The Girl on the Dancing Horse

Author: Charlotte Dujardin

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1473544270

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 272

View: 7873


*THE TOP 10 BESTSELLER FROM THE MOST DECORATED BRITISH FEMALE OLYMPIAN IN HISTORY* 'Refreshingly honest [...] a highly enjoyable, fascinating read.' Horse and Hound _______________________________________________ "To ride into that arena, next to a sea of British flags and hear the roar of clapping and cheering, was so exciting. It's a sound I will never, ever forget." Charlotte Dujardin and her charismatic horse Valegro burst onto the international sports scene with their record-breaking performance at the London, 2012 Olympics. The world was captivated by the young woman with the dazzling smile and her dancing horse. But no one quite knew what it took to get there, nor how hard the path to success would be - until now. Dujardin began riding horses at the age of two, but dressage was firmly the domain of the wealthy, not the life of a girl from a middle-class family. Her parents sacrificed all and with a undeterred focus, Charlotte left school at 16 to follow her dream. When she was invited to be a groom for the British Olympian Carl Hester, she began to ride Valegro, a dark bay gelding and an unbreakable bond was formed. This is their incredible story.

Summer of the Dancing Horse

Author: Nancy Sanderson

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 1452068925

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 202

View: 6875


Its summer, and sixteen-year-old Maria Leon is delighted to be back home at Rancho Las Brisas in Baja California no school, no schedules, just long rides in the Mexican hills on her Andalusian stallion, Regalo. When she finds her horse gone, her whole world is turned upside-down in an instant. Nick, the ranch foreman, tells her, Your uncle Roberto has taken all the show horses to California to sell them. But Regalo is mine. Grandfather gave him to me at Christmas just before he died, she cries, staring in dismay at all the empty corrals. There must be some mistake. Broken-hearted, but determined, Maria vows to go to Southern California and get her horse back before her uncle has a chance to sell him. Will she find her horse? Can she stop the sale of the dancing stallion? Join Maria and her three new American friends as they try to find Regalo. And learn, with Maria, the secret of her parents mysterious deaths in California. Once again, award-winning author, Nancy Sanderson, has written an intriguing story about her favorite subject, girls and their horses. In Summer of the Dancing Horse, Sanderson brings together the girls from her previous three books to help their new friend, Maria, rescue her horse. Readers will enjoy getting reacquainted with old friends and meeting new ones in this exciting story of horses, heartbreak and hope.

The Dancing Horse

Author: Angus MacVicar

Publisher: EndeavorMedia.ORIM

ISBN: 1839010797

Category: Fiction

Page: 187

View: 3545


Two journalists hunt for a killer and stumble into an even bigger mystery: “The writer par excellence of Scottish thrillers” (Western Independent). London sportswriter Donald Grant has been asked by his boss, the news editor, to help him investigate a murder. It’s not Grant’s usual beat, but he can’t say no to a fellow Scotsman—especially since his boss senses that the roots of the crime go all the way to Kintyre. As the two head north to Scotland, they have no idea the trail will lead them to a recently built high-security atomic center—and a quiet, secluded community that harbors many secrets. And when a scientist from the plant is found hanged, they discover they may be chasing a very dangerous story. “Angus MacVicar runs John Buchan close as the supreme spinner of an enthralling yarn.” —Daily Express

The Prince & the Dancing Girl

Author: Saeed Tiwana,Sharron McGregor

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 0595422497

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 1789


A dazzling page-turner, this novel depicts some of the great and near-great of history. The locale spans three continents: it is the story of wise men, heroes and fools. Peopled by a sprawling cast of memorable characters-royalty, patriots, heroic men and courageous women. The story moves with a tremendous sweep from one adventure to another, and is a network of intrigue and misunderstandings and missed opportunities, It is a powerful portrait of the great Austrian dynasty of Europe containing scenes of wealth and privilege and dire responsibility. A prince strives to inspire his people with hope and courage, gathering his forces, and stimulating them into action. While he works hard in many ways to rescue his country from the plight into which it had been thrown and all the while searching for an even deeper understanding of life and wise judgment. Politicians, philosopher and pundits lend thoughts to the judgments made by rulers and commoners alike. Princesses and exotic women add their love for the arts and fashion and enticement. All of these qualities combined make a dynamic story line for a magnetic novel. A novel crowded with beauty and incident, the search for wisdom, ambition, and adventure. A living novel which unexpectedly makes you feel you are in a story filled with people you know personally.

The Legacy - Time Lock

Author: Veronica Merlin

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1326777912

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 6713


Dreams of a Dancing Horse

Author: Dandi Daley Mackall

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

ISBN: 1599907739

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 176

View: 5940


Fred the Plow Horse is born with a dancing tune in his heart. When he hears music, he just has to dance -even if it means overturning the plow and wreaking havoc! When Fred gets kicked off the farm, he must find a new place for himself - a place where a dancing horse might be just right.

What Love Has Done

Author: Elizabeth Cain

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 1532014309

Category: Fiction

Page: 338

View: 5944


Kivuli Farley is an East African teen who has already suffered a tumultuous childhood when she arrives in America to meet the Roses who had been patrons and friends of her great-grandfather for four decades. Spirited and generous, Kivuli is anxious to learn more about her Maasai ancestor buried in Nevada before she was born. But the present journey proves to be as challenging as the past when she discovers a secret the old African had kept that led to a devastating tragedy for the Rose family. What Kivuli desires above all is to find a way for those still wounded to heal and a path to redemption for two women worlds apart: an incarcerated child abductor, and the killer she knows best her own mother. As she opens herself to the teachings of a Lakota Sioux horse master, the lesson in a provocative painting, the friendship of an adopted Indian boy with two dads, the surprising spiritual views of a South African Catholic priest, and ultimately a dangerous communication with the seemingly unredeemable kidnapper, the way becomes clear. In a whirlwind tale of diverse cultures, faiths, and passions, victims and perpetrators draw inexorably together in a search for the meaning of forgiveness.

Packaging Girlhood

Author: Sharon Lamb, Ed.D.,Lyn Mikel Brown, Ed.D.

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN: 1429906324

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 336

View: 8832


The stereotype-laden message, delivered through clothes, music, books, and TV, is essentially a continuous plea for girls to put their energies into beauty products, shopping, fashion, and boys. This constant marketing, cheapening of relationships, absence of good women role models, and stereotyping and sexualization of girls is something that parents need to first understand before they can take action. Lamb and Brown teach parents how to understand these influences, give them guidance on how to talk to their daughters about these negative images, and provide the tools to help girls make positive choices about the way they are in the world. In the tradition of books like Reviving Ophelia, Odd Girl Out, Queen Bees and Wannabees that examine the world of girls, this book promises to not only spark debate but help parents to help their daughters.

Guardians of Cahokia

Author: Rebecca E. Kohles

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 0595441742

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 4810


Alexandra Markum, former Olympic equestrian gold medal winner and powerful seer for the Cherokee race often struggles to accept the reality of her metaphysical capabilities. She and her friends believe that they will find serenity in the small northwestern Illinois town of Grand Detour, where they can live out their lives in the uncomplicated atmosphere of a refurbished equestrian retreat. Then an old friend calls and wants Alex's help with a missing persons case and Alex finds herself camped in the middle of mystical Cahokia Mounds and locking horns with the U.S. Marshals office and her exboyfriend, Ian Valin. Surrounded by a Native American secret society, extremely large mythical creatures, and a mysterious woman in sapphire, Alex becomes overwhelmed when someone close to her is brutally killed. The final straw is when a powerful prophecy is revealed that could spell her impending doom, and Alex must face one of her greatest fears if she wants to save those around her.