Extraordinary Life of Pikelet, The

Author: Calley Gibson

Publisher: Random House Australia

ISBN: 0143783238

Category:

Page: 240

View: 2148


All it took for a tiny, no-name pup from the pound was someone to believe in him - and save him from death row - and an internet sensation was born. With his extremely good looks and pawfect cheekbones, Pikelet now lives the charmed life in inner-city Sydney, a foster brother to an extraordinary number of other pooches and pups, as well as an unexpected pair of ducklings and one larger-than-life pig. With his signature style and good humour, Pikelet shares the highs and lows of pet rescue and foster care, and will show you that a dog's life is the only life, after all. Illustrated throughout with iconic photos from his social media as well as never-before-seen snapshots from Life of Pikelet HQ, Pikelet's memoir is as unique as the dog himself. 'Go grab yourself a cuppa, find a comfy spot on your couch and settle in. The story that I'm about to share with you is the very extraordinary life of me, Pikelet Butterwiggle Stoll.'

Literary Activists

Author: N.A

Publisher: Univ. of Queensland Press

ISBN: 0702241431

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 260

View: 3488


Uniquely examining the link between Australian writers and social change, this study investigates the motives behind literary figures who strive to become activists and social intellectuals. Exploring this intimate connection, this resource asks what such a bond reveals about Australian literature and the power of the written word. With fresh insight, this guide delves into the activism, careers, and writings of Judith Wright, Patrick White, Oodgeroo of the tribe of Noonuccal, Les Murray, Helen Garner, David Malouf and Tim Winton.

Rosemary For Remembrance

Author: Susan Sallis

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1448110998

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 6984


Rosemary for Remembrance concludes the story of the Rising Girls, begun in A Scattering of Daisies, The Daffodils of Newent and Bluebell Windows. Fans of Rosamunde Pilcher, Maeve Binchy and Fiona Valpy will love this enthralling and engrossing saga from multi-million copy seller and Sunday Times bestselling author Susan Sallis, that expertly captures the lives and emotions of a family plunged into the trials and tribulations of World War Two. WHAT READERS ARE SAYING! 'Excellent read, very enjoyable' - 5 STARS 'Wonderful' - 5 STARS 'I love her books and the way that she takes you right into the story...You can tell I am a big fan!' - 5 STARS 'Susan Sallis is a legend' - 5 STARS 'So well-written and un-put-downable, thanks for another amazing story' - 5 STARS *************************************************************** ON THE EVE OF WAR, WILL THE FAMILY PULL THROUGH? As the war breaks out, the Rising family - on the surface so united, so serene - tries to hold down the secrets of the past. March, the eldest, is separated from her son. Albert has run from all of them on discovering the truth about his birth and now he tries to drown his bitterness and anger in fighting the Luftwaffe in the skies over Britain. April's shy and gentle daughter, Davina, can never understand why Albert has left her without explanation, without saying goodbye. And Victor, the talented, ebullient soldier son of May, watches the two cousins - knowing their secret, loving them both, trusting that the strength of the family will pull them through. IT'S A BATTLE FOR SURVIVAL ON BOTH FRONTS.

Amazing Fishing Stories

Author: Paul Knight

Publisher: Fernhurst Books Limited

ISBN: 1119951623

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 264

View: 2099


Travel from Scottish streams to shark infested seas and from the frozen tundra to tropical reefs. There’s every style of fishing, from the magic touch of the fly to blood-and-thunder battles with monsters of the deep. Shiver at ghostly tales from the river bank and marvel at incredible exploits with rod and line. There are stories of ones that got away as well as catches that set records. Discover a treasure trove of stories, invested with a drama and poetry that makes this essential reading for all fishermen, everywhere.

America's Diet

Author: United States,United States. Congress. House. Committee on Government Operations. Human Resources and Intergovernmental Relations Subcommittee

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Cancer

Page: 162

View: 7548


PeckinpahÕs Tragic Westerns

Author: John L. Simons,Robert Merrill

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN: 0786484748

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 232

View: 9280


The work of Sam Peckinpah represents a high point in American cinema. This text is the first theoretical and critical attempt to place Peckinpah within the 2,000-year-old tradition of western tragedy. The tradition, enfolding the Greeks, Shakespeare and modern tragedians, is represented in Peckinpah’s art in numerous ways, and the fact that he worked in the mode throughout his career distinguishes him from most American film directors. Films covered include Ride the High Country, Noon Wine, The Wild Bunch, Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid, and Bring Me the Head of Alfredo Garcia.

My Highland Rebel

Author: Amanda Forester

Publisher: Sourcebooks, Inc.

ISBN: 1492605476

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 8055


Second in a passionate, fast-paced Scottish Highlander romance series from critically acclaimed author Amanda Forester A conquering hero Cormac Maclean would rather read than rampage, but his fearsome warlord father demands that he prove himself in war. Cormac chooses what he thinks is an easy target, only to encounter a fiery Highland lass leading a doomed rebellion and swearing revenge on him. Meets an unconquerable heroine Jyne Cambell is not about to give up her castle without a fight, even though her forces are far outnumbered. She's proud, hot-blooded and hot-tempered, and Cormac falls for her hard. It's going to take all of Cormac's ingenuity to get Jyne to surrender gracefully-both to his sword and to his heart... Highland Trouble Series: The Highlander's Bride (Book 1) My Highland Rebel (Book 2) Praise for The Highlander's Bride: "Another winner from Forester!" -RT Book Reviews 4 1⁄2 Stars, Reviewer Top Pick!

The Builder

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Architecture

Page: N.A

View: 6002