The Amazing Mrs Livesey

Author: Freda Marnie Nicholls

Publisher: Allen & Unwin

ISBN: 1952533287

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 320

View: 9202


Ethel Livesey was quite a gal. An attractive young woman from a respectable middle-class family in Manchester, she had over 40 aliases, eight official marriages, four children and five divorces. Her story stretches from industrial England to the French Riviera, from Ireland to New York, Shanghai, New Zealand, the Isle of Man and across Australia. Ethel claimed she was a cotton heiress, wartime nurse, casino hostess, stowaway, artist, opera singer, gambler, spy, close friend of the King, air raid warden, charity queen and even wife of Australian test cricketer Jack Fingleton. When her career imploded (with the abandonment of her glittering society marriage in post-war Sydney just two hours before the guests were due to arrive), the story of the Amazing Mrs Livesey was blazoned across newspapers around the world. But what was fact and what was fiction? With a prologue by Ethel Livesey's granddaughter, this extraordinary and constantly surprising story of the woman who was possibly Australia's greatest fraudster is told for the first time in rich and fascinating detail.

A Castle of Dreams

Author: Barbara Cartland

Publisher: Barbara Cartland Ebooks Ltd

ISBN: 1908411074

Category: Fiction

Page: 140

View: 1191


Can money buy you happiness? Impoverished Lady Viola and her twin brother David Northcombe find that their fortunes change dramatically when their entrepreneurial father dies unexpectedly, leaving them a vast fortune that will change their lives forever. Returning home to England, still reeling from their dramatic change in circumstances, fate seems to have smiled on them when the handsome, but impoverished, Duke of Glentorran dramatically rescues them from the perils of the sea off the coast of Scotland. Loyal to his family and friends, the Duke has little left but his pride and his determination to live up to his responsibilities to the people of Glentorran. In moments Viola and the Duke realise that they have met before, and the spark previously lit between them is still alive. Eager to be loved for herself and keen to test rumours that the Duke is nothing more than a fortune hunter, Viola begs her brother to keep their inheritance secret, leading the Duke to believe that their finances are similarly dire. Having spun a web of deceit that becomes hard to unravel, Viola soon finds herself plunged into a state of despair - desperate to keep the Duke's friendship and respect, but wishing to tell the truth, which could mean losing him. And amongst the faded glories of the Glentorran Castle estate it seems that love is in the air as David finds himself falling for Meg, the Duke's shy and pretty sister. As they grow closer his loyalties become increasingly divided. Should he keep his newly found wealth a secret from the woman he loves, to please his sister? Or should he risk damaging Viola's budding relationship with the Duke by telling the truth? Love, friendship and trust are tested to the limits as the young lovers battle with their consciences, sense of duty and the promise of eternal happiness. If you like Downton Abbey you will love Barbara Cartland

Australia's Sweetheart

Author: Michael Adams

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0733640303

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 416

View: 6501


This is the fascinating story of Mary Maguire, a 1930s Australian ingenue who sailed for Hollywood and a fabulous life, only to have her career cut short by scandal and tragedy. Packed with celebrity, history and gossip, AUSTRALIA'S SWEETHEART is perfect for readers of SHEILA and THE RIVIERA SET. Mary Maguire was Australia's first teenage movie star and she captivated Hollywood in the mid 1930s. Mary lived on three continents and was celebrated in Melbourne, Brisbane, Sydney, Los Angeles and London. Her life was lived in parallel with seminal incidents of the twentieth century: the Spanish Flu; the Great Depression; the Bodyline series; Australia's early radio, talkies and aviation; Hollywood's Golden Era; the British aristocracy's embrace of European fascism; London's Blitz; and post-war American culture and politics. Mary knew everyone, from Douglas Jardine, Don Bradman, Errol Flynn and Ronald Reagan, to William Randolph Hearst, Maureen O'Sullivan, Judy Garland and Queen Elizabeth II. AUSTRALIA'S SWEETHEART in an irresistible never-before-told story that captures the glamour of Hollywood and the turbulent times of the twentieth century, with a young woman at its centre. If you loved THE AMAZING MRS LIVESEY, Robert Wainwright's SHEILA and MISS MURIEL MATTERS, you will adore AUSTRALIA'S SWEETHEART.

Love, Sweat and Tears

Author: Zelie Bullen,Freda Marnie Nicholls

Publisher: Allen & Unwin

ISBN: 1743311516

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 336

View: 520


Written by Zelie Bullen with her sister Freda Nicholls, Love, Sweat & Tears is the inspiring true story of a young woman who overcame an underprivileged childhood, personal tragedy and depression to work as a stunt woman and then as one of the top animal trainers in the movie industry. Zelie's love of animals and their affection for her has kept her going during even her darkest moments, and ultimately this led her to the man she loves and to the amazing life she now leads. Step inside Zelie's extraordinary world where she has worked with everyone from Princess Zahra, the Aga Khan's daughter, to Antonio Banderas, to the piglets in Babe and the war horse in Stephen Spielberg's epic film, War Horse.

