Please Don't Take My Sisters

Author: Maggie Hartley

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1409189007

Category: Self-Help

Page: 240

View: 8193


Three-year-old Lexie, five-year-old Amelie and thirteen-year-old Leo come to Maggie after Leo confesses to a teacher that his mother's addiction problems and her latest violent relationship has left him as the sole carer to his younger sisters. Maggie welcomes the three children into her home, and is touched by the gentle care Leo shows to the two little girls. It is clear that Lexie and Amelie adore their big brother, and rely on him for comfort and reassurance. But Leo has experienced the neglect and abuse of his mother and her partner for far longer than his sisters, and is struggling with an eating disorder and showing signs of OCD. When Social Services begin to look at adoptive families for the children, Maggie is horrified when they suggest that the two angelic little girls will have a much better chance of being adopted without their damaged older brother. Knowing the impact that losing his sisters forever will have on vulnerable Leo, they face the ultimate dilemma. Should the children stay together and dash the hope of them ever having a forever family? Or do they sacrifice the close bond between the siblings to give the girls a chance to be adopted?

Stories from the Hood

Author: Valentina Joseph

Publisher: Trafford Publishing

ISBN: 1698707045

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 168

View: 9582


I am a 16-year-old Black (African American) and Jamaican female who has lived in many homes after being taken away from my mother by the Department of Children and Families (DCF), in the State of Connecticut. I am living a double life and the life my friends think I am living is not my reality. At this young age I appear to have it all together, but the reality is I have a hard life that I have protected all of these years by silence.

Spilled Ink

Author: Jackie Velazquez

Publisher: Writers Republic LLC

ISBN: 1637283288

Category: Poetry

Page: 80

View: 4133


Love. Pain. Struggle. Trauma. Anxiety. We have all encountered some if not all of these emotions. Life is a roller coaster, and oftentimes it leaves you speechless. I am here to be the voice. I've been quiet too long. . . It's all or nothing! Poetry by Jackie Velazquez

Bad Soldier

Author: Chris Ryan

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1444783351

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 2762


'first rate set operational pieces' - Sunday Times A migrant boat battles through the rough Mediterranean. Its passengers are desperate, starving and scared. They are also being ruthlessly targeted by the SAS. Islamic State militants are smuggling themselves into Europe using these boats. Only by locating such men before they make it into the UK can the Regiment stop them committing their acts of terror on British soil. When one of these migrants reveals plans for a sickening Christmas Day atrocity in London, SAS operative Danny Black is tasked with infiltrating the most dangerous theatre of war in the world: Islamic State heartland. There, he and his team must lift a brutal IS commander - the only man who knows all the details of the London attack. The commander surrounds himself with vicious militants and a harem of sex slaves whom he treats in the most sadistic ways imaginable. And his jihadi wife is, if possible, even more abominable than him. As Danny pits himself against the violent thugs of the Islamic State, he learns that it is not just the UK that is under threat. His very presence on the mission has put at risk the safety of those closest to him. And he discovers that there are greater forces at work here, who do not care if the innocent live or die. Now there is nothing Danny will not do, no line he will not cross, to protect his family. Whether that makes him a good soldier or a bad soldier he neither knows nor cares. Because as he is fast learning, it is sometimes impossible to tell the difference between the two. And as every SAS soldier is trained to understand, the worst threats often come from the most unexpected places...

The Lost Boy

Author: Maggie Hartley

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1841884820

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 64

View: 3463


A heartbreaking, powerful short story from Britain's most-loved foster carer, perfect for fans of Cathy Glass and Casey Watson. 'An amazing inspiration' 5* Reader Review 'Maggie has yet again proved how valuable she is to vulnerable children and young people.' - 5* Reader Review 'Brilliant Read' - 5* Reader Review Teenager Carl arrives on foster carer Maggie Hartley's doorstep following a terrible row with his father. Quiet, withdrawn and unhappy, Carl refuses to talk about his home life, and Maggie finds herself at a loss as to how to help this vulnerable, lost boy. It's clear that there's a very heavy burden resting on Carl's young shoulders, but with the boy refusing to confide in anyone, and with concerns about his mental health growing by the day, Maggie begins to feel desperate. A chance discovery in Carl's room finally reveals the truth behind the boy's anguish, and despite all her years of experience as a foster carer, Carl's secret is unlike anything Maggie has ever had to deal with before. Can Maggie help this confused and unhappy boy share the truth behind his misery? And can Carl ever find a way to move beyond his pain to live a happy, normal life?

