity since time out of mind. The heroes of humanity’s hour of need have become legend, and those who remain struggle to escape their shadows. Olive Paper and Darin Bales have grown up in this new peaceful world. Demons have been all but destroyed, but dangers still lurk for the children of heroes. Olive, princess of Hollow, has her entire life planned out by her mother, Duchess Leesha Paper: a steady march on a checklist to prepare her for succession. The more her mother writes the script, the more Olive rails against playing the parts she is assigned. Darin faces challenges of a different kind. Though free to choose his own path, the weight of legacy hangs heavy around his shoulders. It isn’t easy being the son of the man people say saved the world. Everyone expects greatness from Darin, but the only thing he’s ever been great at is hiding. When Olive and Darin step across the wards one night, they learn the demons are not all gone, and those that remain hunger for revenge. Events are set in motion that only prophecy can foresee as Olive and Darin seek to find their own places in the world in time to save it again.

The Runner

Author: Markus Torgeby

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1472954963

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 192

View: 1287


'The most beautiful book I ever read.' – Rune Larsson, ultra-distance runner Markus Torgeby was just 20 years old when he headed off into the remote Swedish forest to live as a recluse and dedicate himself to his one true passion: running. He lived in a tent in the wilderness, braving the harsh Swedish winters – for four years. This is his story. An international bestseller, this extraordinary book is a powerful exploration of running, resilience, loss, and self-discovery. A talented long-distance runner in his teens, Markus Torgeby excelled in training, but often failed inexplicably in competition. Pressurised by his coach and consumed by the suffering of his MS-afflicted mother, he chose to do something that most of us only dream of: escape the modern world. In his stripped-back lifestyle in the woods, surviving with the bare minimum of supplies and enduring extreme cold, he found salvation and ultimately his true direction in life.

Windwitch

Author: Susan Dennard

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 1447282337

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 5427


The second fantasy novel in the Witchlands series, Windwitch is the action-packed sequel to Truthwitch, and is perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Robin Hobb. Sometimes our enemies become our only allies . . . The Windwitch Prince Merik is presumed dead after a lethal explosion. However, he’s scarred but alive, and determined to expose his sister’s treachery. Yet on reaching the royal capital, he’s shocked to find refugees fleeing conflict. Merik haunts the streets, fighting for the weak – sparking rumours of the Fury, a disfigured demigod who dispenses justice. While searching for Safi, Iseult is cornered by the Bloodwitch Aeduan. She proposes a deal: she’ll return what was stolen from him if he locates the Truthwitch. Yet unknown to Iseult, there’s a bounty on her head – and Aeduan intends to claim it. Meanwhile, Safi and the Marstoki Empress survive a shipwreck, then find themselves among brigands. And their captors plan to unleash war upon the Witchlands . . . Praise for the series: 'This book will delight you' – Robin Hobb, author of The Farseer Trilogy 'Susan Dennard has worldbuilding after my own heart. It’s so good it’s intimidating' – Victoria Aveyard, author of the Red Queen series

La Divina Commedia (The Divine Comedy) : Inferno

Author: Paul S. Bruckman

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 9781456878559

Category: Poetry

Page: 768

View: 7793


This is the first book of a trilogy. Click on the links below to view the other two volumes of the trilogy. LA DIVINA COMMEDIA (THE DIVINE COMEDY) : Purgatorio LA DIVINA COMMEDIA (THE DIVINE COMEDY) : Paradiso

BEING

Author: S. D. Solomon

Publisher: Balboa Press

ISBN: 1504332059

Category: Self-Help

Page: 236

View: 8197


Who am I? Where is God? Why are we here? Human beings have asked these primal and perennial questions since immemorial times. Even before adulthood, these queries emerge from the depths of our being during early childhood. At any age, arriving at the answers proves daunting; and for many, the quest remains a life-long challenge. We can either seek to discover the answers, or we can ignore the questions as though they do not exist in our minds. The choice is our own to make; but these questions do not simply go away. How many people even come close to discovering any of the answers? How many simply give up trying?

Emperor

Author: Roderick Donatus

Publisher: Prince of Spires

ISBN: 9083106306

Category: Fiction

Page: 175

View: 6463


Shiro thought he would do anything to serve his emperor. He thought wrong. The empire has existed for hundreds of years, its emperors ruling by divine mandate. And now the empire is crumbling. The Khaganate is ravaging its borders. In the interior, a civil war is brewing, led by a group of nobles who want to put their own emperor on the throne. Shiro works in heart of the empire, the Forbidden City in Hinan. Here, he can serve the empire, a small cog in the imperial bureaucracy. Then, he is asked for a favor by the emperor himself and he is dragged into a world of spies. He must secure peace with both the Khaganate and the dissident nobles. As he travels across the empire, trying to save his world, he stumbles upon a dark secret that sits at the heart of the empire. Just knowing this secret turns him into a fugitive. He becomes hunted by those trying to preserve their power, forcing him to choose between fleeing to save his life and fighting to save the empire he loves.