Runaway Girl

Author: Paul Kennedy

Publisher: Author House

ISBN: 1496984218

Category: Fiction

Page: 435

View: 3898


Tasha, a rebellious teenager, runs away from a threatening family situation. Arriving in London she meets Ann Swinton, a well-off woman who, with her husband, Steven, helps runaway and homeless children. Eighteen months later Ann is brutally murdered at her home while her husband is away on a fishing trip. Police suspicion falls on Steven and a few days later he is found dead in his car, having supposedly committed suicide. But Tasha's life has become entangled with other young runaways, an Italian hotel waiter, several Ukrainian prostitutes and their pimp, Giorgio, who Tasha meets soon after her arrival. All struggle to forge a living at the margins of London's multi-national society. When Tasha seeks refuge with Giorgio she accidentally uncovers the operations of a vicious gang who are kidnapping runaways like herself. When they discover that Tasha has reported their activities to Ann Swinton their lives are placed in imminent danger. Indeed, Tasha only narrowly avoids death after escaping from her locked room. When DI Tariq Hassan and his new colleague DS Sue Bridges are assigned the formidable task of tracking this gang down they desperately need Tasha's help. But is she still alive and where is she hiding?

Runaway Girl

Author: C. B. Follett

Publisher: Pudding House Publications

ISBN: 9781589984844

Category:

Page: 40

View: 5972


Runaway Girl

Author: Carissa Phelps

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101583703

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 320

View: 3747


“Riveting . . . A genuinely important book that casts the problem of sex trafficking in America into stunning, heartbreaking relief.” (Kirkus Reviews) A School Library Journal Best Adult Book for Teens A Joan F. Kaywell Award Finalist from the Florida Council of Teachers of English Carissa Phelps was a runner. By the time she was twelve, she had run away from home, dropped out of school, and fled blindly into the arms of a brutal pimp. Even when she escaped him, she could not outrun the crushing inner pain of abuse, neglect, and abandonment. With little to hope for, she expected to end up in prison, or worse. But then her life was transformed through the unexpected kindness of a teacher and a counselor. Through small miracles, Carissa accomplished the unimaginable, graduating from UCLA with both a law degree and an MBA. She left the streets behind, yet found herself back, this time working to help homeless and at-risk youth discover their own paths to a better life. Like the multimillion-copy bestseller The Glass Castle, this memoir moves us through the power of its unflinching candor and generosity.

Runaway Girl

Author: Tessa Bailey

Publisher: Booktopia Editions

ISBN: 192599547X

Category: Fiction

Page: 330

View: 1903


It's Naomi Clemons's big day. Her dream wedding. And she's outta here. One moment. A chance meeting of gazes through the church window pane with someone familiar who radiates intrigue. Independence. It's the final push Naomi needs to realize...she's boring. A blonde, cookie cutter, well mannered trophy wife-to-be. How can she expect to lead a fulfilling married life when she's never lived? Special Forces diver Jason Bristow needs a beauty pageant coach. Not for himself-although the tattooed bruiser could definitely use some charm. For his little sister who he has returned to St. Augustine, Florida to raise. When a beautiful southern debutante lands on his doorstep, she awakens a hunger that won't be ignored. If only she wasn't planning on winning back the ex-fiance she left at the altar... Despite the potential for ruin, heat continues to build between Naomi and Jason beneath the sultry Florida sunshine, consuming them both. But they're on borrowed time...and it's about to run out.

THE RUNAWAY GIRL

Author: Nijah Coles

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1794844775

Category:

Page: 130

View: 6680


The Runaway Girl is based on a true story about a young teenage girl that becomes lostt at an early age. She meets all different types of people and puts herself in some of the most dangerous life and death situations. She places herself in some of the roughest neighborhoods in Washington, DC. Being in the world alone, learning to survive and make it out are the challenges that she has to get herself out of. From juvenile detention centers, to group homes, this young lady has seen it all. Does she get herself out of these situations? Or does she fall through the cracks?

