Violet and the Pearl of the Orient

Author: Harriet Whitehorn

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1471118967

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 118

View: 7446


Meet Violet Remy-Robinson, an amateur Sherlock Holmes in the making... When a new family move in next door, Violet is sure there's something strange about them. Then her eccentric, but lovely neighbour, Dee Dee Derota, has a precious jewel stolen. Could the new family be to blame? Violet is on the case to uncover the truth… With a beautiful hardback package complete with two colour illustrations throughout by emerging talent, Becka Moore, everyone is bound to fall in love with Violet and the colourful characters that make up her world. Perfect for fans of Dixie O'Day, Ottoline, Goth Girl and Darcy Burdock. Praise for the Violet series: 'Whitehorn's debut is pacey and imaginative and Becka Moor's illustrations a delight. Perfect for readers who liked the Ottoline books by Chris Riddell.' The Times 'Effortlessly gorgeous' Moontrug 'An adventure brimful of charm, told with brio and a good deal of panache…Young readers, particularly fans of Lauren Child, will be very taken with Violet and her world' Books for Keeps 'A great heroine, an intriguing mystery, and brilliant use of language… Hugely recommended' YAyeahyeah 'Sherlock better watch out, 'cos Violet's about!' Wondrous Reads

The Oriental Pearl of Great Price

Author: Millie Leng Ngoh Rook

Publisher: WestBow Press

ISBN: 1490861491

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 202

View: 2554


div> Why does poverty live next to wealth? Why does one school child have books and the other sitting next to her does not? Why does one come to school in a big car with a new uniform and posh bag while the one sitting next just looks on with envy, wondering when she can have the same? Why is it so easy for one whilst the other struggles? This was me as a young girl in Penang! Then everything changed when I was in Bradford, England; what and who made the amazing changes? This is a touching andI hopeamusing book based on my life events, from the unspoilt, tropical paradise that was Penang in the 60`s to the cold, autumn, grey London in the 70`s, onto the post war St. Lukes Hospital Bradford as a student nurse and then a midwife. Alone, in foreign surroundings, with strange English foods and even stranger Yorkshire accents, my deep fear, anxieties, and insecurities were highlighted. Moving upwards both in career and location to `Bonnie` Dundee, Scotland then to the bright northern lights of Aberdeen throughout the 80`s and 90`s shaped my identity with an ongoing relationship with Jesus. Finally, I returned to Malaysia to live in one of those big houses that I enviously walked past as a child! You are made for wonders to possess your promises! This book will reveal and confirm that you are a precious jewel! You are His treasure of great value; that valuable pearl of great price!

Dictionary of the Political Thought of the People's Republic of China

Author: Henry He

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1315500442

Category: History

Page: 750

View: 2240


Far more than a simple glossary, this unique resource provides a detailed lexicography of political and social life in China today, and deepens our understanding of the last twenty years of enormous change in the People's Republic. Each of the 1,600 entries (1) is rendered in Chinese characters; (2) is alphabetized according to pinyin, the Chinese phonetic alphabet; (3) is translated into English; and (4) is explained in terms of the situation in which it first appeared and how its meaning shifted over time. In addition to the main body of definitions and annotations, there are three appendices, abbreviations, a name index, and a bibliography.

Nicknames of Places

Author: Adrian Room

Publisher: McFarland Publishing

ISBN: N.A

Category: History

Page: 357

View: 6603


"Many places in the world, from the smallest settlement to the largest expanse of land or water, have a secondary name. This new dictionary is devoted to over 4,500 such names. The Dictionary entries are arranged alphabetically by secondary name and include the city's real name, its location, and an explanation of the secondary name"--Provided by publisher.

Southeast Asian Culture and Heritage in a Globalising World

Author: Ooi Giok Ling,Assoc Prof Rahil Ismail,Dr Brian J Shaw

Publisher: Ashgate Publishing, Ltd.

ISBN: 1409488012

Category: Science

Page: 208

View: 5818


Southeast Asia has in recent years become a crossroads of cultures with high levels of ethnic pluralism, not only between countries, sub-regions and urban areas, but also at the local levels of community and neighbourhood. Illustrated by a series of international case studies, this book demonstrates how the forces of 'post-colonialism' in their various manifestations are accelerating social change and creating new and 'imagined' communities, some of which are potentially disruptive and which may well threaten the longer term sustainability of the region. Interdisciplinary in approach, this book brings together geographers, historians, anthropologists, architects, education specialists, planners and sociologists to make connections and new insights and to provide a truly comprehensive view of heritage, culture and identity in this dynamic region.

Grounds of Comparison: Around the Work of Benedict Anderson

Author: Pheng Cheah,Jonathan Culler

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1135382603

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 264

View: 3417


Benedict Anderson, professor at Cornell and specialist in Southeast Asian studies, is best known for his book Imagined Communities: Reflections on the Origin and Spread of Nationalism (1991). It is no understatement to say that this is one of the most influential books of the last twenty years. Widely read both by social scientists and humanists, it has become an unavoidable document. For people in the humanities, Anderson is particularly interesting because he explores the rise of nationalism in connection with the rise of the novel.

The Borough of Licab

Author: George F. Esguerra

Publisher: Trafford Publishing

ISBN: 1426955995

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 596

View: 6990


"The Borough of Licab" shares the true stories of a Filipino citizen born in the Ilocos region of the Philippines and his reflections on how the people of this remarkable area were forever influenced by the power of foreign invaders. It was not until Ferdinand Magellan led an expedition that unintentionally landed him on the Philippine island that it was finally recognized by the Europeans-setting off a multitude of occupations by the Spanish, Japanese, and Americans that forced the island's people into a perpetual struggle to gain freedom, dignity, and independence from the prejudiced intruders. With a narrative style, George Esguerra begins by sharing brief histories of Portugal and Spain and continues with in-depth studies of each foreign occupation, the eight radiances of the sun, the significant provinces, and the political leaders who, each in their own way, helped change the history of an island and its people who simply wanted to live as a free nation. With vivid descriptions and colorful images, "The Borough of Licabi offers an exploration of an intriguing time in history when the people of the Ilocos region were unwillingly manipulated by greed and the power of a three-hundred-fifty-year-old oppression.