All My Sisters

Author: Judith Lennox

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1472224132

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 5394


Under the storm clouds of war, can they hope for happiness? In the tumultuous years before the First World War, four sisters seek to follow their dreams in Judith Lennox's compelling novel All My Sisters. Perfect for fans of Lulu Taylor and Kate Morton. Iris, Marianne, Eva and Clemency are the daughters of Sheffield manufacturer, Joshua Maclise. In the tumultuous years before the First World War, the sisters seek to fulfil their ambitions. Pretty, self-centred Iris dreams of a grand marriage, quiet Marianne meets the love of her life, and passionate Eva longs for independence. Only Clemency, caring for her invalid mother, remains tied to the family home. Years pass and, her hopes of marriage dashed, Iris becomes a nurse in a London hospital. Marianne, living on a tea estate in Ceylon, finds first her happiness and then her life is threatened by a cruel and ruthless man. When Eva falls in love with the Bohemian, Gabriel Bellamy, her dreams of a career as an artist falter. As the clouds darken and war changes the lives of all the sisters, Clemency fights to free herself from the bonds that confine her and to discover love at last. What readers are saying about All My Sisters: 'This is a book to savour - so many characters, all of them well drawn and who invite our sympathy. A wonderful story' '[Judith Lennox] is the ultimate storyteller... her stories are compelling and beautifully descriptive of both characters and feelings' 'Happy and sad, [this book] has all the qualities to make for an excellent read'

Ten Again to Fight against Her Fate

Author: Liu Yuan

Publisher: Funstory

ISBN: 1649205902

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 6925


In my previous life, I was bullied and trampled by others, and in the end, I unknowingly took the little life in my womb with me and left. God pity, I have the luck to return back to being ten years old, I must live clearly, what my parents' lives are, what my fate is, I only believe in people surpassing the heavens. Life was rough, a beautiful woman was weak, whose life was not turbulent? He did not seek for the peace and quiet of the years, but was willing to have a clear conscience. Join Collection

My Sister's Boyfriend

Author: Cassandra Dee

Publisher: Cassandra Dee Romance

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 9377


Catherine: My sister’s always had it all. Angela is blonde, beautiful, and a total bitch too. Even worse, she’s dating handsome quarterback Hunter Brody. It’s embarrassing, but sometimes I pretend that I’m my sister when I hear them through the walls. I pretend it’s Hunter’s hands caressing my curves, and Hunter whispering sweet nothings in my ear. But what happens when he catches me in the act? Hunter: I never really noticed Catherine because she’s always been my girlfriend’s invisible little sister. But when I walk in and see the curvy girl writhing, moaning, and screaming my name, suddenly, nothing matters anymore. I’m giving Catherine a baby … even though our love is taboo. Hey Readers – It’s another scorching tale where a curvy girl gets her revenge by bagging the big man on campus! But Hunter Brody is more than just an athlete. He’s a man who adores lush women, and he shows Catherine just how much he loves and appreciates her by giving her a child. No cheating, no cliffhangers, and always an HEA. You’ll love the story, I promise! Xoxo, Cassie

I'm a good girl, why me?

Author: Alicia Keys

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 1453553827

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 231

View: 4297


She grew up sooner than she was supposed to, having seen the world in a way that little girls are not supposed to. In fifth grade, she lost her virginity to her first love. At thirteen, she got pregnant with the same guy, which caused their relationship to fall short. She was later labeled as the black sheep and had her self-esteem slowly broken into pieces. But all these deplorable experiences she went through while growing up only served as the foretelling of the even bigger challenges that awaited her in the future. Yet amid her journey through a seemingly dark alley, God gave her an awesome gift and she found a way to muster her courage and live life in search for the love that she truly deserved. Written in a lighthearted tone and in a witty and humorous manner, I’m a Good Girl, Why Me? chronicles Keys’ story of survival. It inspires readers with its testimony of hope, resilience, courage, and victory. It unfolds how one woman trekked through an incredible journey of pain and how she eventually found her happy ending with the promise of a new love.

First Love and Other Sorrows

Author: Harold Brodkey

Publisher: Open Road Media

ISBN: 1480427977

Category: Fiction

Page: 223

View: 8053


These short stories filled with “narrative grace and rare craftsmanship” chronicle the loss of innocence and the anguish of young love (San Francisco Chronicle). First Love and Other Sorrows is the hauntingly beautiful debut collection of short stories from American master Harold Brodkey. Written when the author was in his twenties, these strong, affecting tales recall the intoxicating joy of young, springtime love, while lamenting the betrayal of dreams and false ideals in the glaring light of reality. Set in the Midwest during the 1950s, First Love and Other Sorrows centers around a Jewish family that has recently lost its patriarch—and with him the world of privilege. Through the eyes of a son, a sister, and a mother—each one struggling to find a foothold in both family and society—these stories explore class prejudice, obsessive love, and the tragic foibles and emotional truths of being human. First Love and Other Sorrows is masterful fiction from an extraordinary literary artist.