Pocket Bowie Wisdom

Author: Hardie Grant Books

Publisher: Hardie Grant

ISBN: 9781784880736

Category: Humor

Page: 96

View: 5893


A collection of some of Bowie's most famous and insightful words that will continue to inspire generations On the January 10th 2016, the world lost a hero. Here are some of his most provocative and memorable sayings to inspire and treasure. "I don't know where I'm going from here, but I promise it won't be boring." "I re-invented my image so many times that I'm in denial that I was originally an overweight Korean woman." "I've never responded well to entrenched negative thinking." "I'm an instant star. Just add water and stir" This is the perfect memento or gift for any Bowie fan and an affectionate tribute to a true icon.

Pocket Bowie Wisdom

Author: David Bowie,Hardie Grant London Staff

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781784880729

Category:

Page: 96

View: 304


'I'm just a cosmic yob, I suppose.' 'I change every day. I'm not outrageous. I'm David Bowie.' 'I'm an instant star. Just add water and stir.' Genre-hopping, gender-bending: Bowie has never been afraid to push the boundaries. Whether masquerading as an alien, a spaceman or a goblin king, this rock 'n' roll hero was a true visionary. The death of the Man Who Fell to Earth shook fans around the world, but his influence lives on. Pocket Bowie Wisdomis full of insights into music, identity, fame, style, love and creativity from one of the most pioneering musicians of all time. This collection of quotes makes a perfect gift for the Bowie fan in your life.

The Secret Wisdom of the Earth

Author: Christopher Scotton

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1455551937

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 3756


"A marvelous debut...has everything a big, thick novel should have, and I hated to put it down." -- John Grisham "A page-turner." -- New York Times Book Review For readers of The Story of Edgar Sawtelle, this is a dramatic and deeply moving novel about an act of violence in a small Appalachian town and the repercussions that will forever change a young man's view of human cruelty and compassion. After seeing the death of his younger brother in a terrible home accident, fourteen-year-old Kevin and his grieving mother are sent for the summer to live with Kevin's grandfather. In this town of Medgar, Kentucky, a peeled-paint coal town deep in Appalachia, Kevin quickly falls in with a half-wild hollow kid named Buzzy Fink who schools him in the mysteries and magnificence of the woods. The town is beset by a massive mountaintop removal operation that is blowing up the hills and back filling the hollows. Kevin's grandfather and others in town attempt to rally the citizens against the "company" and its powerful owner to stop the plunder of their mountain heritage. But when Buzzy witnesses a brutal hate crime, a sequence is set in play that will test Buzzy and Kevin to their absolute limits in an epic struggle for survival in the Kentucky mountains.

On Bowie

Author: Rob Sheffield

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1472241061

Category: Music

Page: 96

View: 1751


On Bowie is a thoughtful and loving meditation on the life of the late David Bowie that explores his creative legacy and the enduring and mutual connection he enjoyed with his fans Innovative. Pioneering. Brave. Until his death in January 2016, David Bowie created art that not only pushed boundaries, but helped fans understand themselves and view the world from fantastic new perspectives. When the shocking news of his death on January 10, 2016 broke, the outpouring of grief and adulation was immediate and ongoing. Fans around the world and across generations paid homage to this brilliant, innovate, ever-evolving artist who both shaped and embodied our times. In this concise and penetrating book, highly-regarded Rolling Stone critic, bestselling author, and lifelong Bowie fan Rob Sheffield shares his own feelings about the passing of this icon and explains why Bowie's death has elicited such an unprecedented emotional outpouring from so many.

Pocket Prayers for Peace and Justice

Author: N.A

Publisher: Church House Publishing

ISBN: 9780715140215

Category: Prayers for justice

Page: 96

View: 6508


Thought-provoking prayers, from many different countries and traditions, are collected here to inspire those praying and working for fairness, harmony and freedom around the world. Christian Aid works with partner organizations in more than 50 countries to relieve poverty and to campaign for justice and peace for some of the world's poorest communities.

The Dodge Club,

Author: James De Mille

Publisher: BoD – Books on Demand

ISBN: 3752319852

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 9530


Reproduction of the original: The Dodge Club, by James De Mille

Sex, Meaning and the Menopause

Author: Sue Brayne

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1441170278

Category: Religion

Page: 192

View: 7226


In a highly-sexualised and media-hyped society, postmenopausal woman often feel pressurised to have 'great sex.' Books and websites prescribe what the menopause should be. And, if it isn't, here's how to fix it. Painful sex and mood swings can be cured by HRT. Some women take the artificial route to remain sexually active. Others choose a natural approach, even if it means dwindling sexual desire. 'I used to seek it out. Now I endure it', said one woman. But few talk about it. 'It's far more of a taboo than talking about death', said another woman. Fading libido can have a profound effect on relationships. 'I feel despair', said a 61 year-old husband. 'I have to accept that my sex life is more or less over.' And another: 'I have never broached this with my wife, but to think I may never have sex again is very dangerous.' Sue explores the lived, felt experience of what it means to be postmenopausal, and looks at how it affects relationships and changes lives.

Beautiful Distraction

Author: Lydia Michaels

Publisher: Lydia Michaels Books

ISBN: N.A

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 201

View: 3897


When Finnegan McCullough gets a flat tire he bumps into a woman he’s never seen before. After a stern lecture on trespassing, he offers her a ride and a friendship takes shape. Mallory Fenton is unlike any girl he’s ever met. She’s funny, sexy as hell, and sweet as pie, but she doesn’t see herself that way. After literally crashing into Finnegan McCullough, Mallory is a hot, tongue-tied,mess. A true lumberjack, he wears his flannel well and possesses the sexiest smile she’s ever had thrown her way. Unfortunately, men like that don’t look at girls like her. When Finn confesses his desire to be more than friends, Mallory is shocked. After years of being the ‘fat girl’ she knows better than to believe a man like Finn could ever find her attractive. But she’s gotten under his skin and Finn is determined to show Mallory how beautiful she truly is. A realistic and heartwarming romance that proves love and beauty come in all shapes and sizes.