Please Don't Take My Sisters

Author: Maggie Hartley

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1409189007

Category: Self-Help

Page: 240

View: 8703


Three-year-old Lexie, five-year-old Amelie and thirteen-year-old Leo come to Maggie after Leo confesses to a teacher that his mother's addiction problems and her latest violent relationship has left him as the sole carer to his younger sisters. Maggie welcomes the three children into her home, and is touched by the gentle care Leo shows to the two little girls. It is clear that Lexie and Amelie adore their big brother, and rely on him for comfort and reassurance. But Leo has experienced the neglect and abuse of his mother and her partner for far longer than his sisters, and is struggling with an eating disorder and showing signs of OCD. When Social Services begin to look at adoptive families for the children, Maggie is horrified when they suggest that the two angelic little girls will have a much better chance of being adopted without their damaged older brother. Knowing the impact that losing his sisters forever will have on vulnerable Leo, they face the ultimate dilemma. Should the children stay together and dash the hope of them ever having a forever family? Or do they sacrifice the close bond between the siblings to give the girls a chance to be adopted?

Please Give My Baby Back

Author: Maggie Hartley

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1399606565

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 65

View: 9258


A new short-story from Britain's most-loved foster carer, perfect for fans of Cathy Glass and Casey Watson When a health visitor notices a bruise on her newborn son's leg, Robyn's world quickly falls apart. Before she knows what's happening, police are called and three-week-old Quinn is being taken to hospital to be examined. As Robyn can't give them any definite explanation as to what's caused the bruise, Quinn is immediately taken into care and given to Maggie to foster while Social Services investigate. With no idea how long the investigation will take and in total shock and distress that her newborn son has been taken from her, Robyn appeals to Maggie for help. But is Robyn really telling the truth that she hasn't harmed her baby? And if so, can Maggie help her prove her innocence and convince Social Services and the courts to let her bring Quinn home?

Stories from the Hood

Author: Valentina Joseph

Publisher: Trafford Publishing

ISBN: 1698707045

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 168

View: 5521


I am a 16-year-old Black (African American) and Jamaican female who has lived in many homes after being taken away from my mother by the Department of Children and Families (DCF), in the State of Connecticut. I am living a double life and the life my friends think I am living is not my reality. At this young age I appear to have it all together, but the reality is I have a hard life that I have protected all of these years by silence.

A Sister's Shame

Author: Maggie Hartley

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1841884790

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 192

View: 9963


A heartbreaking, powerful true story from Sunday Times bestseller, Maggie Hartley, Britain's most-loved foster carer. Perfect for fans of Cathy Glass and Casey Watson. Foster carer Maggie Hartley is used to all manner of children arriving on her doorstep, but nothing can prepare her for sisters Billy and Bo when they arrive at her home. It is clear from the moment she sets eyes on them four-year-old Bo and seven-year-old Billy have clearly been subjected to unimaginable neglect, and it takes all of Maggie's skills as a foster carer to try to connect with the volatile little girls, who seem far younger than their years. Over time, the little girls slowly emerge from their shells, and Maggie begins the difficult task of trying to gain their trust. But as time goes on, it becomes clear that there is something much darker going on, something that will call into question everything Maggie has ever learned in all her years as a foster carer...

Spilled Ink

Author: Jackie Velazquez

Publisher: Writers Republic LLC

ISBN: 1637283288

Category: Poetry

Page: 80

View: 5110


Love. Pain. Struggle. Trauma. Anxiety. We have all encountered some if not all of these emotions. Life is a roller coaster, and oftentimes it leaves you speechless. I am here to be the voice. I've been quiet too long. . . It's all or nothing! Poetry by Jackie Velazquez

Bad Soldier

Author: Chris Ryan

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1444783351

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 6048


'first rate set operational pieces' - Sunday Times A migrant boat battles through the rough Mediterranean. Its passengers are desperate, starving and scared. They are also being ruthlessly targeted by the SAS. Islamic State militants are smuggling themselves into Europe using these boats. Only by locating such men before they make it into the UK can the Regiment stop them committing their acts of terror on British soil. When one of these migrants reveals plans for a sickening Christmas Day atrocity in London, SAS operative Danny Black is tasked with infiltrating the most dangerous theatre of war in the world: Islamic State heartland. There, he and his team must lift a brutal IS commander - the only man who knows all the details of the London attack. The commander surrounds himself with vicious militants and a harem of sex slaves whom he treats in the most sadistic ways imaginable. And his jihadi wife is, if possible, even more abominable than him. As Danny pits himself against the violent thugs of the Islamic State, he learns that it is not just the UK that is under threat. His very presence on the mission has put at risk the safety of those closest to him. And he discovers that there are greater forces at work here, who do not care if the innocent live or die. Now there is nothing Danny will not do, no line he will not cross, to protect his family. Whether that makes him a good soldier or a bad soldier he neither knows nor cares. Because as he is fast learning, it is sometimes impossible to tell the difference between the two. And as every SAS soldier is trained to understand, the worst threats often come from the most unexpected places...

