12 Seconds Of Silence

Author: Jamie Holmes

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 1328459853

Category: History

Page: 432

View: 2675


The riveting story of the American scientists, tinkerers, and nerds who solved one of the biggest puzzles of World War II—and developed one of the most powerful weapons of the war 12 Seconds of Silence is the remarkable, lost story of how a ragtag group of American scientists overcame one of the toughest problems of World War II: shooting things out of the sky. Working in a secretive organization known as Section T, a team of physicists, engineers, and everyday Joes and Janes took on a devilish challenge. To help the Allies knock airplanes out of the air, they created one of the world’s first “smart weapons.” Against overwhelming odds and in a race against time, mustering every scrap of resource, ingenuity, and insight, the scientists of Section T would eventually save countless lives, rescue the city of London from the onslaught of a Nazi superweapon, and help bring about the Axis defeat. A holy grail sought after by Allied and Axis powers alike, their unlikely innovation ranks with the atomic bomb as one of the most revolutionary technologies of the Second World War. Until now, their tale was largely untold. For fans of Erik Larson and Ben Macintyre, set amidst the fog of espionage, dueling spies, and the dawn of an age when science would determine the fate of the world, 12 Seconds of Silence is a tribute to the extraordinary wartime mobilization of American science and the ultimate can-do story.

Sunday Silence

Author: Nicci French

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 0062676695

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 5634


It started with Monday. But it doesn't end with Sunday. Read Sunday Silence, the new novel in the series that LOUISE PENNY calls "fabulous, unsettling, and riveting" — and brace yourself for the breathtaking series finale in summer 2018. Lover of London, gifted psychologist, frequent police consultant — Frieda Klein is many things. And now she's a person of interest in a murder case. A body has been discovered in the most unlikely and horrifying of places: beneath the floorboards of Frieda's house. The corpse is only months old, but the chief suspect appears to have died more than seven years ago. Except as Frieda knows all too well, he's alive and well and living in secret. And it seems he's inspired a copycat... As the days pass and the body count rises, Frieda finds herself caught in a fatal tug-of-war between two killers: one who won't let her go, and another who can't let her live. Crackling with suspense, packed with emotion, Sunday Silence is a psychological thriller perfect for fans of Elizabeth George and Paula Hawkins.

Conspiracy of Silence

Author: Sandra Butler

Publisher: Volcano Press

ISBN: 9781884244124

Category: Self-Help

Page: 215

View: 4370


Using interviews and case studies, a social worker explores the dynamics of and social response to incestuous assault, stressing its widespread and egalitarian nature

Speech and Silence in American Law

Author: Austin Sarat

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 1139487736

Category: Law

Page: N.A

View: 7307


Rather than abstract philosophical discussion or yet another analysis of legal doctrine, Speech and Silence in American Law seeks to situate speech and silence, locating them in particular circumstances and contexts and asking how context matters in facilitating speech or demanding silence. To understand speech and silence we have to inquire into their social life and examine the occasions and practices that call them forth and that give them meaning. Among the questions addressed in this book are: who is authorized to speak? And what are the conditions that should be attached to the speaking subject? Are there occasions that call for speech and others that demand silence? What is the relationship between the speech act and the speaker? Taking these questions into account helps readers understand what compels speakers and what problems accompany speech without a known speaker, allowing us to assess how silence speaks and how speech renders the silent more knowable.

Door to Silence

Author: John Main

Publisher: Hymns Ancient and Modern Ltd

ISBN: 9781853117497

Category: Religion

Page: 96

View: 1979


A collection of short quotes, which are intended as springboards for contemplation, are drawn from his talks, letters, journals and other unpublished sources. They are gathered around a number of themes relating to the practice of Christian meditation including: Peace, Purity of heart, Contacting the centre, Truth, Expectations, Distractions, Union with God, and Hope. As well as being a rich spiritual treasury for meditation, this is a resource for anyone looking for profound and beautiful spiritual quotations.

Organizing Silence

Author: Robin Patric Clair

Publisher: SUNY Press

ISBN: 0791499170

Category: Philosophy

Page: 259

View: 4380


A thought-provoking look at how silence is embedded in our language, society, and institutions. Sexual harassment is explored as an example.

Singing Silence

Author: Osho

Publisher: Diamond Pocket Books (P) Ltd.

ISBN: 9788171821525

Category:

Page: 184

View: 5078


Silence and Concealment in Political Discourse

Author: Melani Schröter

Publisher: John Benjamins Publishing

ISBN: 9027272107

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 202

View: 9080


This book constitutes a significant contribution to political discourse analysis and to the study of silence, both from the point of view of discourse analysis as well as pragmatics, and it is also relevant for those interested in politics and media studies. It promotes the empirical study of silence by analysing metadiscourse about politicians’ silence and by systematically conceptualising the communicativeness of silence in the interplay between intention (to be silent), expectation (of speech) and relevance (of the unsaid). Three cases of sustained metadiscourse about silent politicians from Germany are analysed to exemplify this approach, based on media texts and protocols of parliamentary inquiries. Ideals of political transparency and communicative openness are identified as a basis for (disappointed) expectations of speech which trigger and determine metadiscourse about politicians’ silences. Finally, the book deals critically with the role of those who act as advocates of ‘the public’s’ demand to speak out.

Silence

Author: Ahmad Abdallah

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1300868899

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 4218


Knowledge, Language and Silence

Author: Anna Brożek,Jacek Jadacki

Publisher: BRILL

ISBN: 9004312676

Category: Philosophy

Page: 404

View: 3355


Izydora Dąmbska (1904-1982) was a Polish philosopher; a student of Kazimierz Twardowski, and his last assistant. The present volume includes twenty eight translations of her representative papers.