The Essential Scratch & Sniff Guide to Becoming a Wine Expert

Author: Richard Betts

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 9780544005037

Category: Cooking

Page: 22

View: 2066


Presents a basic, scent-guided introduction to wines and wine appreciation, detailing wine's basic components to help the reader determine what kind of wine they like best.

Essential Scratch & Sniff Guide to Becoming a Whiskey Know-It-All

Author: Richard Betts,Crystal English Sacca,Wendy MacNaughton

Publisher: Rux Martin/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 9780544520608

Category: Cooking

Page: 20

View: 6858


A clever distillation of America's favorite libation, by the New York Times best-selling authors of The Essential Scratch & Sniff Guide to Becoming a Wine Expert Whiskey fever is sweeping the nation. Every day, craft distilleries are popping up in remote counties and urban centers, offering a wealth of great choices to consumers--and just as many puzzlements. Does the introduction of a simple "e" to go from whisky to whiskey mean anything? What's the difference between Scotch and Rye? What's Canadian whisky anyway? And what about the whiskeys of Scotland, Japan, and Ireland? Where's a humble Joe to start? In this witty kid-style book on an adult topic, Richard Betts boils down his know-how into twenty pages, cooling our "brown-sweat" anxieties and dividing whiskey into three simple categories: Grain, Wood, and Place. While most whiskey tomes are about as fun as a chemistry lesson, Betts makes the learning slide down easy, reassuring us that this exalted spirit is just distilled beer and, through a nasal romp, helping us figure out which kinds we love best. Humorous illustrations and scratch-and-sniff scents (vanilla, sandalwood, grass, and more) help would-be connoisseurs learn their personal preferences. Language label and Map to Your Desires included.

The Ultimate Scratch & Sniff Guide to Loving Beer

Author: Richard Betts

Publisher: Flatiron Books

ISBN: 9781250124821

Category: Cooking

Page: 22

View: 689


What's the difference between a pilsner and a stout? Why is water so important to beer? What's the best temperature to serve a lager, an ale, or a stout? What the heck is a hop anyways? There are few things in the world as beloved as beer. By far and away it is the most popular alcoholic beverage in the world, but there is so much more to this beverage than we know. Richard Betts breaks down the ingredients, the science, and the processes behind how beer is made. With this knowledge in hand, and some scratching and sniffing, you'll have the tools to make informed decisions about the brews that will make you smile every time. Cheers!

Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat

Author: Samin Nosrat

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1476753857

Category: Cooking

Page: 480

View: 342


Now a Netflix series! New York Times Bestseller and Winner of the 2018 James Beard Award for Best General Cookbook and multiple IACP Cookbook Awards Named one of the Best Books of 2017 by: NPR, BuzzFeed, The Atlantic, The Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Rachel Ray Every Day, San Francisco Chronicle, Vice Munchies, Elle.com, Glamour, Eater, Newsday, Minneapolis Star Tribune, The Seattle Times, Tampa Bay Times, Tasting Table, Modern Farmer, Publishers Weekly, and more. A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared “America’s next great cooking teacher” by Alice Waters. In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary, yet simple, philosophy. Master the use of just four elements—Salt, which enhances flavor; Fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; Acid, which balances flavor; and Heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food—and anything you cook will be delicious. By explaining the hows and whys of good cooking, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will teach and inspire a new generation of cooks how to confidently make better decisions in the kitchen and cook delicious meals with any ingredients, anywhere, at any time. Echoing Samin’s own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, Salt, Fat Acid, Heat immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens. With charming narrative, illustrated walkthroughs, and a lighthearted approach to kitchen science, Samin demystifies the four elements of good cooking for everyone. Refer to the canon of 100 essential recipes—and dozens of variations—to put the lessons into practice and make bright, balanced vinaigrettes, perfectly caramelized roast vegetables, tender braised meats, and light, flaky pastry doughs. Featuring 150 illustrations and infographics that reveal an atlas to the world of flavor by renowned illustrator Wendy MacNaughton, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will be your compass in the kitchen. Destined to be a classic, it just might be the last cookbook you’ll ever need. With a foreword by Michael Pollan.

Tools of Titans

Author: Timothy Ferriss

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin

ISBN: 1328683788

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 673

View: 8963


"Fitness, money, and wisdom--here are the tools. Over the last two years ... Tim Ferriss has collected the routines and tools of world-class performers around the globe. Now, the distilled notebook of tips and tricks that helped him double his income, flexibility, happiness, and more is available as Tools of Titans"--Page 4 of cover.

