The Education of a Coach

Author: David Halberstam

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1401305202

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 6078


Pulitzer Prize-winner David Halberstam's bestseller takes you inside the football genius of Bill Belichick for an insightful profile in leadership. Bill Belichick's thirty-one years in the NFL have been marked by amazing success--most recently with the New England Patriots. In this groundbreaking book, David Halberstam explores the nuances of both the game and the man behind it. He uncovers what makes Bill Belichick tick both on and off the field.

Supporting the Education of Children with Autism Spectrum Disorders

Author: Kats, Yefim

Publisher: IGI Global

ISBN: 1522508171

Category: Education

Page: 336

View: 2012


Special education encompasses a broad range of techniques and tools for a catering to children with unique educational needs. Children in need of additional learning support, including children on the autism spectrum, benefit from continued research in emerging educational tools and pedagogies for best catering to their needs. Supporting the Education of Children with Autism Spectrum Disorders focuses on a well-rounded approach to special education, including perspectives on administration and leadership, course development, psychological and counseling support, educational technologies, and classroom management strategies. Emphasizing timely research focused on creating opportune learning environments for children on the autism spectrum, this publication is an essential reference source for educators, school administrators, graduate-level students, and researchers in the field of education.

The Education of a Teacher

Author: G. Mitchell Steckler

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 1543469825

Category: Education

Page: 268

View: 5748


The humorous stories, challenges, and wisdom from a long career in education are shared on these pages. The Education of a Teacher is a close-up look into the motives and actions of teachers, coaches, administrators, students, and parents. Steckler gives a detailed account of the successes and failures of the current system. We have all had teachers who made a positive impact on us. We are eternally grateful for the ones that were most effective. Their creativity, methods, personalities, and dedication are chronicled here. The many changes in discipline, funding, testing, and technology have fundamentally reorganized the educational landscape. The consequences of these changes are explained and appraised. This is a story of how our education has shaped our lives and helped determine our futures. The burden of high-stakes testing, new legislation, and budget shortfalls are examined in straightforward terms. Choosing a career in education is justified from a variety of perspectives. Education is the ultimate occupation in public service. It is hoped that students will be inspired by this book to pursue a career in teaching and existing teachers will gain insight into why they are so valuable to society.

The Education of a Teacher

Author: Noel Nation

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 1483675300

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 91

View: 5011


While attending college, Noel was convinced by his friends to become a teacher. While intending to become a physician, through circumstances, he changed his major and began studying for a career in education. Little did he realize the experiences he had growing up and in college would be utilized to help him become a successful teacher and administrator. Little did he realize the education he would receive from a small town would impact his life as well. Through these impacts on his life, he hopes to continue having an impact on the lives of others and in the future of education.

Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children

Author: Olivia N. Saracho,Bernard Spodek

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1136897011

Category: Education

Page: 480

View: 3688


The Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children is the essential reference on research on early childhood education throughout the world. This singular resource provides a comprehensive overview of important contemporary issues as well as the information necessary to make informed judgments about these issues. The field has changed significantly since the publication of the second edition, and this third edition of the handbook takes care to address the entirety of vital new developments. A valuable tool for all those who work and study in the field of early childhood education, this volume addresses critical, cutting edge research on child development, curriculum, policy, and research and evaluation strategies. With a multitude of new and updated chapters, The Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children, 3rd Edition makes the expanding knowledge base related to early childhood education readily available and accessible.

