The Anatomy Of Motive

Author: John Douglas

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1471108376

Category: True Crime

Page: 320

View: 1841


Legendary FBI profiling pioneer John Douglas's theory is that once you figure out the motivating force driving a perpetrator, you've got a good chance of cracking the case. In THE ANATOMY OF MOTIVE he uses cases from his own career to illustrate his argument. He takes us further than ever before into the dark corners of the minds of arsonists, hijackers, serial and spree killers and mass murderers. THE ANATOMY OF MOTIVE analyses such diverse killers as Lee Harvey Oswald and Timothy McVeigh - and helps us learn to anticipate potential violent behaviour before it's too late.

The Anatomy of Tort Law

Author: Peter Cane

Publisher: Hart Publishing

ISBN: 1901362094

Category: Law

Page: 243

View: 8245


No Marketing Blurb

The Anatomy of Achievement Motivation

Author: Heinz Heckhausen

Publisher: Academic Press

ISBN: 1483271722

Category: Psychology

Page: 236

View: 1815


The Anatomy of Achievement Motivation focuses on the study of individual differences in motivations, including the determinants of specific motives and methods of assessing motive strength. The book first offers information on content analysis and evaluative dispositions, as well as the theory of thematic apperception method, experimental method, and sociocultural frames of references and their change over historical time. The manuscript then highlights the important dimensions of experience and conflict. The publication takes a look at the general structure of goals and performance and valence and motive arousal, including psychic distance and discrepancy between a present and a future state. The book then examines goal setting and level of aspiration, performance period, and the origin and development of achievement motivation. The manuscript is a dependable reference for psychologists and readers interested in the facets of achievement motivation.

The Anatomy of Madness

Author: William F. Bynum,Roy Porter,Michael Shepherd

Publisher: Taylor & Francis

ISBN: 9780415323840

Category: Psychiatric hospitals

Page: 283

View: 2451


The Anatomy of Swearing

Author: Ashley Montagu

Publisher: University of Pennsylvania Press

ISBN: 9780812217643

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 370

View: 5032


"A pioneering work."--Steven Smith, University of Essex

The Anatomy of Criticism

Author: Henry Hazlitt

Publisher: Ludwig von Mises Institute

ISBN: 1610160231

Category:

Page: 303

View: 9990


When Henry Hazlitt published this exceedingly rare book, he was finishing up a three-year position at The Nation as literary critic, and preparing to accept the position as H.L. Mencken's successor at American Mercury. He was struggling with integrating his two main interests: literary criticism and economics. In economics, value is subjective, whereas the key goal in literary criticism is the discovery of something approximating objective value. The text of this book reflects that struggle in the form of a trialogue. Hazlitt has his characters debate the question of literary value, and pushes forward the proposition that the value of literature is discerned and revealed through the operation of the "social mind." So he ends up rejecting relativism while avoiding mistakes in economic theory. A fascinating study, brilliantly conceived and rendered by a master. As an extra bonus here, Hazlitt offers a postscript on the rise of Marxism in literary criticism. He shows how preposterous it is for Marxism to reject the main corpus of Western litertaure as hopelessly bourgeois, even while Marx himself read all the great works in his leisure. This is a highly significant essay becuase it was probably the first attack on Marxist literary deconstructionism ever written!

The Anatomy of Inquiry (Routledge Revivals)

Author: Israel Scheffler

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1317810864

Category: Philosophy

Page: 339

View: 7569


First published in 1963, this title considers the philosophical problems encountered when attempting to provide a clear and general explanation of scientific principles, and the basic confrontation between such principles and experience. Beginning with a detailed introduction that considers various approaches to the philosophy and theory of science, Israel Scheffler then divides his study into three key sections – Explanation, Significance and Confirmation – that explore how these complex issues involved have been dealt with in contemporary research. This title, by one of America’s leading philosophers, will provide a valuable analysis of the theory and problems surrounding the Philosophy of Science.

The Anatomy of Psychotherapy

Author: Lawrence Friedman

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 113487717X

Category: Psychology

Page: 616

View: 7935


Over the past decades, Lawrence Friedman has emerged as one of the most erudite and provocative theoriss in contemporary psychotherapy. The Anatomy of Psychotherapy interweaves Friedman's major contributions to the analytic and psychiatric literature with extensive new material in arriving at an extraordinarily rich and nuanced appreciation of psychotherapy. The Anatomy of Psychotherapy describes how the therapist makes use of theories and styles in order to achieve equilibrium under stress. This stress, according to Friedman, is related to the "absolute ambiguity" that is essential to psychotherapy. To cope with this ambiguity, the therapist alternates among three different roles, those of reader, historian, and pragmatic operator. Friedman examines these "disambiguating postures" in detail, paying special attention to their bearing on the therapist's narrative prejudice, the relativity of his knowledge, and the relationship of his work to natural science and hermeneutics. Brilliantly constructed and masterfully written, The Anatomy of Psychotherapy traverses the same basic themes in each of its six sections. Readers who are interested in theory can hone in on relevant topics or the work of particular theorists. Readers seeking insight into the demands of daily clinical work, on the other hand, can bypass the systematic studies and immerse themselves in Friedman's engrossing reflections on the experience of psychotherapy. Best served will be those who ponder Friedman's writings and therapy as complementary meditations issuing from a single, unifying vision, one in which psychotherapy, in both its promise and frustrations, becomes a subtle interplay among theories about psychotherapy, the personal styles of psychotherapists, and the practical exigencies of aiding those in distress.

The Anatomy of Desire

Author: L.R. Dorn

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1398705195

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 3892


'A fascinating courtroom drama' Daily Mail 'Reads like your favorite podcast, the hit crime doc you'll want to binge' Josh Malerman, New York Times bestselling author of Bird Box 'A riveting courtroom drama' Morning Star AMBITION. DESIRE. BETRAYAL. MURDER? With followers numbering in the hundreds of thousands, a glamorous circle of friends, and a famous boyfriend, the life that fitness influencer Cleo Ray has always wanted is within her grasp. Then, just before joining her friends for a holiday in the mountains, Cleo and a young woman named Rebecca set off in a canoe on a deserted lake. An hour later, Rebecca is found dead in the water and Cleo has gone missing. When word gets out, Cleo is going viral, but for all the wrong reasons. Who was the girl in the canoe? And did Cleo have anything to do with her death? If Cleo is innocent, why did she try to run? Charged with murder, this social media influencer's biggest platform is no longer Instagram, it's the witness stand... Told in the form of a true crime documentary, The Anatomy of Desire is a gripping and original psych suspense novel for the social media era - perfect for fans of You, Good Me Bad Me and the hit podcast Serial.