The Center Cannot Hold

Author: Professor of Law Psychology and Psychiatry Elyn R Saks

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780316407564

Category: BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY

Page: 211

View: 2043


A memoir of paranoid schizophrenia by an accomplished professor recounts her first symptoms at the age of eight, her efforts to hide the severity of her condition, and the obstacles she has overcome in the course of her treatment and marriage.

The Center Cannot Hold

Author: Elyn R. Saks

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1401389546

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 352

View: 2617


A much-praised memoir of living and surviving mental illness as well as "a stereotype-shattering look at a tenacious woman whose brain is her best friend and her worst enemy" (Time). Elyn R. Saks is an esteemed professor, lawyer, and psychiatrist and is the Orrin B. Evans Professor of Law, Psychology, Psychiatry, and the Behavioral Sciences at the University of Southern California Law School, yet she has suffered from schizophrenia for most of her life, and still has ongoing major episodes of the illness. The Center Cannot Hold is the eloquent, moving story of Elyn's life, from the first time that she heard voices speaking to her as a young teenager, to attempted suicides in college, through learning to live on her own as an adult in an often terrifying world. Saks discusses frankly the paranoia, the inability to tell imaginary fears from real ones, the voices in her head telling her to kill herself (and to harm others), as well as the incredibly difficult obstacles she overcame to become a highly respected professional. This beautifully written memoir is destined to become a classic in its genre.

Beyond Madness

Author: Rachel A. Pruchno

Publisher: JHU Press

ISBN: 1421441446

Category: Psychology

Page: 384

View: 5986


Family members, friends, teachers, police, primary care doctors, and clergy—people who recognize that something is wrong but don't know how to help—will find the book's practical advice invaluable.

Schizo: The Liberatory Potential of Madness

Author: Irina Lyubchenko,Fiona Ann Papps

Publisher: BRILL

ISBN: 1848884605

Category: Social Science

Page: 176

View: 9918


‘Schizo’: The Liberatory Potential of Madness presents an interdisciplinary exploration of the potential of madness as a force for liberation from societies of control.

Writing the Self in Illness

Author: Amala Poli

Publisher: Manipal Universal Press

ISBN: 9388337050

Category: Education

Page: 144

View: 1465


Writing the Self in Illness: Reading the Experiential Through the Medical Memoir is MUP’s refreshing venture into the developing fields of Medical and Health Humanities with an aim to consider the necessity of the narrative knowledge as complementary to the contemporary notions of well-being, illness, and healthcare. Is individual happiness contingent on health and well-being? How does one find happiness in the throes of illness? In the present-day scenario, wherein medical practice is largely dominated by evidence-based understanding, diagnostic language, and problem-solving methods, the discipline of Medical Humanities emerges with a reciprocal dialogue between Humanities, Social Sciences, Health, and Medicine. The study of varied experiential narratives – literary works and unmediated accounts of patients and healthcare professionals, is foregrounded in Medical Humanities to amplify knowledge and understanding about the complexity of encounters with illness and their transformational quality in a nuanced manner. Both thought-provoking and informative, this publication brings about the anecdotal form of personal narratives in the light of medical discourses along with the specific cultural context of the narrative. The present publication seeks to be an important reading for students and academics in the field of medical humanities, health professionals or medical practitioners, as well as scholars aspiring to venture into this flourishing field.

Medical Education in Psychiatry, An Issue of Psychiatric Clinics of North America, E-Book

Author: Robert J. Boland,Hermioni L. Amonoo

Publisher: Elsevier Health Sciences

ISBN: 0323778321

Category: Medical

Page: 240

View: 7377


This issue of Psychiatric Clinics, guest edited by Drs. Robert J. Boland and Hermioni Lokko Amonoo, will discuss a Psychiatric Education and Lifelong Learning. This issue is one of four each year selected by our series consulting editor, Dr. Harsh Trivedi of Sheppard Pratt Health System. Topics in this issue include: Types of Learners, Incorporating cultural sensitivity into education, The Use of Simulation in Teaching, Computer-Based teaching, Creating Successful Presentations, Adapting Teaching to the Clinical Setting, Teaching Psychotherapy, Competency-Based Assessment in Psychiatric Education, Giving feedback, Multiple Choice Tests, The use of narrative techniques in psychiatry, Fostering Careers in Psychiatric Education, Neuroscience Education: Making it relevant to psychiatric training, Lifelong learning in psychiatry and the role of certification, and Advancing Workplace-Based Assessment in Psychiatric Education: Key Design and Implementation Issues.

