The Bosnia List

Author: Kenan Trebincevic,Susan Shapiro

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101631805

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 336

View: 306


A young survivor of the Bosnian War returns to his homeland to confront the people who betrayed his family. The story behind the YA novel World in Between: Based on a True Refugee Story. At age eleven, Kenan Trebincevic was a happy, karate-loving kid living with his family in the quiet Eastern European town of Brcko. Then, in the spring of 1992, war broke out and his friends, neighbors and teammates all turned on him. Pero - Kenan's beloved karate coach - showed up at his door with an AK-47 - screaming: "You have one hour to leave or be killed!" Kenan’s only crime: he was Muslim. This poignant, searing memoir chronicles Kenan’s miraculous escape from the brutal ethnic cleansing campaign that swept the former Yugoslavia. After two decades in the United States, Kenan honors his father’s wish to visit their homeland, making a list of what he wants to do there. Kenan decides to confront the former next door neighbor who stole from his mother, see the concentration camp where his Dad and brother were imprisoned and stand on the grave of his first betrayer to make sure he’s really dead. Back in the land of his birth, Kenan finds something more powerful—and shocking—than revenge.

International Public Opinion and the Bosnia Crisis

Author: Richard Sobel,Eric Shiraev

Publisher: Lexington Books

ISBN: 0739156578

Category: Political Science

Page: 344

View: 3151


International Public Opinion and the Bosnia Crisis examines—through U.S., Canadian, and European case studies—how public reaction impacted democratic governments' response to the ethnic and religious conflict in Bosnia, 1991-1997.

Humanistic Pedagogy Across the Disciplines

Author: Amy E. Traver,Dan Leshem

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 3319950258

Category: Education

Page: 320

View: 9605


This volume presents insights from five years of intensive Holocaust, genocide, and mass atrocity education at Queensborough Community College (QCC) of the City University of New York (CUNY), USA, to offer four approaches—Arts-Based, Textual, Outcomes-Based, and Social Justice—to designing innovative, integrative, and differentiated pedagogies for today’s college students. The authors cover the theoretical foundations of each approach, and include faculty reflections on the programs, instructional strategies, and student reactions that brought the approaches to life across the disciplines.

The Book Bible

Author: Susan Shapiro

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1510763694

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 224

View: 1034


A Brilliant, Buoyant Guide to Publishing Your Book Hundreds of thousands of books come out every year worldwide. So why not yours? In The Book Bible, New York Times bestseller and wildly popular Manhattan writing professor Susan Shapiro reveals the best and fastest ways to break into a mainstream publishing house. Unlike most writing manuals that stick to only one genre, Shapiro maps out the rules of all the sought-after, sellable categories: novels, memoirs, biography, how-to, essay collections, anthologies, humor, mystery, crime, poetry, picture books, young adult and middle grade, fiction and nonfiction. Shapiro once worried that selling 16 books in varied sub-sections made her a literary dabbler. Yet after helping her students publish many award-winning bestsellers on all shelves of the bookstore, she realized that her versatility had a huge upside. She could explain, from personal experience, the differences in making each kind of book, as well as ways to find the right genre for every project and how to craft a winning proposal or great cover letter to get a top agent and book editor to say yes. This valuable guide will teach both new and experienced scribes how to attain their dream of becoming a successful author.

Country of Red Azaleas

Author: Domnica Radulescu

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1455590436

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 6063


A riveting novel about two women--one Serbian, one Bosnian--whose deep friendship spans decades and continents, war and peace, love and estrangement, in the vein of Elena Ferrante and Julia Alvarez. From the moment Marija walks into Lara's classroom, freshly moved to Serbia from Sarajevo, Lara is enchanted by her vibrant beauty, confidence, and wild energy--and knows that the two are destined to be lifelong friends. Closer than sisters, the girls share everything, from stolen fruit and Hollywood movies as girls to philosophies and even lovers as young women. But when the Bosnian War pits their homelands against each other in a bloodbath, Lara and Marija are forced to separate for the first time: romantic Lara heads to America with her Hollywood-handsome new husband, and fierce Marija returns to her native Sarajevo to combat the war through journalism behind Bosnian lines. In America, Lara seeks fulfillment through work and family, but when news from Marija ceases, the uncertainty torments Lara, driving her on a quest to find her friend. As Lara travels through war-torn Serbia and Bosnia, following clues that may yet lead to the flesh-and-blood Marija, she must also wrestle with truths about her own identity. Told in lush, vivid prose, Country of Red Azaleas is a poignant testament to both the power of friendship and our ability to find meaning and beauty in the face of devastation.