The New Age

Author: Arthur Moore

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 320

View: 8966


Scandal, Salvation and Suffrage

Author: Ros Black

Publisher: Troubador Publishing Ltd

ISBN: 1784621706

Category: History

Page: 160

View: 8401


The truth behind the amazing work of the women of the temperance movement. In a time when women had no vote, their temperance work made the voices of many heard and their actions count. Exploring a forgotten but vital element of women’s history, Scandal, Salvation and Suffrage demonstrates how closely the temperance campaign was linked to the fight for suffrage. Told through the true stories of real women, we see how they rose above their status as ‘the weaker sex’ to campaign for restrictions on the sale of alcohol, having recognised that many social problems were caused by excessive drinking – an issue still prevalent today. Some women were admirable but not likeable, while others were more radical and ahead of their time. Sex, slander and scandal all feature in their stories. This book leaves the reader to decide whether there are any lessons to be learned today from the work of these remarkable women and encourages us to remember their hard work and determination. Based on considerable research but written in an accessible way, Scandal, Salvation and Suffrage aims to celebrate the work of these extraordinary women and will appeal to those who enjoy social and women’s history. It is not aimed at totallers; readers can – and should – raise a toast to these extraordinary women.

Farriers' Lane (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 13)

Author: Anne Perry

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1472218132

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 4800


A fresh case rakes up the past, with shocking revelations... With resentment at every turn, Inspector Pitt tries to untangle one of his most convoluted cases to date in Anne Perry's gripping mystery, Farriers' Lane. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Harriet Smart. 'With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context' - Publishers Weekly The distinguished Justice Stafford's shocking death from opium poisoning resurrects one of the most sensational cases ever to inflame England: the murder five years before of Kingsley Blaine, whose body was found crucified in Farriers' Lane. Amid the public hysteria for revenge, the police had arrested a Jewish actor who was soon condemned to hang. Police Inspector Thomas Pitt, investigating Stafford's death, is drawn into the Farriers' Lane murder as well, for it appears that Stafford may have been about to reopen the case. Pitt receives curiously little help from his colleagues on the force, but his wife, Charlotte, gleans from her social engagements startling insights into both cases. And slowly both Thomas and Charlotte begin to reach for the same sinister and deeply dangerous truth. What readers are saying about Farriers' Lane: 'Lovers of a good 'whodunit' will not be disappointed with the twists and turns of the plot, neither will readers who like to bond with their literary heroes as Thomas and Charlotte Pitt are a very likeable duo who complement each other perfectly' 'The atmosphere of turn of the century London is so absorbing and tangible that you can almost feel yourself shrouded in a cold blanket of East End fog and hear the Hansom carriages clatter along the streets' 'Every book is enthralling'

The London Stage 1930-1939

Author: J. P. Wearing

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN: 0810893045

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 1134

View: 5966


This is a day-by-day calendar of plays produced at the major London theatres from January 1, 1930 to December 31, 1939. Covering dozens of west-end theatres and including production details of thousands of plays, operas, and ballets, this revised edition provides expanded or new information about authors, actors, plots, reviews, and more.

Outback Teacher

Author: Freda Nicholls

Publisher: Allen & Unwin

ISBN: 1761064258

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 304

View: 4719


A charming story of a young woman who faces challenges and finds joy teaching in outback schools. The year is 1956. Sally Gare is twenty. She's just out of teachers' college, and has been sent to work at a two-teacher school more than 3000 kilometres from Perth. With the head teacher away, she starts out alone with a class of forty-five Aboriginal children, ranging in age from five years to thirteen. Thus begins the career of a remarkable teacher and a life-changing adventure in remote Australia. Outback Teacher is the story of the challenges and delights of teaching in outback schools in the 1950s and 1960s. Sally's interaction with her students and the local Aboriginal communities is affectionate and heart-warming, although it isn't without its misunderstandings. But the tensions aren't just confined to the school and the local community. Some of the characters with whom Sally shares her less than comfortable housing are as eccentric and as curiously interesting as any escapee to the outback. Full of warmth, humour and kindness, this generous book reminds us how bush people have always found their own solutions to the problems isolation throws at them. But most importantly, and in the most personal way, it confirms how inspiring and passionate teachers can change lives.

Back of Beyond

Author: Freda Marnie Nicholls

Publisher: Allen & Unwin

ISBN: 1743317166

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 336

View: 6942


Hugh Tindall is an ordinary man who has lived through extraordinary times in outback Queensland. From a poor man's selection on the Diamantina in 1928 to owning six large stations with his family, from shearing his first 100 sheep a day at the age of sixteen to organising sheds in the long running 1956 shearer's strike, Hugh's story is part of a turbulent time in the outback, whose history he is passionate about. Told in his own voice, it is an honest account of life in isolated western and central Queensland, where the tough survived or died.