Spitfire Girl

Author: Jackie Moggridge

Publisher: Head of Zeus

ISBN: 1781859884

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 320

View: 7245


The inspiring memoir of the remarkable Jackie Moggridge: ATA girl, Spitfire expert and pioneer. 'We had returned to a different world. We had taken off in peace at nine-thirty and landed in war at noon.' Jackie Moggridge was just nineteen when World War Two broke out. Determined to do her bit, she joined the Air Transport Auxiliary. Ferrying aircraft from factory to frontline was dangerous work, but there was also fun, friendship and even love in the air. At last the world was opening up to women... or at least it seemed to be. From her first flight at fifteen to smuggling Spitfires into Burma, Jackie describes the trials and tribulations, successes and frustrations of her life in the sky. What Amazon readers are saying about Spitfire Girl: 'There is something for everyone in this remarkable autobiography, adventure, romance, flight, struggle, victory. Must read!' 5* 'An amazing book by an inspirational woman' 5* 'Drama, aircraft, relationships... it's all there in this great page-turner!' 5* 'I am left with real admiration for Jackie Moggridge, truly an amazing lady' 5* 'Brilliant book. What an amazing women she was' 5*.

The Spitfire Girl

Author: Fenella J. Miller

Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd

ISBN: 1788548396

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 4981


Heartwarming and emotional story of pluck and courage in WWII - perfect for fans of Nancy Revell's The Shipyard Girls series and Daisy Styles' The Bomb Girls series.

A Spitfire Girl

Author: Mary Ellis, As Told To Melody Foreman

Publisher: Frontline Books

ISBN: 1473895367

Category: History

Page: 240

View: 6547


We visualize dashing and daring young men as the epitome of the pilots of the Second World War, yet amongst that elite corps was one person who flew no less than 400 Spitfires and seventy-six different types of aircraft Ð and that person was Mary Wilkins. Her story is one of the most remarkable and endearing of the war, as this young woman, serving as a ferry pilot with the Air Transport Auxiliary, transported aircraft for the RAF, including fast fighter planes and huge four-engine bombers. On one occasion Mary delivered a Wellington bomber to an airfield, and as she climbed out of the aircraft the RAF ground crew ran over to her and demanded to know where the pilot was! Mary said simply: ÔI am the pilot!Õ Unconvinced the men searched the aircraft before they realized a young woman had indeed flown the bomber all by herself. After the war she accepted a secondment to the RAF, being chosen as one of the first pilots, and one of only three women, to take the controls of the new Meteor fast jet. By 1950 the farmer's daughter from Oxfordshire with a natural instinct to fly became Europe's first female air commandant. In this authorized biography the woman who says she kept in the background during her ATA years and left all the glamour of publicity to her colleagues, finally reveals all about her action-packed career which spans almost a century of aviation, and her love for the skies which, even in her nineties, never falters. She says: ÔI am passionate for anything fast and furious. I always have been since the age of three and I always knew I would fly. The day I stepped into a Spitfire was a complete joy and it was the most natural thing in the world for me.Õ

The Spitfire Girl: Over and Out

Author: Fenella J. Miller

Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd

ISBN: 1838933468

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 4754


All's fair in love and war for First Officer Ellie as she takes to the skies yet again in the final instalment of Fenella Miller's Spitfire Girl series. 1943, White Waltham. As Italy surrenders and victory looms on the horizon, Ellie's doing what she does best – flying. And this time, she's rising to the sky in four-engined Halifaxes. Determined to keep doing her bit, Ellie's successes in the airfield mount but so do tensions with her new beau, Squadron Leader Jack Reynolds. When Ellie and Jack find their dream home, they discover they've bought more than they bargained for. With a cellar full of secrets, Jack and Ellie must stand united in the face of mystery, war and loss. And as family circumstance threatens to tear them apart, Ellie and Jack are stronger than ever.

The Spitfire Girl in the Skies

Author: Fenella J. Miller

Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd

ISBN: 178854840X

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 393


The second Spitfire Girl novel from bestselling author Fenella J Miller. The ATA training base, Hampshire, 1940. Ellie Simpson is attached to an Air Transport Auxiliary base in Hampshire. Life as an ATA pilot is tough, but despite the long hours and danger, Ellie can think of nowhere she'd rather be. Not only does she love flying, but doing important war work, alongside new-found friends, provides a welcome distraction from worrying about loved ones fighting on the front line. Being an ATA girl is definitely exciting, but as Ellie soon finds out wearing the distinctive blue uniform also means putting her life on the line every time she takes to the skies. It will take friendship and a strength she didn't know she possessed to help her county – and those she loves – to survive. An inspiring story of an incredible girl going above and beyond during World War II.

