The Brendan Voyage

Author: Tim Severin

Publisher: Gill Books

ISBN: N.A

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 267

View: 3386


In an extraordinary attempt to recreate St Brendan's journey to America, Tim Severin and his crew embarked on an epic voyage across the vast North Atlantic. Brilliantly written, this is their story.

The Brendan Voyage

Author: Timothy Severin

Publisher: Arrow

ISBN: 9780099324102

Category: America

Page: 291

View: 8632


Brendan's Return Voyage: A New American Dream

Author: Ray Simpson

Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

ISBN: 1725292092

Category: Religion

Page: 126

View: 2242


A myth is reviving in the USA, which recent research validates, that Saint Brendan voyaged over three thousand miles from Ireland to America to evangelize it, but when the Indians near the Mississippi welcomed him, he realized Jesus was already there. In humility he returned home. In contrast, USA missions have taken a colonial approach to evangelizing Native American tribes, requiring converts to rubbish their culture and accept white culture as Christian. This book discerns the Creator’s imprints in indigenous tribes. It identifies some fault-lines in USA (and Western) society and church, e.g., white supremacy, manifest destiny, and the twin towers of empire-building and separatism. Churches need to repent of these false gods. They need to break free from the prison of consumerism and become open to the prophetic spirit. The book also explores the Creator’s imprints in white American culture, and the Christian spirituality of the Euro-Americans’ “indigenous” forbears, the Celts. The book outlines ways in which, in these fading decades of Western supremacy, and despite polarization, indigenous, settler, and immigrant peoples may journey together as modern followers of the Way. Those who rise to this challenge undertake a new Brendan’s Voyage and create a new American dream.

The Legend of St. Brendan

Author: Jude S. Mackley

Publisher: BRILL

ISBN: 9004166629

Category: History

Page: 367

View: 8949


"The Legend of St Brendan" is a study of two accounts of a voyage undertaken by Brendan, a sixth-century Irish saint. The immense popularity of the Latin version encouraged many vernacular translations, including a twelfth-century Anglo-Norman reworking of the narrative which excises much of the devotional material seen in the ninth-century "Navigatio Sancti Brendani abbatis" and changes the emphasis, leaving a recognisably secular narrative. The vernacular version focuses on marvellous imagery and the trials and tribulations of a long sea-voyage. Together the two versions demonstrate a movement away from hagiography towards adventure. Studies of the two versions rarely discuss the elements of the fantastic. Following a summary of authorship, audiences and sources, this comparative study adopts a structural approach to the two versions of the Brendan narrative. It considers what the fantastic imagery achieves and addresses issues raised with respect to theological parallels.

The Voyage of Saint Brendan

Author: N.A

Publisher: Dufour Editions

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 100

View: 9810


A translation from the Latin of one of the most famous and enduring stories of western Christendom, the Navigatio Sancti Brendani Abbatis, written in Ireland perhaps as early as the year 800. While the routes of St. Brendan's journeys remain a subject of

The Brendan Voyage

Author: Tim Severin

Publisher: Modern Library

ISBN: 9780375755248

Category: History

Page: 0

View: 5988


Could an Irish monk in the sixth century really have sailed all the way across the Atlantic in a small open boat, thus beating Columbus to the New World by almost a thousand years? Relying on the medieval text of St. Brendan, award-winning adventure writer Tim Severin painstakingly researched and built a boat identical to the leather curragh that carried Brendan on his epic voyage. He found a centuries-old, family-run tannery to prepare the ox hides in the medieval way; he undertook an exhaustive search for skilled harness makers (the only people who would know how to stitch the three-quarter-inch-thick hides together); he located one of the last pieces of Irish-grown timber tall enough to make the mainmast. But his courage and resourcefulness were truly tested on the open seas, including one heart-pounding episode when he and his crew repaired a dangerous tear in the leather hull by hanging over the side--their heads sometimes submerged under the freezing waves--to restitch the leather. A modern classic in the tradition of Kon-Tiki, The Brendan Voyage seamlessly blends high adventure and historical relevance. It has been translated into twenty-seven languages since its original publication in 1978. With a new Introduction by Malachy McCourt, author of A Monk Swimming

Pre-Columbian Trans-Oceanic Contact

Author: Jerald Fritzinger

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1329972163

Category: Reference

Page: 320

View: 1482


Pre-Columbian Trans-Oceanic Contact examines the discovery and settlement of The New World hundreds and even thousands of years before Christopher Columbus was born.

Pilgrimage and Literary Tradition

Author: Philip Edwards,King Alfred Professor of English Literature Philip Edwards

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 9780521847629

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 246

View: 9222


An original and wide-ranging study of the pilgrimage theme in literature.

Wayfaring Strangers

Author: Fiona Ritchie,Doug Orr

Publisher: UNC Press Books

ISBN: 1469618230

Category: Music

Page: 384

View: 3094


Throughout the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, a steady stream of Scots migrated to Ulster and eventually onward across the Atlantic to resettle in the United States. Many of these Scots-Irish immigrants made their way into the mountains of the southern Appalachian region. They brought with them a wealth of traditional ballads and tunes from the British Isles and Ireland, a carrying stream that merged with sounds and songs of English, German, Welsh, African American, French, and Cherokee origin. Their enduring legacy of music flows today from Appalachia back to Ireland and Scotland and around the globe. In Wayfaring Strangers, Fiona Ritchie and Doug Orr guide readers on a musical voyage across oceans, linking people and songs through centuries of adaptation and change. From ancient ballads at the heart of the tradition to instruments that express this dynamic music, Ritchie and Orr chronicle the details of an epic journey. Enriched by the insights of key contributors to the living tradition on both sides of the Atlantic, this abundantly illustrated volume includes a CD featuring 20 songs by musicians profiled in the book, including Dolly Parton, Dougie MacLean, Cara Dillon, John Doyle, Pete Seeger, Sheila Kay Adams, Jean Ritchie, Doc Watson, David Holt, Anais Mitchell, Al Petteway, and Amy White. In 2017, noted Scottish musician Phil Cunningham followed this musical migration for the acclaimed BBC tv series "Wayfaring Stranger" to which the authors contributed. In the pages of this book, tv viewers will enjoy re-visiting the people and places they loved on screen.

Thomas Merton and the Celts

Author: Monica R. Weis

Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

ISBN: 1498278442

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 158

View: 5741


Thomas Merton and the Celts offers a new lens through which to view Merton's li fe and spirituality. By examining unpublished letters, notebooks, and taped conferences for the Trappist novices--previously unavailable to the general reader--the author breaks new ground in Merton studies, revealing Merton's growing fascination with his Welsh ancestry, Celtic monasticism, and early Irish hermit poetry. Merton, having immersed himself in reading about Celtic Christianity--not just about liturgy, but about household rituals, illuminated manuscripts, high crosses, and hermit poetry as well--recognized in these ancient hermits who lived on "water and herbs," experienced kinship with creatures, and wrote poems about the birds a mirror of his own desires. Indeed, in a profound way and at a deep level, Merton discovered himself in Celtic Christianity.