Groomed to be a Bride

Author: Maggie Hartley

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1409197441

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 240

View: 2667


A heartbreaking, powerful true story from Britain's most-loved foster carer, perfect for fans of Cathy Glass and Casey Watson. When a terrified young girl is discovered hiding in the back of a lorry, she is quickly taken into the care of social services. Arriving on the doorstep of foster carer Maggie Hartley, she is painfully thin, bruised and unable to speak a word of English. What atrocities has she escaped to bring her here? Woken each night by the screams of Halima's nightmares, Maggie is desperate to reach this damaged young girl. But without a shared language, she fears that she may never uncover the truth behind her terror. Can Maggie help Halima recover from the horrors she has endured, and help her build a new life for herself? Or will Halima forever be haunted by the ghosts of her past?

The Trauma-Informed Coach

Author: Joanna Harper

Publisher: Right Book Press

ISBN: 191230080X

Category: Education

Page: 146

View: 8099


As a coach or practitioner, your focus is always on facilitating your clients to flourish, thrive and believe in their potential. But what happens when past traumas and emotional injuries prevent them from making progress in the here and now? How do you respond? In this indispensable and highly practical guide, master coach Joanna Harper shares her experience and expert knowledge to equip you with the crucial awareness and skills you need to competently manage even the most challenging of client situations and experiences. Through ten unique core competencies, five powerful and practical models, plus an illuminating and insightful range of case studies that bring everything to life, you’ll discover how to: > Put trauma awareness at the core of your coaching practice. > Feel confident that you’re dealing with trauma supportively. > Handle the distressing emotions and painful memories that past traumas can surface. > Know when to refer clients to other services or professionals. > Focus and draw on your client’s existing resources and strengths. Whether you’re newly certified or already an experienced coach or practitioner, by being trauma-informed and in possession of these forward-thinking, empowering skills you’ll always know the most appropriate measures and suitable ways to advance when past experiences are preventing your client’s progress.

The Lost Boy

Author: Maggie Hartley

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1841884820

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 64

View: 5838


A heartbreaking, powerful short story from Britain's most-loved foster carer, perfect for fans of Cathy Glass and Casey Watson. 'An amazing inspiration' 5* Reader Review 'Maggie has yet again proved how valuable she is to vulnerable children and young people.' - 5* Reader Review 'Brilliant Read' - 5* Reader Review Teenager Carl arrives on foster carer Maggie Hartley's doorstep following a terrible row with his father. Quiet, withdrawn and unhappy, Carl refuses to talk about his home life, and Maggie finds herself at a loss as to how to help this vulnerable, lost boy. It's clear that there's a very heavy burden resting on Carl's young shoulders, but with the boy refusing to confide in anyone, and with concerns about his mental health growing by the day, Maggie begins to feel desperate. A chance discovery in Carl's room finally reveals the truth behind the boy's anguish, and despite all her years of experience as a foster carer, Carl's secret is unlike anything Maggie has ever had to deal with before. Can Maggie help this confused and unhappy boy share the truth behind his misery? And can Carl ever find a way to move beyond his pain to live a happy, normal life?

All My Sisters

Author: Judith Lennox

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1472224132

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 7914


Under the storm clouds of war, can they hope for happiness? In the tumultuous years before the First World War, four sisters seek to follow their dreams in Judith Lennox's compelling novel All My Sisters. Perfect for fans of Lulu Taylor and Kate Morton. Iris, Marianne, Eva and Clemency are the daughters of Sheffield manufacturer, Joshua Maclise. In the tumultuous years before the First World War, the sisters seek to fulfil their ambitions. Pretty, self-centred Iris dreams of a grand marriage, quiet Marianne meets the love of her life, and passionate Eva longs for independence. Only Clemency, caring for her invalid mother, remains tied to the family home. Years pass and, her hopes of marriage dashed, Iris becomes a nurse in a London hospital. Marianne, living on a tea estate in Ceylon, finds first her happiness and then her life is threatened by a cruel and ruthless man. When Eva falls in love with the Bohemian, Gabriel Bellamy, her dreams of a career as an artist falter. As the clouds darken and war changes the lives of all the sisters, Clemency fights to free herself from the bonds that confine her and to discover love at last. What readers are saying about All My Sisters: 'This is a book to savour - so many characters, all of them well drawn and who invite our sympathy. A wonderful story' '[Judith Lennox] is the ultimate storyteller... her stories are compelling and beautifully descriptive of both characters and feelings' 'Happy and sad, [this book] has all the qualities to make for an excellent read'