Christmas with the Spitfire Girls

Author: Jenny Holmes

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1473574773

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 4394


**Don't miss Jenny Holmes's latest wartime series, The Air Raid Girls. Part 3 - The Air Raid Girls: Wartime Brides - is available for pre-order now!** --------------------------------------------- Yorkshire 1944: All they want this year is a truly happy Christmas... The end of the war feels tantalisingly close, but Air Transport Auxiliary girls Bobbie, Viv and Mary have plenty more flights in their beloved Spitfires yet - battling everything from snow to enemy fire on their journeys. Risking their lives doing their bit for their country, this Christmas they're determined to have some festive fun. But as they set about bringing good tidings for all, a stern and mysterious new flyer in the form of Peggy arrives. What secret is Peggy hiding? Mary has a wedding to plan before her fiancé is sent away, then makes a devastating discovery so shameful she can't tell the other girls. Bobbie's beau issues an ultimatum, and Viv is wondering whether she wants a man at all... With the big day around the corner and hope of peace on the horizon, can the girls find joy and love this Christmas after so many years of war? A heart-warming story of friendship, camaraderie and triumph over adversity that fans of Elaine Everest and Nancy Revell will adore. Readers love Jenny Holmes 'A delight to read' 'I highly recommend this book, great job Jenny!' 'Really enjoyed this book cant wait to read the next one' 'Lovely historical drama' 'I love reading these books on life in WW2' 'A book you can't put down'

Spitfire Girls

Author: Carol Gould

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1407070940

Category: Fiction

Page: 624

View: 6248


Top-class pilots were crucial to the survival of Great Britain during the dark days of the Blitz, and playing a vital role in fending off the German attack were the women's section of the Air Transport Auxiliary, a close and dedicated circle of female pilots. In the midst of events that would shape history, these women risked their lives to ferry aircraft day and night from factory to the arena of war, and lasting friendships were born. Together, Edith Allam and her fellow pilots faced Nazi terror, class prejudice, and the forbidden romances of wartime - yet their remarkable strength carried them through. Spitfire Girls evokes all of the drama of this extraordinary period of history, and is a tribute to the heroism of these brave women, without whom the Battle of Britain might never have been won. Truly inspirational, it is the tale of adventure, courage and the relationships that shape all of our lives.

The Spitfire Girls

Author: Jenny Holmes

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 147356042X

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 9555


**Don't miss Jenny Holmes's latest wartime series, The Air Raid Girls. Part 3 - The Air Raid Girls: Wartime Brides - is available for pre-order now!** ---------------------------- 'Anything to Anywhere!' That's the motto of the Air Transport Auxiliary, the brave team of female pilots who fly fighter planes between bases at the height of WWII. Mary is a driver for the ATA and although she yearns to fly a Spitfire, she fears her humble background will hold her back. After all, glamorous Angela is set to be the next 'Atta Girl' on recruitment posters. Bobbie learned to fly in her father's private plane and Jean was taught the queen's English at grammar school before joining the squad. Dedicated and resilient the three girls rule the skies: weathering storms and dodging enemy fire. Mary can only dream of joining them - until she gets the push she needs to overcome her self-doubt. Thrown together, the girls form a tight bond as they face the perils of their job. But they soon find that affairs of the heart can be just as dangerous as attacks from the skies. With all the fear and uncertainty ahead - can their friendship see them through the tests of war? A heart-warming, romantic story of friendship, camaraderie and triumph over adversity that fans of Donna Douglas, Nancy Revell and Call the Midwife will adore. ---------------------------- Readers love Jenny Holmes: 'There wasn't anything I didn't like about this book' 5 star review 'I couldn't put this book down' 5 star review 'Loved the whole story' 5 star review 'This is a totally absorbing book' 5 star review 'An excellent read put together in fine style' 5 star review

The Spitfire Girls Fly for Victory

Author: Jenny Holmes

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1473560438

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 3403


**Don't miss Jenny Holmes's latest wartime series, The Air Raid Girls. Part 3 - The Air Raid Girls: Wartime Brides - is available for pre-order now!** ---------------------------- Planes to deliver. A war to be won. Bobbie Fraser, Mary Holland and Jean Thornton are Atta Girls - part of the Air Transport Auxiliary team flying planes between bases. Taking to the air in anything they're given, their work is dangerous but their courage always comes through. Now there's a new girl joining the ranks - Canadian Viv Robertson, who is bright, brash and brave. But can Viv settle into her new home with the other girls? And when life on the ground leaves them as vulnerable as in the air, can they stick together through the tough times ahead and ultimately fly to victory? A heart-warming, romantic story of friendship, camaraderie and triumph over adversity that fans of Donna Douglas, Nancy Revell and Elaine Everest will adore. ---------------------------- Readers love Jenny Holmes 'A delight to read' 'I highly recommend this book, great job Jenny!' 'Really enjoyed this book cant wait to read the next one' 'Lovely historical drama' 'I love reading these books on life in WW2' 'A book you can't put down'

The East End Girl in Blue

Author: Fenella J. Miller

Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd

ISBN: 1838933484

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 4815


As World War Two rages on around her, one girl in blue's life is about to change forever...