The Bookshop That Floated Away

Author: Sarah Henshaw

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1472109392

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 272

View: 9877


In early 2009 a strange sort of business plan landed on the desk of a pinstriped bank manager. It had pictures of rats and moles in rowing boats and archaic quotes about Cleopatra's barge. It asked for a £30,000 loan to buy a black-and-cream narrowboat and a small hoard of books. The manager said no. Nevertheless The Book Barge opened six months later and enjoyed the happy patronage of local readers, a growing number of eccentrics and the odd moorhen. Business wasn't always easy, so one May morning owner Sarah Henshaw set off for six months chugging the length and breadth of the country. Books were bartered for food, accommodation, bathroom facilities and cake. During the journey, the barge suffered a flooded engine, went out to sea, got banned from Bristol and, on several occasions, floated away altogether. This account follows the ebbs and flows of Sarah's journey as she sought to make her vision of a floating bookshop a reality.

The Bookshop Book

Author: Jen Campbell

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1472116704

Category: Humor

Page: 288

View: 6025


Every bookshop has a story We're not talking about rooms that are just full of books. We're talking about bookshops in barns, disused factories, converted churches and underground car parks. Bookshops on boats, on buses, and in old run-down train stations. Fold-out bookshops, undercover bookshops, this-is-the-best-place-I've-ever-been-to-bookshops. Meet Sarah and her Book Barge sailing across the sea to France; meet Sebastien, in Mongolia, who sells books to herders of the Altai mountains; meet the bookshop in Canada that's invented the world's first antiquarian book vending machine. And that's just the beginning. From the oldest bookshop in the world, to the smallest you could imagine, The Bookshop Book examines the history of books, talks to authors about their favourite places, and looks at over three hundred weirdly wonderful bookshops across six continents (sadly, we've yet to build a bookshop down in the South Pole). The Bookshop Book is a love letter to bookshops all around the world. 'A good bookshop is not just about selling books from shelves, but reaching out into the world and making a difference' David Almond (The Bookshop Book includes interviews and quotes from David Almond, Ian Rankin, Tracy Chevalier, Audrey Niffenegger, Jacqueline Wilson, Jeanette Winterson and many, many others.)

Fantasies of the Bookstore

Author: Eben J. Muse

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 1108570542

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 139

View: 4624


This Element surveys the place of the bookstore in the creative imagination (the fantasies of the bookstore) through a study of novels in which bookstores play a prominent role in the setting or plot. Nearly 500 'bookstore novels' published since the first in 1917 have been identified. The study borrows the concept of 'meaningful locations' from the field of human geography to assess fictional bookstores as narrative events rather than static backgrounds. As a meaningful location, the bookstore creates the potential for events that can occur both within the place of the store and in the wider space within which it functions. Elements of the narrative space include its spatio-temporal location, its locale or composition, and the events which these elements generate to define the bookstore's sense of place.

The Bookshop of Secrets

Author: Mollie Rushmeyer

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 0369719972

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 1751


A collection of lost books holds the clues to her family's legacy…and her future. Hope Sparrow has mastered the art of outrunning her tragic past, learning never to stay anywhere too long and never to allow anyone control over her life again. Coming to Wanishin Falls in search of her family's history already feels too risky. But somewhere in the towering stacks of this dusty old bookshop are the books that hold Hope's last ties to her late mother—and to a rumored family treasure that could help her start over. Only, the bookshop is in shambles, and the elderly owner is in the beginning stages of dementia and can’t remember where the books lie. To find the last links to the loved ones she's lost, Hope must stay and accept help from the townsfolk to locate the treasured volumes. Each secret she uncovers brings her closer to understanding where she came from. But the longer she stays in the quaint town, the more people find their way into the cracks in her heart. And letting them in may be the greatest risk of all…

The Bookshop on the Corner

Author: Jenny Colgan

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0751553948

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 6418


*previously published as THE LITTLE SHOP OF HAPPY EVER AFTER* Nobody does cosy, get-away-from-it-all romance like Jenny Colgan' Sunday Express In the Scottish Highlands, a little bus packed with books brings joy to the road . . . 'A total joy' Sophie Kinsella 'An evocative, sweet treat' Jojo Moyes 'Gorgeous, glorious, uplifting' Marian Keyes 'Irresistible' Jill Mansell 'Just lovely' Katie Fforde 'Naturally funny, warm-hearted' Lisa Jewell 'A gobble-it-all-up-in-one-sitting kind of book' Mike Gayle ___________________________________ Nina is a librarian who spends her days happily matchmaking books and people - she always knows what someone should read next. But when her beloved library closes and she's suddenly out of a job, Nina has no idea what to do next. Then an advert catches her eye: she could be the owner of a tiny little bookshop bus, driving around the Scottish highlands. Using up all her courage, and her savings, Nina makes a new start in the beautiful Scottish highlands. But real life is a bit trickier than the stories she loves - especially when she keeps having to be rescued by the grumpy-but-gorgeous farmer next door... Dreams start here . . . ___________________________________ Why readers ADORE Jenny Colgan 'Jenny Colgan has a way of writing that makes me melt inside' 'Her books are so good I want to start over as soon as I have finished' 'There's something so engaging about her characters and plots' 'Her books are like a big, warm blanket' 'Her stories are just so fabulous' 'She brings her settings and characters so vividly to life' 'The woman is just magic'

