She's Not There

Author: Mary-Ann Tirone Smith

Publisher: Henry Holt and Company

ISBN: 1466872144

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 1414


In Poppy Rice's second venture, the smart, outspoken FBI agent's vacation is rudely interrupted by a sinister murder FBI agent Poppy Rice is, rather unwillingly, taking time off to recuperate from injuries sustained on the job. A few days into her ill-conceived vacation on Block Island with Joe, her sometime-lover and soul mate, she happens upon a corpse dumped in the middle of the road. The body of the victim, a young girl from a summer camp for overweight teenagers, is painfully contorted, her face frozen in a death scream. There are no visible wounds and the cause of death is a mystery. Although Poppy is no stranger to gruesome scenes, she is so disturbed by the murder that she can't help but defy her orders to rest. Then, just as she begins poking around, another body is found in the same condition as the first; this time, the pathologist reveals another similarity--the eardrums of both girls were ruptured. Now Poppy must get to the killer before the killer gets to any more girls. With no clue as to the murderer's method or motive, she's going to need all the help she can get. But in the close-knit, tight-lipped Block Island community, secrets are kept--even deadly ones, in Mary-Ann Tirone Smith's She's Not There.

She's Not There

Author: Jennifer Finney Boylan

Publisher: Crown

ISBN: 0385346980

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 352

View: 7533


The bestselling, seminal work of trans literature: a story of love, sex, selfhood, and understanding from Jennifer Finney Boylan When she changed genders, she changed the world. It was the groundbreaking publication of She’s Not There in 2003 that jump-started the transgender revolution. By turns hilarious and deeply moving, Boylan – a cast member on I Am Cait; an advisor to the television series Transparent, and a contributing opinion writer for the New York Times -- explores the territory that lies between men and women, examines changing friendships, and rejoices in the redeeming power of love and family. She’s Not There was one of the first works to present trans experience from the perspective of a literary novelist, opening a door to new understanding of love, sex, gender, and identity. Boylan inspired readers to ask the same questions she asked herself: What is it that makes us---ourselves? What does it mean to be a man, or a woman? How much could my husband, or wife, change—and still be recognizable as the one I love? Boylan’s humorous, wise voice helped make She’s Not There the first bestselling work by a transgender American--and transformed Boylan into a national spokeswoman for LGBTQ people, their families, and the people that love them. This updated and revised edition also includes a new epilogue from Jenny’s wife Grace; it also contains the original afterward by her friend, novelist and Pulitzer Prize winner Richard Russo. “Love will prevail,” said Boylan’s conservative mother, as she learned about her daughter’s identity. She’s Not There is the story that helped bring about a world in which that change seems almost possible.

She's Not There

Author: Joy Fielding

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN: 1101966882

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 602


A vanished child, a family in turmoil, and a fateful phone call that brings the torments of the past into the harrowing present . . . the New York Times bestselling author of Someone Is Watching weaves these spellbinding elements into a gripping novel of psychological suspense—a must-read for fans of Laura Lippman and Mary Higgins Clark. “I think my real name is Samantha. I think I’m your daughter.” Caroline Shipley’s heart nearly stops when she hears those words from the voice on the other end of the phone. Instantly, she’s thrust fifteen years into the past, to a posh resort in Baja, Mexico—and the fateful night her world collapsed. The trip is supposed to be a celebration. Caroline’s husband, Hunter, convinces her to leave their two young daughters, Michelle and Samantha, alone in their hotel suite while the couple enjoys an anniversary dinner in the restaurant downstairs. But returning afterward, Caroline and Hunter make a horrifying discovery: Two-year-old Samantha has vanished without a trace. What follows are days, weeks, and years of anguish for Caroline. She’s tormented by media attention that has branded her a cold, incompetent mother, while she struggles to save her marriage. Caroline also has to deal with the demands of her needy elder daughter, Michelle, who is driven to cope in dangerous ways. Through it all, Caroline desperately clings to the hope that Samantha will someday be found—only to be stung again and again by cruel reality. Plunged back into the still-raw heartbreak of her daughter’s disappearance, and the suspicions and inconsistencies surrounding a case long gone cold, Caroline doesn’t know whom or what to believe. The only thing she can be sure of is that someone is fiercely determined to hide the truth of what happened to Samantha. Praise for Joy Fielding’s Someone Is Watching “Someone Is Watching gripped me from the first to the very last page. Bailey Carpenter is a heroine who’s both victim and warrior woman, a fascinating sleuth who will linger with you long after you’ve finished this thrilling read.”—Tess Gerritsen “Fielding pens a spiraling tale of paranoia and suspense, as sultry as a Miami night.”—Jenny Milchman “An edge-of-your-seat read . . . With Fielding’s patented blend of complex characters and escalating suspense, she is in top form here.”—Karen Robards “Engrossing . . . The characters pulsate with life.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review) “A gripping, fast-paced psychological thriller . . . Fielding’s story of one woman’s search for justice, understanding, and internal peace is nothing short of arresting.”—Booklist (starred review)

