The Chalky Sea

Author: Clare Flynn

Publisher: Cranbrook Press

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 350

View: 6850


The first novel in this sweeping epic series set during and after World War 2 Two troubled people in a turbulent world In July 1940, Gwen Collingwood says goodbye to her husband at the railway station, knowing she may never see him again as he leaves for a destination unknown. Two days later, her humdrum world is torn apart when the sleepy English seaside town where she lives is hit by the first of many heavy German bombing raids. In Ontario, Canada, Jim Armstrong is debating whether to volunteer for the army. His decision becomes obvious when he uncovers the secret his fiancée and his brother have been hiding. Rocked by this terrible betrayal, a few weeks later he is in uniform on a ship bound for England. Gwen is forced to confront the truth she has concealed about her past and her own feelings. Jim battles with a bewildering and hostile world far removed from the cosy life of his Canadian farm. War brings horror and loss to each of them – can it also bring change and salvation? From the author of The Pearl of Penang and A Greater World, the first volume of this epic and moving series. Topics: World War 2, British war on the home front, Canadians at war, The Candians, Canada, Aldershot, British army, Canadian army, Eastbourne, seaside towns, England in WW2, life on the home front in WW2, Sussex, wartime England, bombings, Canadians in WW2, marriage, love story, romantic fiction, historical fiction, historical romance, historical novel, twentieth century love story, 20th century romance, WVS, womens Voluntary Service, women in second world war, love, strong heroine, family strife, female friendship, saga, romantic family saga, romantic suspense, romance books, historical books, historical novel, wartime fiction, war, air raids, Nazi Germany, Hitler, Beachy Head, life in the Blitz, family life, marital tensions, illegitimate child, unexpected pregnancy, falling in love, coping with bereavement, life in England, book set in Eastbourne, Perfect for fans of Tracy Chevalier, Fiona Valpy, Deborah Swift, Jenny Ashcroft, Petra Durst-Benning, Nicola Cornick, Janet MacLeod Trotter, Jean Grainger, Marion Kummerow, Kate Furnivall, Kristin Hannah. Sharon Maas, Anna Jacobs, Helen Carey, Catherine Hokin, Sarah Lark, Tania Crosse, Rhys Bowen, Angela Petch, Hazel Gaynor, Jean Fullerton, Katie Flynn, Maureen Lee, Helen Forrester, Nadine Dorries, Elizabeth Murphy, Pam Howes, Lyn Andrews, Ann Baker, Ruth Hamilton, Annie Groves, Ann Bennett, Molly Green,

The Chalky Sea

Author: Clare Flynn

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780993332432

Category: Fiction

Page: 342

View: 8928


Two troubled people in a turbulent world. 1940, Gwen's world is shattered when her small seaside town is hit by the first of many heavy bomb attacks. In Canada, Jim uncovers the secret his fiancee has been hiding. Soon he is on a ship bound for England. War brings horror and loss - can it also bring change and salvation?

A Fine Pair of Shoes and Other Stories

Author: Flynn Clare

Publisher: Cranbrook Press via PublishDrive

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 98

View: 7106


A Tapestry of True Tales from Then and Now This collection of nine short stories comes from best-selling historical fiction author Clare Flynn. There are five historical tales – four based on stories from her own family history and one a tragic tale from eighteenth century Sussex. Clare has also branched out into contemporary fiction with four intriguing stories – modern morality tales, set in England, Paris, the USA and an island in the Indian Ocean.Beautifully crafted, vividly brought to life on the page these quirky stories give an insight into human nature at its best – and its worst.