The Education of a Coroner

Author: John Bateson

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1501168223

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 368

View: 2736


In the vein of Dr. Judy Melinek’s Working Stiff, an account of the hair-raising and heartbreaking cases handled by the coroner of Marin County, California throughout his four decades on the job—from high-profile deaths to serial killers, to Golden Gate Bridge suicides. Marin County, California is a study in contradictions. Its natural beauty attracts thousands of visitors every year, yet the county also is home to San Quentin Prison, one of the oldest and largest penitentiaries in the country. Marin ranks in the top one percent of counties nationwide in terms of affluence and overall health, yet it is far above the norm in drug overdoses and alcoholism, and comprises a large percentage of suicides from the Golden Gate Bridge. Ken Holmes worked in the Marin County Coroner’s Office for thirty-six years, starting as a death investigator and ending as the three-term, elected coroner. As he grew into the job—which is different from what is depicted on television—Holmes learned a variety of skills, from finding hidden clues at death scenes, interviewing witnesses effectively, managing bystanders and reporters, preparing testimony for court to notifying families of a death with sensitivity and compassion. He also learned about different kinds of firearms, all types of drugs—prescription and illegal—and about certain unexpected and potentially fatal phenomena such as autoeroticism. Complete with poignant anecdotes, The Education of a Coroner provides a firsthand and fascinating glimpse into the daily life of a public servant whose work is dark and mysterious yet necessary for society to function.

Spirituality, Organization and Neoliberalism

Author: Emma Bell,Sorin Gog,Anca Simionca,Scott Taylor

Publisher: Edward Elgar Publishing

ISBN: 1788973305

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 240

View: 651


This book brings together analyses from across the social sciences to develop an interdisciplinary approach to understanding spiritualities and neoliberalism. It traces the lived experience of social actors as they engage with new and alternative spiritualities in neoliberal contexts. The purpose of the book is to provide specific insights into how neo-liberalism is resisted, contested or reproduced through a transformative ethic of spiritual self-realization.

The Education of a Value Investor

Author: Guy Spier

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN: 1137471247

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 224

View: 8870


What happens when a young Wall Street investment banker spends a small fortune to have lunch with Warren Buffett? He becomes a real value investor. In this fascinating inside story, Guy Spier details his career from Harvard MBA to hedge fund manager. But the path was not so straightforward. Spier reveals his transformation from a Gordon Gekko wannabe, driven by greed, to a sophisticated investor who enjoys success without selling his soul to the highest bidder. Spier's journey is similar to the thousands that flock to Wall Street every year with their shiny new diplomas, aiming to be King of Wall Street. Yet what Guy realized just in the nick of time was that the King really lived 1,500 miles away in Omaha, Nebraska. Spier determinedly set out to create a new career in his own way. Along the way he learned some powerful lessons which include: why the right mentors and partners are critical to long term success on Wall Street; why a topnotch education can sometimes get in the way of your success; that real learning doesn't begin until you are on your own; and how the best lessons from Warren Buffett have less to do with investing and more to do with being true to yourself. Spier also reveals some of his own winning investment strategies, detailing deals that were winners but also what he learned from deals that went south. Part memoir, part Wall Street advice, and part how-to, Guy Spier takes readers on a ride through Wall Street but more importantly provides those that want to take a different path with the insight, guidance, and inspiration they need to carve out their own definition of success.

The Education of Will

Author: Patricia B. McConnell

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1501150154

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 7943


In this powerful, soul-searching memoir, beautifully written in the vein of A Pack of Two and Wild, animal behaviorist Dr. Patricia McConnell recounts for the first time the compelling story of her dark past, memories of which are triggered by a troubled dog named Will. World-renowned as a source of science and soul, Patricia McConnell combines brilliant insights into canine behavior—gained from her work with aggressive and fearful dogs—with heartwarming stories of her own dogs and their life on the farm. Now, she reveals that it wasn’t just the dogs who had serious problems. For decades Dr. McConnell secretly grappled with her own guilt and fear, which were rooted in the harrowing traumas of her youth. Patricia is forced to face her past by her love for a young Border Collie named Will, whose frequent, unpredictable outbreaks of fear and fury shake Patricia to her core. In order to save Will from this dangerous behavior, she must find her own will to heal, and along the way learn that will power by itself is not enough. Interweaving enlightening stories of her clients’ dogs with tales of her deepening bond with Will, Patricia recounts her fight to reclaim her life. Hopeful and inspiring, the redemptive message of her journey is that, while trauma changes our brains and the past casts a long shadow, healing, for both people and dogs, is possible through hard work, compassion, and mutual devotion.