The Bookshop of the Broken Hearted

Author: Robert Hillman

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0525535934

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 2643


Can one unlikely bookshop heal two broken souls? "Beautifully written . . . Full of insight into the nature of tragedy, love, and redemption."--Garth Stein "A poignant journey of unthinkable loss, love, and the healing capacity of the written word."--Ellen Keith It is 1968 in rural Australia and lonely Tom Hope can't make heads or tails of Hannah Babel. Newly arrived from Hungary, Hannah is unlike anyone he's ever met--she's passionate, artistic, and fiercely determined to open sleepy Hometown's first bookshop. Despite the fact that Tom has only read only one book in his life, the two soon discover an astonishing spark. Recently abandoned by an unfaithful wife--and still missing her sweet son, Peter--Tom dares to believe that he might make Hannah happy. But Hannah is a haunted woman. Twenty-four years earlier, she had been marched to the gates of Auschwitz. Perfect for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Bookshop of the Broken Hearted cherishes the power of love, literature, and forgiveness to transform our lives, and--if we dare allow them--to mend our broken hearts.

The Liveaboard Guide

Author: Tony Jones

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1472963695

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 208

View: 4054


The romantic dream of downsizing, giving up the rat race, and living life at 4mph on the inland waterways is proving more and more attractive. But for tens of thousands of people it is not just a romantic dream but an actual lifestyle. Tony Jones is one of those people. He has lived aboard his 50ft narrowboat for over 14 years and in this very practical book he documents what the liveaboard lifestyle is really like, focusing on the practical issues of day to day living for those who want to know what living on a boat actually entails, to see how to manage it for themselves. Topics covered include: · the pros, cons and costs of a residential mooring · power usage and energy consumption (and how it differs from a house) · how to stay warm - the choice of coal, electric, gas or wood heating · boat loos - the pros and cons, and troubleshooting typical problems · entertainment - TV, radio, internet, DVDs · logistical problems - no postal address, GP access, vehicle access or use This second edition has been comprehensively revised to include updated or new information on costs (moorings, license, insurances etc), license fees for different types of craft, composting toilets and ecological living in general, living aboard in London and other cities (suddenly very popular), postal services, boat stretching, butty boats, and so on, as well as more anecdotes and profile stories about liveaboard life. The aim of this book is to feed people's dreams by showing that every possible problem that could arise when living on a boat has a tried and tested solution. The dream is perfectly possible, and this book is the complete practical guide to achieving it.

The Narrowboat Guide

Author: Tony Jones

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1408188031

Category: Transportation

Page: 224

View: 7091


The UK has over 1000 miles of navigable canals and rivers which are home to an estimated over 70,000 boats. To the untrained eye canal boats can look much the same, but there are some very important distinctions and a new buyer has some very important choices to make. This book discusses those choices, taking into consideration the various boating profiles. From those choosing to live on board permanently, to constant cruisers, and weekend boaters to fair-weather cruisers, each will require a different type of boat if they are to fully enjoy their new vessel. The book covers finding and buying a boat, the legalities of purchase, the different features and utilities, finding a mooring, boating health and safety, the cost of boating, boat maintenance, boating etiquette and many other frequently asked questions.

Magic Ahoy!

Author: Caroline Carlson

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 0857078305

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 336

View: 3925


'There is at least one laugh per page' New York Times Hilary Westfield is a pirate. She's daring, brave, fearless, and . . . in a rut. Maybe she hasn't found any treasure lately. And maybe she isn't fighting off as many scallywags as she'd like. But does that mean she and her loyal crew deserve to be kicked out of the ranks of the Very Nearly Honourable League of Pirates? There is only one thing to do - find a daring mission worthy of her fearless reputation. Hilary sets sail on a swashbuckling expedition that may or may not involve a kidnapped Enchantress, bumbling inspectors, a mysterious group called the Mutineers, and - most terrifying of all - a High Society ball.