The Living Age

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Literature

Page: N.A

View: 7903


The Right Thing

Author: James Larson

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 0595427367

Category: Fiction

Page: 296

View: 392


From James Richard Larson, author of The Eye of Odin and Wolfgar: The Story of a Viking, comes his third novel, a study in horror titled The Right Thing. When a woman is found wandering on a quiet rural road her incoherent rambling is dismissed as fantasy. But others are about to learn that the man from the woods, the man attired in black, intends to pay them a visit as well. Not only will he enter their lives, he will alter their very reality. The Right Thing will take you on a journey into a world of kabbalistic magic, a world of trance and ritual, where an ancient evil is released from the power of one woman's will. So pick up the wand, sword, cup and pentacle, step into the magic circle, and accompany us on a tour of the dark place.

Bloodtide

Author: Melvin Burgess

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1849396663

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 432

View: 7722


'Love. Hate. So what? This is family. This is business.' London is in ruins. The once-glorious city is now a gated wasteland cut off from the rest of the country and in the hands of two warring families – the Volsons and the Connors. Val Volson offers the hand of his young daughter, Signy, to Connor as a truce. At first the marriage seems to have been blessed by the gods, but betrayal and deceit are never far away in this violent world, and the lives of both families are soon to be changed for ever . . . 'Shies from nothing, making it both cruel and magnificent' Guardian 'An epic tale of treachery, deceit, sex, torture, violence, revenge and retribution' Independent on Sunday 'Will rank along with the 20th-century classics' - Sunday Telegraph Winner of the Lancashire Book Award

Moonlight on a Weathered Path: Selected Readings for Dramatic Interpretation

Author: Jamantha Williams Watson

Publisher: Author House

ISBN: 1477273212

Category: Social Science

Page: 434

View: 739


Jamantha Williams Watson takes us inside the lives of several individuals struggling to find their places in a world where fairness, morality and civility do not always apply. From Slippery Slopes to Locked Out Watson's characters live in a world where their dreams often supersede their realm of reality; a world where things are not always as they seem. Though Watson's style is subtle and sophisticated it is also jarring, leaving the reader on the edge of their seat. In Moonlight on a Weathered Path: Selected Readings for Dramatic Interpretation, we experience Watson's stories and live with her characters even after the last page is turned.

The Age of Desire

Author: Jennie Fields

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1448146917

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 6017


She is the darling of Parisian society. A famous author whose novels have captivated readers. He is a charming young journalist with nothing to lose. While novelist Edith Wharton writes of grand love affairs, she has yet to experience her own. Her marriage is more platonic than passionate and her closest relationship is with her literary secretary, Anna Bahlmann. Then Edith meets dashing Morton Fullerton, and her life is at last opened to the world of the sensual. But in giving in to the temptation of their illicit liaison, Edith could lose everything else she holds dear...

Lucifer

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Theosophy

Page: N.A

View: 8087