Papers

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Africa

Page: N.A

View: 4446


The Cultural Semantics of Address Practices

Author: Gian Marco Farese

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN: 1498579280

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 306

View: 5720


This book presents a contrastive analysis of various forms of address used in English and Italian from a cultural semantics perspective. The analysis investigates the different cultural values underlying address practices in English and Italian and emphasizes the risks of miscommunication caused by differences in intercultural interactions.

PONS Kurzgeschichten: The Golden Teapot

Author: Emma Bullimore,Mary Evans

Publisher: PONS

ISBN: 3120501123

Category: Foreign Language Study

Page: 128

View: 5986


Englisch lernen mit spannenden Kurzgeschichten Sie lieben England und alles was dazu gehört? Dann tauchen Sie ins Land ein und frischen Sie ganz nebenbei ihre Englischkenntnisse auf! Mit 20 abwechslungsreichen Kurzgeschichten rund um die Insel erweitern Sie spielend Ihre Lesekompetenz. Wortangaben auf jeder Seite helfen Ihnen dabei. Für Wiedereinsteiger (A2) und Fortgeschrittene (B1).

On Haiku

Author: Hiroaki Sato

Publisher: New Directions Publishing

ISBN: 0811227421

Category: Poetry

Page: 320

View: 2254


Everything you want to know about haiku written by one of the foremost experts in the field and the “finest translator of contemporary Japanese poetry into American English” (Gary Snyder) Who doesn’t love haiku? It is not only America’s most popular cultural import from Japan but also our most popular poetic form: instantly recognizable, more mobile than a sonnet, loved for its simplicity and compression, as well as its ease of composition. Haiku is an ancient literary form seemingly made for the Twittersphere—Jack Kerouac and Langston Hughes wrote them, Ezra Pound and the Imagists were inspired by them, Hallmark’s made millions off them, first-grade students across the country still learn to write them. But what really is a haiku? Where does the form originate? Who were the original Japanese poets who wrote them? And how has their work been translated into English over the years? The haiku form comes down to us today as a cliché: a three-line poem of 5-7-5 syllables. And yet its story is actually much more colorful and multifaceted. And of course to write a good one can be as difficult as writing a Homeric epic—or it can materialize in an instant of epic inspiration. In On Haiku, Hiroaki Sato explores the many styles and genres of haiku on both sides of the Pacific, from the classical haiku of Basho, Issa, and Zen monks, to modern haiku about swimsuits and atomic bombs, to the haiku of famous American writers such as J. D. Salinger and Allen Ginsburg. As if conversing over beers in your favorite pub, Sato explains everything you wanted to know about the haiku in this endearing and pleasurable book, destined to be a classic in the field.

Jews, Christians, and Muslims in the Mediterranean World After 1492

Author: Alisa Meyuhas Ginio

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1135299749

Category: History

Page: 296

View: 7530


The expulsion of the Jews, and later the Muslims from the Iberian Peninsula marked the beginning of a new era in the life of the Mediterranean world. The articles in this volume discuss the aftermath of the crucial historical events that took place in the Mediterranean world in 1492, focusing on the social, economic and cultural consequences of these occurrences.

The Kennedy Club

Author: G. P. Schultz

Publisher: greg Schultz

ISBN: 0962632449

Category: Friendship

Page: 402

View: 848


When Emily and Jack meet by chance on a Cape Cod beach, it's the beginning of a tumultuous twenty-year romance that takes them into the eye of war and the heat of politics. Along for the ride are four Harvard University friends who are members of the Kennedy Club. Aspiring to the ideals of former president John F. Kennedy, the group's goal is to get Jack elected President of the United States. Emily and Jack fall in love, but will his ambition to be president outweigh his love for her, and will she be able to set aside her own career to help him achieve his dream? And will the bond of their relationship withstand betrayal and the lust for power as Jack fights to become the chief executive of the country? Coop, Jack's best friend and trusted campaign manager gets caught up in the fight to stop the destructive practice of mountain top mining devastating his home state of West Virginia. He becomes a terrorist activist against the coal companies, putting Jack's political career in jeopardy, and threatning Coop's relationship with the beautiful Adriana.

The Way We Were

Author: Marcia Willett

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1407036483

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 4659


An orphaned child and a tragic secret . . . the heartwarming and engrossing novel from this well-loved author. Perfect for fans of Erica James, Victoria Hislop and Santa Montefiore. It was in the middle of a snowstorm when Tiggy arrived at the remote house on Bodmin Moor. She was alone, her partner tragically dead in an accident, and Julia, her dearest friend, welcomed her into her warm and chaotic family. As winter turned to spring, and then to summer, Tiggy started to live again and await the birth of her child. But nearly thirty years later, when her son is about to become a father himself, the next generation discovers that there are secrets from the past which must be uncovered... Praise for Marcia Willett: 'A beautifully woven tale of families, secrets, love and loss' Liz Fenwick, bestselling author of THE CORNISH HOUSE 'A genuine voice of our times' The Times 'Riveting, moving and utterly feel-good' Daily Mail

Blood Counts

Author: Martin O'Brien

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1409051447

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 7266


When you're a cop in Marseilles, threats of violence and revenge go with the territory. Usually they come to nothing, but when friends and colleagues start turning up dead it soon becomes clear that someone from Jacquot's past has a score to settle and intends to see it through. But this killer is different. To sweeten the revenge, and cause the greatest pain, it's always the target's nearest and dearest who die. When Jacquot discovers that he's in the firing line, he knows that unless he can track down the killer then someone he loves will pay the ultimate price.

Source

Author: Matthew S. Williams

Publisher: Matthew S Williams

ISBN: 1257625969

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 1423


In the distant future, humanity has expanded to fill every corner of the Solar System. Over 100 billion people live on its many planets, orbital rings and asteroids. In this age of many, it is fast becoming clear that the resources are going to run out! But before that happens, desperate measures need to be taken. Humanity must find new places to go to and new ways to manage what little it has left. But the universe is full of surprises. Between upheaval at home and the possibility of hostile intelligences aboard, humanity will have its hands full! But then again, no one said survival was easy...

The Hidden Pen Names

Author: Abhishek Pandey & Pratima Chaubey

Publisher: The World Of Hidden Thoughts

ISBN: N.A

Category: Antiques & Collectibles

Page: 166

View: 2697


The book 'The Hidden Pen Names' is completely dedicated to all the writers with love and affection. This book, 'The Hidden Pen Names', is Abhishek Pandey and Pratima Chaubey's 2nd anthology together. Here, they try to give an opportunity to the talented aspiring writers to pen down some of the most beautiful pieces they have ever written. This book is based on the idea that every writer writes with a unique self. This unique self is different from the writer's actual self. Thus, they give their writer-selves a 'pen-name'. But, these pen-names remain 'hidden' somewhere amidst the writers' world. Thus, we, together, decided to bring up these pen-names with their beautiful words to the readers' world and benefit them with the joy of reading. This anthology promises a smile, a tear and probably even angst for the readers. It will allow you to vent all your 'hidden' feelings.