Reader's Block

Author: Matthew Rubery

Publisher: Stanford University Press

ISBN: 150363342X

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 359

View: 7421


What does the term "reading" mean? Matthew Rubery's exploration of the influence neurodivergence has on the ways individuals read asks us to consider that there may be no one definition. This alternative history of reading tells the stories of "atypical" readers and the impact had on their lives by neurological conditions affecting their ability to make sense of the printed word: from dyslexia, hyperlexia, and alexia to synesthesia, hallucinations, and dementia. Rubery's focus on neurodiversity aims to transform our understanding of the very concept of reading. Drawing on personal testimonies gathered from literature, film, life writing, social media, medical case studies, and other sources to express how cognitive differences have shaped people's experiences both on and off the page, Rubery contends that there is no single activity known as reading. Instead, there are multiple ways of reading (and, for that matter, not reading) despite the ease with which we use the term. Pushing us to rethink what it means to read, Reader's Block moves toward an understanding of reading as a spectrum that is capacious enough to accommodate the full range of activities documented in this fascinating and highly original book. Read it from cover to cover, out of sequence, or piecemeal. Read it upside down, sideways, or in a mirror. For just as there is no right way to read, there is no right way to read this book. What matters is that you are doing something with it—something that Rubery proposes should be called "reading."

Hidden Valley Road

Author: Robert Kolker

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 178747383X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 352

View: 2230


12 children. 6 of them diagnosed with schizophrenia. Science's greatest hope in understanding the disease. ___________ *ONE OF BARACK OBAMA'S FAVOURITE BOOKS OF 2020* *TIME 100 Must-Read Books Of 2020 Pick* *New York Times bestseller* *Selected as Oprah's Book Club Pick* 'Startlingly intimate' - The Sunday Times 'Grippingly told and brilliantly reported' - Mail on Sunday 'Unforgettable' - The Times For fans of Educated, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks and Three Identical Strangers Don and Mimi Galvin seemed to be living the American dream. After World War II, Don's work with the Air Force brought them to Colorado, where their twelve children perfectly spanned the baby boom: the oldest born in 1945, the youngest in 1965. In those years, there was an established script for a family like the Galvins - aspiration, hard work, upward mobility, domestic harmony - and they worked hard to play their parts. But behind the scenes was a different story: psychological breakdown, sudden shocking violence, hidden abuse. By the mid-1970s, six of the ten Galvin boys, one after the other, were diagnosed as schizophrenic. How could all this happen to one family? What took place inside the house on Hidden Valley Road was so extraordinary that the Galvins became one of the first families to be studied by the National Institutes of Mental Health. Their story offers a shadow history of the science of schizophrenia, from the era of institutionalization, lobotomy, and the schizophrenogenic mother, to the search for genetic markers for the disease, always amidst profound disagreements about the nature of the illness itself. And unbeknownst to the Galvins, samples of their DNA informed decades of genetic research that continues today, offering paths to treatment, prediction, and even eradication of the disease for future generations. With clarity and compassion, bestselling and award-winning author Robert Kolker uncovers one family's unforgettable legacy of suffering, love and hope. 'An extraordinary case study and tour de force of reporting' - Sylvia Nasar, author of A Beautiful Mind 'This book tore my heart out. It is a revelation-about the history of mental health treatment, about trauma, foremost about family-and a more-than-worthy follow-up to Robert Kolker's brilliant Lost Girls' -Megan Abbott, Edgar Award-winning author of Dare Me and Give Me Your Hand 'Hidden Valley Road contains everything: scientific intrigue, meticulous reporting, startling revelations, and, most of all, a profound sense of humanity. It is that rare book that can be read again and again' -David Grann, author of Killers of the Flower Moon

Abnormal Psychology

Author: Ann M. Kring,Sheri L. Johnson

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 1119705479

Category: Psychology

Page: N.A

View: 3022


"The focus of this book has always been on the balancing and blending of research and clinical application and on the effort to involve the learner in the problem solving engaged in by clinicians and scientists. We continue to emphasize an integrated approach, showing how psychopathology is best understood by considering multiple perspectives and how these varying perspectives can provide us with the clearest accounting of the causes of these disorders as well as the best possible treatments. With the fifteenth edition, we have once again emphasized the recent and comprehensive research coverage that has been the hallmark of the book. Of equal importance, however, we have worked to make the prose ever more accessible to a variety of students"--