Paw Tracks at Owl Cottage

Author: Denis O'Connor

Publisher: Constable

ISBN: 9781849016407

Category: Human-animal relationships

Page: 232

View: 7923


When Denis O_Connor and his wife Catherine return to Owl Cottage, only to find it in a dilapidated state, they decide to restore his former home. But the memory of Denis_s beloved cat, Toby Jug, still lingers on. On impulse, he buys four Maine Coon kittens and names them Pablo, Carlos, Luis and Max.Set against the wilds of the Northumbrian coast, Denis tenderly and humorously charts the ups and downs of life with his mischievous new cats. Forays into this beautiful countryside _ in order to train his cats to bond more closely with him _ are never without incident. However, when Pablo disappears, Denis is once again reminded of Toby Jug and the strength of bond between man and cat... Praise for Paw Tracks in the Moonlight:'A charming book that will appeal to all ages' The Pulse.'This genuinely endearing cat's life story is going to warm the cockles of hearts all over the world' Lancashire Evening Post.

Paw Tracks at Owl Cottage

Author: Denis O'Connor

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1849018952

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 224

View: 9144


When Denis O'Connor and his wife Catherine return to Owl Cottage, only to find it in a dilapidated state, they decide to restore his former home. But the memory of Denis's beloved cat, Toby Jug, still lingers on. On impulse, he buys four Maine Coon kittens and names them Pablo, Carlos, Luis and Max. Set against the wilds of the Northumbrian coast, Denis tenderly and humorously charts the ups and downs of life with his mischievous new cats. Forays into this beautiful countryside - in order to train his cats to bond more closely with him - are never without incident. However, when Pablo disappears, Denis is once again reminded of Toby Jug and the strength of bond between man and cat... Praise for Paw Tracks in the Moonlight: 'A charming book that will appeal to all ages' The Pulse. 'This genuinely endearing cat's life story is going to warm the cockles of hearts all over the world' Lancashire Evening Post.

Paw Prints at Owl Cottage

Author: Denis O'Connor

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN: 1250037182

Category: Pets

Page: 240

View: 2433


The ideal book for fans of All Creatures Great and Small, this sweet and touching tale about the power of pets will touch the hearts of all who read it Readers who fondly recall James Herriot's All Creatures Great and Small will applaud the second coming of this beloved author in Denis O'Connor, who charmed cat lovers everywhere with Paw Prints in the Moonlight. Now, in Paw Prints at Owl Cottage, O'Connor returns with another heartwarming and timeless tale of the power of pets. When Denis and his wife Catherine return to Owl Cottage, their former home, only to find it in a dilapidated state, they decide to restore this charming house. But the memory of Denis's beloved cat, Toby Jug, still lingers on. On impulse he buys a Maine Coon Kitten, Pablo, who proves to be such a wonderful companion that he decides to buy three more and names them Carlos, Luis, and Max. Set against the wilds of the Northumbrian coast, Denis tenderly and humorously charts the ups and downs of life with his mischievous cats in this warm and touching tale.

Paw Tracks

Author: Denis O'Connor

Publisher: Constable

ISBN: 9781849019972

Category: Animal owners

Page: 240

View: 1949


Scarred by the rejection and humiliation which he suffers at the hands of his unloving father, the young Denis O'Connor finds solace in the woods and riverbanks of his native Northumberland.Nevertheless, his newly found happiness communing with nature and the local animals - a neighbour's violent dog, an untamed horse, a wounded goose and a white cat called Brumas - is severely tested when he finds his pet dog has been put down. This tragic incident almost results in Denis's own death but for the timely intervention of a stranger's golden retriever which saves his life. As he grows older, Denis begins to unravel the dark secret of his own origins and uncovers the mystery as why he was so tormented.Paw Tracks is a searingly honest account of how the power of nature can lift the human spirit and overcome the most unloving of childhoods.

Paw Tracks

Author: Denis O'Connor

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1780330162

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 240

View: 4952


Scarred by the rejection and humiliation which he suffers at the hands of his unloving father, the young Denis O'Connor finds solace in the woods and riverbanks of his native Northumberland. Nevertheless, his newly found happiness communing with nature and the local animals - a neighbour's violent dog, an untamed horse, a wounded goose and a white cat called Brumas - is severely tested when he finds his pet dog has been put down. This tragic incident almost results in Denis's own death but for the timely intervention of a stranger's golden retriever which saves his life. As he grows older, Denis begins to unravel the dark secret of his own origins and uncovers the mystery as why he was so tormented. Paw Tracks is a searingly honest account of how the power of nature can lift the human spirit and overcome the most unloving of childhoods.

Paw Tracks in the Moonlight

Author: Denis O'Connor

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 178033284X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 224

View: 504


When Denis O'Connor rescues a three-week-old kitten from certain death during a snowstorm, little does he know how this tiny creature will change his life forever. Against all odds the kitten - who he names Toby Jug - survives and forms an unusually strong bond with his rescuer. Set against the rural splendour of Northumberland, Paw Tracks in the Moonlight charmingly chronicles the adventures of one man and his Maine Coone cat. From an invasion of bees at Owl Cottage to the case of the disappearing tomatoes, life with Toby Jug - who believes himself to be human - is never dull. Nevertheless, it is only when Denis and Toby Jug embark on a summer camping trip on horseback in the Cheviot Hills that a new world opens up for them both.

Wild Adventures in Time and Place

Author: Denis O’Connor

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 1496986938

Category: Fiction

Page: 248

View: 8364


This is a varied collection of short stories. They describe unusual life experiences of people that are interrelated to animals, the natural environment, and nature in its broadest sense, as well as to other people.

Toby Jug

Author: Denis O'Connor

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1472111761

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 208

View: 9113


From the bestselling author of Paw Tracks in the Moonlight comes a new adventure with Denis O’Connor and his beloved cat Toby Jug. When Denis receives a call to help an abused and starved racehorse called Lady May, he has no idea how this new bond of friendship will shape his life. Toby, Denis and Lady May’s adventures through the Northumberland countryside tells a special story filled with love, laughter and loss.

Wild Adventures in Time and Place

Author: Denis O'Connor

Publisher: Author House

ISBN: 149698692X

Category: Fiction

Page: 248

View: 3644


This is a varied collection of short stories. They describe unusual life experiences of people that are interrelated to animals, the natural environment, and nature in its broadest sense, as well as to other people.