The Penang Collection

Author: Clare Flynn

Publisher: Cranbrook Press

ISBN: 1916469299

Category: Fiction

Page: 908

View: 4163


Three powerful novels from a prize-winning storyteller Set before, during and after World War 2 on the beautiful Far Eastern island of Penang, these books and their memorable characters will keep you up all night reading THE PEARL OF PENANG – EVIE'S STORY In 1939, lonely and without prospects, Evie Fraser accepts a marriage proposal by post from a man she barely knows. Evie leaves her quiet English village for a new life on the exotic tropical island of Penang. Soon she finds herself pitched against her new husband on the one hand and the shallow spiteful world of the expatriate British on the other. Has she made a terrible life-changing mistake? Winner of the 2020 BookBrunch Selfies award for Adult Fiction PRISONER FROM PENANG – MARY'S STORY In late 1941, when the Japanese attack Penang, Mary Helston flees to the safe haven of Singapore, only for it to fall within weeks. Imprisoned by the Japanese on the nearby islands of Sumatra, Mary and her fellow women internees begin a desperate struggle for survival. But it's not only the Japanese and starvation that Mary is up against, as with her in the camp is the one woman Mary has good cause to laothe with a passion. A PAINTER IN PENANG – JASMINE'S STORY The war is over and Evie's unhappy step daughter, Jasmine, is desperate to return to the island of Penang where she grew up. When Mary, Evie's best friend, offers to host Jasmine, the sixteen year-old is over the moon. As Jasmine settles into her new life, enjoying her painting, communist surgents begin the reign of terror that becomes the Malayan Emergency. Before long, Jasmine is drawn into a world of danger and secrets from the past that will force her to grow up faster than she had expected. "In this testament to the strength of female friendship and endurance under the harshest of conditions, Flynn has imagined the unimaginable - a dazzling achievement." Linda Gillard, author of The Memory Tree and House of Silence. "A powerful and moving story of atrocity and of the human heart’s ability to love, endure and, perhaps, find love again." Lorna Fergusson, Author and Owner of FictionFire "a core of joy and warmth in it. It gives hope. Which is something everyone in the world needs at the moment." (Books by Bindu blog_

Jasmine in Paris

Author: Clare Flynn

Publisher: Cranbrook Press

ISBN: 1914479076

Category: Fiction

Page: 321

View: 4062


Art, love and betrayal, against the rich backdrop of 1950s Paris Desperate to make her mark as an artist and prove herself as an independent woman, Jasmine Barrington heads for Paris and a place at the prestigious Beaux Arts school. Following in the footsteps of former students like Renoir and Degas, she immerses herself in her studies by day and discovers the cafés and bars of the left bank by night. But life in the City of Light is far from easy. Will the challenges and discipline of the classical training regime crush Jasmine’s creative spirit, and will her charismatic teacher, Lachlan, break her heart? Meanwhile, on the other side of the world, Howard, the man to whom she owes her life, faces the daily dangers of the Malayan Emergency without so much as a postcard to fuel his fading hope that Jasmine might one day return to Penang. From the creative whirlpool of post-war Paris to the war-torn jungles of the Malayan peninsula, Jasmine in Paris is the latest in Flynn’s award-winning Penang series. Key themes art, art history, art school, atelier, atelier system, classical drawing, life in the 1950s, living in Paris, Latin Quarter, Quartier Latin, Left Bank, Louvre, Parisian life, Parisian lifestyle, artists, studying art, Boulevard St Germain, Paris, Penang, Georgetown, Johore, rubber plantations, rubber planter, rubber planter's wife, Malaysia, Malayan Emergency, civil war, post war Paris, Les Halles, Ecole des Beaux-Arts, classical sculpture, classical drawing, 1950s, 1949, French postwar cinema, French film star, love story Paris, romantic fiction in Paris, historical fiction in Paris, literary fiction in Paris, Jean-Paul Sartre, Simone de Beauvoir, Gerard Philipe, Marseille, James Baldwin, Paris jazz 1950, Café Flore, Les Deux Magots, Montparnasse, Bagatelle Gardens Paris, Bois de Boulogne, Ceylon, Colombo, Sri Lanka, terrorism in 1950s, communism, primitive art, naïve art, Amrita Sher-Gil, Les Enfants du Paradis, Marcel Carné, Passy, Paris Métro, novel set in Paris,

The Canadians

Author: Clare Flynn

Publisher: Cranbrook Press via PublishDrive

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 974

View: 2700


An epic drama of war and its impact on ordinary people – not only while it's happening, but for the years to follow. These three full-length novels follow the fortunes of Jim Armstrong, a young Canadian soldier in the Second World War, and those of the women he who impact his life. Gwen, a British housewife, afraid to confront her feelings, Joan and Ethel, two young women Jim meets in an English pub, and Alice, his sister-in-law and the woman who broke his heart. From a small seaside town in the firing line of the Luftwaffe, to the British army base at Aldershot, through the plains and mountains of Italy to the rolling farmlands of Ontario, Canada, the three Canadians novels – The Chalky Sea, The Alien Corn and The Frozen River - and their characters will grip you and keep you turning the pages all night.

Recreative Science

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Science

Page: 384

View: 6141