A Little Tea Book

Author: Sebastian Beckwith,Caroline Paul

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

ISBN: 1632869047

Category: Cooking

Page: 128

View: 8267


From tea guru Sebastian Beckwith and New York Times bestsellers Caroline Paul and Wendy MacNaughton comes the essential guide to exploring and enjoying the vast world of tea. Tea, the most popular beverage in the world after water, has brought nations to war, defined cultures, bankrupted coffers, and toppled kings. And yet in many ways this fragrantly comforting and storied brew remains elusive, even to its devotees. As down-to-earth yet stylishly refined as the drink itself, A Little Tea Book submerges readers into tea, exploring its varieties, subtleties, and pleasures right down to the process of selecting and brewing the perfect cup. From orange pekoe to pu-erh, tea expert Sebastian Beckwith provides surprising tips, fun facts, and flavorful recipes to launch dabblers and connoisseurs alike on a journey of taste and appreciation. Along with writer and fellow tea-enthusiast Caroline Paul, Beckwith walks us through the cultural and political history of the elixir that has touched every corner of the world. Featuring featuring charming, colorful charts, graphs, and illustrations by bestselling illustrator Wendy MacNaughton and Beckwith's sumptuous photographs, A Little Tea Book is a friendly, handsome, and illuminating primer with a dash of sass and sophistication. Cheers!

Tribe of Mentors

Author: Timothy Ferriss

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 1328994961

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 598

View: 8638


Life-changing wisdom from 130 of the world's highest achievers in short, action-packed pieces, featuring inspiring quotes, life lessons, career guidance, personal anecdotes, and other advice

Wine Folly: Magnum Edition

Author: Madeline Puckette,Justin Hammack

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 0241388309

Category: Cooking

Page: 320

View: 3321


The perfect guide for anyone looking to expand their expertise and an ideal gift for the oenophile in your life. Want to pick the perfect wine for dinner? Red, white or Rose? Dry or Fruity? Spanish or Portuguese? Become the expert with Wine Folly's Magnum Edition: The Master Guide. _________ 'This will effortlessly teach you all you need to know to bluff your way through a wine list, taste like a pro, or pick the perfect accompaniment to a meal' Good Housekeeping For anyone who's ever wanted to learn more about wine, here is the place. Wine Folly introduced a whole new audience to the world of wine, making it easy for complete beginners to understand the fundamentals thanks to their straightforward advice, simple explanatory graphics and practical wine-tasting tips. Now they are back with plenty more eye-catching visuals and easy-to-grasp advice that the brand has become known for. Wine Folly Deluxe comes complete with a fresh look, twice as much information on regions, and a profusion of new and alternative wine styles. With everything you need in clear and eye-catching visuals, this will take your appreciation and understanding of wine to the next level.

Drivel

Author: Julia Scott

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0698152646

Category: Humor

Page: 208

View: 9561


The writing in this book is so bad, it deserves its own taxonomy of suckitude. Gillian Flynn, Mary Roach, Dave Eggers, Rick Moody, Chuck Palahniuk, Amy Tan, A.J. Jacobs, Daniel Clowes, Jeff Greenwald, Po Bronson…the list goes on. They all sucked once, and they all have the guts to share some of their crappiest early work in Drivel: an uplifting bit of voyeurism, based on the sold-out “Regreturature” stage shows in San Francisco, and brought to you by Litquake and the San Francisco Writers’ Grotto. Within these pages you’ll find abstruse and esoteric poetry (bad); incoherent and illogical short stories (worse); bumfuzzling proto-journalism (shameful); and pretentious, overwrought journal entries (we’ll not speak of this again). Thanks to these courageous but foolhardy writers, the world now knows the real meaning of a work-in-progress.

Revelations in Air

Author: Jude Stewart

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0525507604

Category: Science

Page: 320

View: 8753


An extraordinary, strange, and startlingly beautiful exploration of smell, the least understood of our five senses The nose on your face is the Buckingham Palace Guard of your body, the maitre d' of all taste, as well as the seducer of your imagination, and memory—and Jude Stewart has charmed them all into a wicked, poetic and illuminating tour of their mysterious domains. —Jack Hitt, author of Bunch of Amateurs Overlapping with taste yet larger in scope, smell is the sense that comes closest to pure perception. Smell can collapse space and time, unlocking memories and transporting us to worlds both new and familiar. Yet as clearly as each of us can recognize different smells--the bright tang of citrus, freshly sharpened pencils, parched earth after rain--few of us understand how and why we smell. In Revelations in Air, Jude Stewart takes us on a fascinating journey into the weird and wonderful world of smell. Beginning with lessons on the incredible biology and history of how our noses work, Stewart teaches us how to use our noses like experts. Once we're properly equipped and ready to sniff, Stewart explores a range of smells—from lavender, cut grass and hot chocolate to cannabis and old books—using smell as a lens into art, history, science, and more. With an engaging colorful design and exercises for readers to refine their own skills, Revelations in Air goes beyond science or history or chemistry--it's a doorway into the surprising, pleasurable, and unfamiliar landscape of smell.