The Anatomist's Apprentice

Author: Tessa Harris

Publisher: Kensington Books

ISBN: 0758278020

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 530


In this eighteenth-century historical mystery series opener, an English lady looks to an American anatomist’s forensic skills to clear her husband’s name. The death of Sir Edward Crick has unleashed a torrent of gossip through the seedy taverns and elegant ballrooms of Oxfordshire. Few mourn the dissolute young man—except his sister, the beautiful Lady Lydia Farrell. When her husband comes under suspicion of murder, she seeks expert help from Dr. Thomas Silkstone, a young anatomist from Philadelphia. Thomas arrived in England to study under its foremost surgeon, where his unconventional methods only add to his outsider status. Against his better judgment he agrees to examine Sir Edward’s corpse. But it is not only the dead, but also the living, to whom he must apply the keen blade of his intellect. And the deeper the doctor’s investigations go, the greater the risk that he will be consigned to the ranks of the corpses he studies . . . Praise for The Anatomist’s Apprentice “Smart misdirection and time-period appropriate medical details make for a promising start to a new series. A strong choice for readers of Ariana Franklin and Caleb Carr.” —Library Journal “Densely plotted . . . We await—indeed, demand—the sequel.” —The New York Times Book Review “An absorbing debut . . . Harris has more than a few tricks up her sleeve and even veteran armchair puzzle solvers are likely to be surprised.” —Publishers Weekly

The Anatomist's Wife

Author: Anna Lee Huber

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101612320

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 5013


THE FIRST LADY DARBY MYSTERY “A riveting debut…an original premise, an enigmatic heroine, and a compelling Highland setting…a book you won’t want to put down.”—New York Times bestselling author Deanna Raybourn Scotland, 1830. Following the death of her husband, Lady Darby has taken refuge at her sister’s estate, finding solace in her passion for painting. But when her hosts throw a house party for the cream of London society, Kiera is unable to hide from the ire of those who believe her to be as unnatural as her husband, an anatomist who used her artistic talents to suit his own macabre purposes. Kiera wants to put her past aside, but when one of the house guests is murdered, her brother-in-law asks her to utilize her knowledge of human anatomy to aid the insufferable Sebastian Gage—a fellow guest with some experience as an inquiry agent. While Gage is clearly more competent than she first assumed, Kiera isn’t about to let her guard down as accusations and rumors swirl. When Kiera and Gage’s search leads them to even more gruesome discoveries, a series of disturbing notes urges Lady Darby to give up the inquiry. But Kiera is determined to both protect her family and prove her innocence, even as she risks becoming the next victim…