The Runaway Girl

Author: Jina Bacarr

Publisher: Boldwood Books Ltd

ISBN: 1838893733

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 8719


Two women hold the keys to his heart. Only one will survive that fateful night... When Ava O’Reilly is wrongly accused of stealing from her employer, she has no option but to flee Ireland. The law is after her, and she has only one chance at escape - the Titanic. Aboard the ship of dreams, she runs straight into the arms of Captain 'Buck' Blackthorn, a dashing gentleman gambler who promises to be her protector. He is intrigued by her Irish beauty and manages to disguise her as the maid of his good friend, the lovely Countess of Marbury. Little does he realise, that the Countess is also in love with him. As the fateful night approaches, tragedy strikes further when Ava is separated from Buck, and must make a daring choice that will change her life forever... A sweeping, emotional historical romance set aboard the Titanic, perfect for fans of Gill Paul and Suzanne Goldring. This is a revised and fully updated edition of a novel previously published as Titanic Rhapsody. What readers are saying about The Runaway Girl: 'A fantastic Titanic take woven in with a great portrayal of love, friendship, and even forgiveness. I would have rather seen this as a movie than the Jack and Rose story!!!' 'Oh how I adored this story... From start to finish I was enchanted with the story and the characters and all the finer details describing the ship, clothes and scenery.' 'A breathtaking romance that is sure to stay with you long after reading' 'Perfect for historical fiction and romance fans.' 'A mesmerizing romance that is sure to sweep you off your feet and take you away to another place, another time.' 'A fabulous book you won't want to miss'

The Runaway Girl Pt.2 Blinded

Author: Nijah Coles

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1678189790

Category: Fiction

Page: 40

View: 8697


The Runaway Girl is back with part two of her book. This time we get to see whom that mystery caller was. If you haven't read book one you should do so. In book two our infamous Runaway Girl is now settled down in her new home with her family. Her boyfriend gets a random call in the middle of the night and storms out of the house leaving her there with the newborn babies. As she worries if this was an emergency or just the streets calling she paces back in fourth. She finally get a phone call from him and she is in complete shock. Lets read to find out if the Runaway Girl can make it through this one.

The Economics of the British Stage 1800-1914

Author: Tracy C. Davis

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 9780521036856

Category: Drama

Page: 536

View: 2889


A comprehensive study of economic theory in relation to the development of nineteenth-century British theatre.

Runaway and Homeless Youth

Author: Stephen J. Morewitz

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 3319308637

Category: Psychology

Page: 273

View: 2082


This straightforward reference surveys the knowledge base on homeless, runaway, and thrown-away children and adolescents and makes concrete recommendations for policy and practice. It is a comprehensive volume, that covers new state legislation in the U.S. dealing with runaway and homeless youth. The book’s ecological approach grounds readers in the demographics of this diverse population, family and other risk factors for leaving home (and alternative arrangements such as foster care), and the survival skills homeless young people use to sustain themselves. Chapters cover a gamut of physical, psychological, and social problems, from drug abuse to depression to STIs, with special attention paid to the multiple difficulties faced by LGBT street youth and street youths’ experiences with the legal and justice systems. The author also assesses established and emerging interventions used with runaway youth, and the effectiveness of policy initiatives dealing with improving conditions for youth on the streets and at risk. Included in the coverage: · Runaway youth at the time of their disappearance. · Food insecurity and related problems among homeless and runaway youth. · Substance use among homeless and runaway adolescents. · Runaway and homeless sexual minorities. · Court responses to runaway offenses and other juvenile status violations. · Street youth in different countries. Presenting the complex situation as it stands, and with clear suggestions for action, Runaway and Homeless Youth is a valuable resource for family therapists, sociologists, social workers, school administrators, health professionals, police, judges, and other criminal justice professional, along with professionals involved in young people’s well-being and policy-making initiatives.

Goethe's Families of the Heart

Author: Susan E. Gustafson

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

ISBN: 1501315773

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 224

View: 8643


Throughout his literary work Goethe portrays characters who defy and reject 18th and 19th century ideals of aristocratic and civil families, notions of heritage, assumptions about biological connections, expectations about heterosexuality, and legal mandates concerning marriage. The questions Goethe's plays and novels pose are often modern and challenging: Do social conventions, family expectations, and legal mandates matter? Can two men or two women pair together and be parents? How many partners or parents should there be? Two? One? A group? Can parents love children not biologically related to them? Do biological parents always love their children? What is the nature of adoptive parents, children, and families? Ultimately, what is the fundamental essence of love and family? Gustafson demonstrates that Goethe's conception of the elective affinities is certainly not limited to heterosexual spouses or occasionally to men desiring men. A close analysis of Goethe's explication of affinities throughout his literary production reveals his rejection of loveless relationships (for example, arranged marriages) and his acceptance and promotion of all relationships formed through spontaneous affinities and love (including heterosexual, same-sex, nonexclusive, group, parental, and adoptive).