Prozac Nation

Author: Elizabeth Wurtzel

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 0547524145

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 384

View: 9657


Elizabeth Wurtzel's New York Times best-selling memoir, with a new afterword "Sparkling, luminescent prose . . . A powerful portrait of one girl's journey through the purgatory of depression and back." —New York Times "A book that became a cultural touchstone." —New Yorker Elizabeth Wurtzel writes with her finger on the faint pulse of an overdiagnosed generation whose ruling icons are Kurt Cobain, Xanax, and pierced tongues. Her famous memoir of her bouts with depression and skirmishes with drugs, Prozac Nation is a witty and sharp account of the psychopharmacology of an era for readers of Girl, Interrupted and Sylvia Plath’s The Bell Jar.

Prozac Nation

Author: Elizabeth Wurtzel

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780704302488

Category: Depressed persons

Page: 317

View: 6953


'Prozac Nation' gives voice to the high incidence of depression amongst young people who are fully entrenched in the culture of divorce, economic instability and AIDS.

Depression and Narrative

Author: Hilary Clark

Publisher: SUNY Press

ISBN: 0791477592

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 274

View: 7500


How the story of depression gets told in print, on screen, and online.

Prozac Backlash

Author: Joseph Glenmullen

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 0743200624

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 383

View: 2719


In a controversial look at the potent drugs millions of Americans consume each day--for everything from anxiety to sexual addiction--Dr. Glenmullen presents authoritative information on why they are risky and provides advice on choosing safer alternative treatments.

Encyclopedia of Depression [2 volumes]

Author: Linda Wasmer Andrews

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN: 0313353670

Category: Psychology

Page: 570

View: 5991


Written in clear, nontechnical language, and filled with lively historical and cultural highlights, this comprehensive reference work is a scientifically grounded yet thoroughly readable introduction to depressive disorders. • About 300 entries on depression, including the genetic, biological, environmental, and personality factors underlying it as well as the latest treatments • Brief bibliographies with each entry, directing readers to additional print and online sources • Fascinating sidebars on issues, breakthroughs, and famous persons who suffered from depression, including Abraham Lincoln, Charles Dickens, Irving Berlin, Vincent van Gogh, and Georgia O'Keeffe • A comprehensive index

Springsteen as Soundtrack

Author: Caroline Madden

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN: 1476672857

Category: Music

Page: 242

View: 4278


A catalog nearly fifty years in the making, Bruce Springsteen's music remains popular and a frequent subject of study yet little critical attention has been given to its inclusion in film and television. This book examines a selection of films and TV shows from the 1980s to the present--including Mask, High Fidelity, The Sopranos and The Wrestler--that feature Springsteen's music on the soundtrack. Relating his thematic preoccupations with religion, the Vietnam War, the promise of the open road, economic disparity and blue-collar malaise, his songs color narrative and articulate the inner lives of characters. This book explores the many on-screen contexts of Springsteen's work from Greetings from Asbury Park, N.J. to Springsteen on Broadway.

Rhetorical Bodies

Author: Jack Selzer,Sharon Crowley

Publisher: Univ of Wisconsin Press

ISBN: 9780299164744

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 395

View: 1585


What significance does the physical, material body still have in a world of virtual reality and genetic cloning? How do technology and postmodern rhetoric influence our understanding of the body? And how can our discussion of the body affect the way we handle crises in public policy--the politics of race and ethnicity; issues of "family values" that revolve around sexual and gender identities; the choices revolving around reproduction and genome projects, and the spread of disease? Leading scholars in rhetoric and communication, as well as literary and cultural studies, address some of the most important topics currently being discussed in the human sciences. The essays collected here suggest the wide range of public arenas in which rhetoric is operative--from abortion clinics and the World Wide Web to the media's depiction of illiteracy and the Donner Party. These studies demonstrate how the discourse of AIDS prevention or Demi Moore's "beautiful pregnancy" call to mind the physical nature of being human and the ways in which language and other symbols reflect and create the physical world.

Sad, Mad and Bad

Author: Lisa Appignanesi

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Mental illness

Page: 532

View: 1714


From the depression suffered by Virginia Woolf and Sylvia Plath to the mental anguish and addictions of iconic beauties Zelda Fitzgerald and Marilyn Monroe. From Théroigne de Méricourt, the Fury of the Gironde, who descended from the bloody triumphs of the French Revolution to untameable insanity in La Salpetrière asylum, to Mary Lamb, sister of Charles, who in the throes of a nervous breakdown turned on her mother with a kitchen knife. From Freud and Jung and the radical breakthroughs of psychoanalysis to Lacan's construction of a modern movement and the new women-centred therapies. This is the story of how we have understood extreme states of mind over the last two hundred years and how we conceive of them today, when more and more of our inner life and emotions have become a matter for medics and therapists.

Coming of Age in Contemporary American Fiction

Author: Kenneth Millard

Publisher: Edinburgh University Press

ISBN: 0748629548

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 200

View: 8403


This book explores the ways in which a range of recent American novelists have handled the genre of the 'coming-of-age' novel, or the Bildungsroman. Novels of this genre characteristically dramatise the vicissitudes of growing up and the trials and tribulations of young adulthood, often presented through depictions of immediate family relationships and other social structures. This book considers a variety of different American cultures (in terms of race, class and gender) and a range of contemporary coming-of-age novels, so that aesthetic judgements about the fiction might be made in the context of the social history that fiction represents. A series of questions are asked:* Does the coming-of-age moment in these novels coincide with an interpretation of the 'fall' of America?* What kind of national commentary does it therefore facilitate?* Is the Bildungsroman a quintessentially American genre?* What can it usefully tell us about contemporary American culture? Although the focus is on the conte