The Unknown Europe

Author: James R. Payton

Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

ISBN: 166670475X

Category: History

Page: 324

View: 6065


The fascinating history of Eastern Europe includes highs of soaring cultural achievement and lows of almost unimaginable repression. But we in the West don’t know much about Eastern Europe or its history—this book helps us see why. We got interested when the region became a threat during the Cold War, but what we learned focused on the Communist period after World War II—not Eastern Europe itself or its deep history, a history that continues to live in the hearts of its peoples. James Payton offers an accessible treatment of the history of the region, an opportunity to learn about Eastern Europeans as they are. He overviews that story from pre-history to the present, examining eleven turning points that profoundly shaped Eastern European history. His treatment considers the backgrounds to the turning points, the events, and the long-lasting impacts they had for the various Eastern European nations. This helps us understand how Eastern Europeans themselves see their history—the “long haul” over the centuries, with the influence and impact of events of the sometimes-distant past shaping how they see themselves, their neighbors, and their place in the world.

Communism in Eastern Europe

Author: Melissa Feinberg

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1000518337

Category: History

Page: 240

View: 8155


Communism in Eastern Europe is a ground-breaking new survey of the history of Eastern Europe since 1945. It examines how Communist governments came to Eastern Europe, how they changed their societies and the legacies that persisted after their fall. Written from the perspective of the 21st century, this book shows how Eastern Europe’s trajectory since 1989 fits into the longer history of its Communist past. Rather than focusing on high politics, Communism in Eastern Europe concentrates on the politics of daily life, melding political history with social, cultural and gender history. It tells the history of this complicated era through the voices and experiences of ordinary people. By focusing on the complex interactions of everyday life, Communism in Eastern Europe illuminates the world Communism made in Eastern Europe, its politics and culture, values and dreams, successes and failures. This book is an engaging introduction to the history of Communist Eastern Europe for any reader. It is ideal for adoption in a wide array of undergraduate and graduate courses in 20th century European history.

The Thing I'm Most Afraid Of

Author: Kristin Levine

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0525518657

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 352

View: 5753


A new middle-grade tale from critically acclaimed, award-winning author Kristin Levine about facing your fears, set in Vienna during the Bosnian genocide. Most twelve-year-olds would be excited to fly to Austria to see their dad for the summer but then Becca is not most twelve-year-olds. Suffering from severe anxiety, she fears that the metal detectors at the airport will give her cancer and the long international flight will leave her with blood clots. Luckily, she's packed her Doomsday Journal, the one thing that always seems to help. By writing down her fears and what to do if the worst happens, Becca can get by without (many) panic attacks. Routines and plans help Becca cope but living in a new country is full of the unexpected--including Becca's companions for the summer. Like Felix, the short and bookish son of Becca's dad's new girlfriend. Or Sara, the nineteen-year-old Bosnian refugee tasked with watching the two of them for the summer. As Becca explores Vienna and becomes close to her new friends, she soon learns she is not alone in her fears. What matters most is what you do when faced with them.

Our Summer Together

Author: Fanny Blake

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1409159930

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 9980


An uplifting story about family, friendship and the happy surprise of finding love later in life. 'Move over Joanna Trollope, Fanny Blake has arrived' Veronica Henry Caro knows how to be a mother - advising her grown-up daughters on career and relationship worries. She knows how to be a grandmother - enjoying the hectic energy of her three-year-old grandson. She knows how to be a daughter - helping her aging mother retain her independence. She thought she knew everything about being a wife, but when her husband suddenly leaves her for another woman, everything is thrown in the air. So, when a chance meeting introduces her to Damir - younger, intriguing and attentive - she realises that opening up to a man so different from everyone else in her life, might also mean getting to know who she really is... Your favourite authors love Fanny Blake: 'Fanny Blake has the gift of creating wonderful page turners from very domestic situations; and then making them warm and funny as well' Penny Vincenzi 'I love the way Fanny Blake proves that women just become more and more fascinating' Adele Parks 'I love that she writes about women our age, and the painful and wise truths we know' Marian Keyes