The End Of The Dream The Golden Boy Who Never Grew Up

Author: Ann Rule

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 0671793578

Category: Psychology

Page: 566

View: 8644


The latest installment in a series of New York Times best-sellers tells how the son of a preacher devolved into a bank robber, playboy, fugitive, and master of disguise, along with five other true crime stories. Original.

The End of the Dream & Other Stories

Author: John Gneisenau Neihardt

Publisher: U of Nebraska Press

ISBN: 9780803233263

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 156

View: 9428


Gathers nine tales, written in the early part of the century, about the Omaha Indians in the period before contact with whites

Obama and The End of the American Dream

Author: Michael A. Peters

Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

ISBN: 9460917712

Category: Education

Page: 119

View: 7028


The American Dream that crystallized around James Truslow Adams’ The Epic of America originally formulated in the early 1930s and was conditioned by a decade of complexity and contradiction, of big government projects, intensely fierce nationalism, the definition of the American way, and a distinctive collection of American iconic narratives has had the power and force to successively reshape America for every new generation. Indeed, Adam’s dream of opportunity for each according to ability or achievement shaped against the old class culture of Europe emphasizes a vision of social order in which each person can succeed despite their social origins. Barack Obama, a skillful rhetorician and intelligent politician, talks of restoring the American and has used its narrative resources to define his campaign and his policies. In a time of international and domestic crisis, of massive sovereign debt, of the failure of neoliberalism, of growing inequalities, the question is whether the American Dream and the vision of an equal education on which it rests can be revitalized.

The End of a Dream

Author: W. Welch

Publisher: Christian Faith Publishing, Inc.

ISBN: 1640794581

Category: Fiction

Page: 150

View: 5760


Amir was born in Tehran, Iran, but was not Muslim. His parents sent him to the USA for his higher education, near San Francisco. He obtained a degree in engineering and decided to go back to Iran and marry the girl his mother wanted him to marry. Aliyeh Zhila was a young woman that was beautiful and talented. She had received a degree in oils and pastels and was twenty-two years old. Aliyeh was in love with Amir. They had a big Zoroastrian wedding. Aliyeh was so excited to be marrying such a worldly man, and their future was in the United States of America. She had such dreams. Amir told her he would help with her career and she felt like she was floating on air when the plane landed in San Francisco. Now she would have a big house and was excited to see the new home bought for them. She knew her future was going to be wonderful. Aliyeh was in awe at the beautiful home and waiting for her future. She was sure her life would be beautiful...

The Hmo, Taking It All Apart, the End of a Dream

Author: Robert Gumbiner

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 9781438938028

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 204

View: 4388


The basic health care system in the United States is not working and must be fixed. In this book, Dr. Gumbner discusses his theories of what does and does not make HMOs work. He also deals with the machinations of Wall Street, the investors' mind-set and the objectives of the HMO. It covers the take over of the HMO industry by the health and accident insurance companies and their current offerings of HMOs that are not HMOs but disguised health and accident insurance companies. Included is the difference between the IPAs and the staff model HMOs and other attemps at health care delivery financing with an explanation of how raiders accomplished back door takeovers of successful companies and destory them. He provides advice to retiring founders and CEOs who want to remain chairman of the board of directors, get the job done and stay in control in a changing environment. Dr. Gumbiner explains his management theories regarding successful HMO management plus the relationship with members of the board of directors.

The Dream of Absolutism

Author: Hall Bjørnstad

Publisher: University of Chicago Press

ISBN: 022680383X

Category: History

Page: 247

View: 8294


Introduction. The problem with absolutism ; Beyond mere propaganda ; Approaching absolutism differently: royal glory and royal exemplarity ; The dream of absolutism -- The grammar of absolutism. The dream of a book like no other ; Taking Louis XIV's Mémoires seriously ; Absolutism, explained to a child: "The first and most important part of our entire politics" ; The utility of "These Mémoires" ; The paradoxes of absolutist exemplarity ; Conclusion: "So many ghastly examples" -- Mirrors of absolutism. Introduction: Our body in this space ; An age of mirrors ; A gallery celebrating greatness ; Making the king see what he felt ; A mirror for one ; In lieu of conclusion: Mirrors for a future without a past -- Absolutist absurdities. Exhibit A: The royal historiographer and the unparalleled greatness of Louis XIV ; Exhibit B: Absolutism from the cabinet of fairies to the cabinet of the king ; Conclusion: Seven theses on the dream of absolutism.

The Dream and Human Societies

Author: G. E. Von Grunebaum,Roger Caillois

Publisher: University of California Press

ISBN: 0520339266

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 472

View: 8755


This title is part of UC Press's Voices Revived program, which commemorates University of California Press’s mission to seek out and cultivate the brightest minds and give them voice, reach, and impact. Drawing on a backlist dating to 1893, Voices Revived makes high-quality, peer-reviewed scholarship accessible once again using print-on-demand technology. This title was originally published in 1966.

Side Effects

Author: Adam Phillips

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 0141902027

Category: Psychology

Page: 336

View: 1305


Side effects are things we do not intend. And, in this collection of essays, Adam Phillips examines how the things we don’t mean, or mean perhaps to forget, prove to be those that are often most telling about our unconscious lives. Phillips also intends for us to question our conscious pursuit of happiness, explaining that, in refusing to admit and explore life’s down sides, we can only be living half lives. And through his unique and incisive exploration of literature, Phillips also demonstrates what the great novelists have to tell us about ourselves. Both illuminating and fascinating on literature as well as life, Side Effects maps our edges as human beings, and, in doing so, goes some way to helping give shape to our lives.

A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World

Author: C. A. Fletcher

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0356510905

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 2583


THE MOST POWERFUL STORY YOU'LL READ THIS YEAR. 'Fletcher's suspenseful, atmospheric tale imagines a near future in which our world is in ruins . . . an adventure saga punctured by a gut-punch twist' Entertainment Weekly 'You'll remember A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World long after you finish reading' Peng Shepherd, author of The Book Of M 'Truly engrossing . . . brings hope and humanity to a cold and scary world' Keith Stuart, author of A Boy Made of Blocks 'I promise you're going to love it' Louisa Morgan, author of A Secret History of Witches 'Epic in scope, enthralling, and full of human warmth' M. R. Carey, author of The Girl with all the Gifts THE WORLD HAS ENDED. AT LEAST WE STILL HAVE DOGS. My name's Griz. I've never been to school, I've never had friends, in my whole life I've not met enough people to play a game of football. My parents told me how crowded the world used to be, before all the people went away, but we were never lonely on our remote island. We had each other, and our dogs. Then the thief came. He told stories of the deserted towns and cities beyond our horizons. I liked him - until I woke to find he had stolen my dog. So I chased him out into the ruins of the world. I just want to get my dog back, but I found more than I ever imagined was possible. More about how the world ended. More about what my family's real story is. More about what really matters. 'This un-put-down-able story has everything - a well-imagined post-apocalyptic world, great characters, incredible suspense, and, of course, the fierce love of some very good dogs' Kirkus (starred review) 'A story that is as heart-warming as it is heart-breaking' Fantasy Hive 'A stunningly gorgeous read: masterful storytelling, searingly beautiful prose, and a world so meticulously rendered you'll forget there's a real one going on beyond the pages. A book of the year contender - in any year' Micah Yongo 'Extraordinary and quite magnificent . . . 10/10' Starburst A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World is the most moving apocalypse story you'll ever read. Perfect for readers of Life of Pi, The Girl with all the Gifts or Station Eleven - Griz's tale mixes sadness and hope in one unforgettable character's quest amid the remnants of our fragile civilisation.