The Happiness Project, Tenth Anniversary Edition

Author: Gretchen Rubin

Publisher: Harper Paperbacks

ISBN: 9780062888747

Category: Self-Help

Page: 368

View: 9734


#1 New York Times Bestseller Gretchen Rubin’s year-long experiment to discover how to create true happiness. Drawing on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world examples, Rubin delivers an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation. This special 10th Anniversary edition features a Conversation with Gretchen Rubin, Happiness Project Stories, a guide to creating your own happiness project, a list of dozens of free resources, and more. “An enlightening, laugh-aloud read. . . . Filled with open, honest glimpses into [Rubin’s] real life, woven together with constant doses of humor.”—Christian Science Monitor Gretchen Rubin had an epiphany one rainy afternoon in the unlikeliest of places: a city bus. “The days are long, but the years are short,” she realized. “Time is passing, and I’m not focusing enough on the things that really matter.” In that moment, she decided to dedicate a year to her happiness project. In this lively and compelling account—now updated with new material by the author—Rubin chronicles her adventures during the twelve months she spent test-driving the wisdom of the ages, current scientific research, and lessons from popular culture about how to be happier. Among other things, she found that novelty and challenge are powerful sources of happiness; that money can help buy happiness, when spent wisely; that outer order contributes to inner calm; and that the very smallest of changes can make the biggest difference. This updated edition includes: · An extensive new interview with the author · Stories of other people’s life-changing happiness projects · A resource guide to the dozens of free resources created for readers · The Happiness Project Manifesto · An excerpt from Gretchen Rubin’s bestselling book The Four Tendencies: The Indispensable Personality Profiles that Reveal How to Make Your Life Better (and Other People’s Lives Better, Too)

Ecological Design, Tenth Anniversary Edition

Author: Sim Van der Ryn,Stuart Cowan

Publisher: Island Press

ISBN: 1597265977

Category: Architecture

Page: 256

View: 8882


Ecological Design is a landmark volume that helped usher in an exciting new era in green design and sustainability planning. Since its initial publication in 1996, the book has been critically important in sparking dialogue and triggering collaboration across spatial scales and design professions in pursuit of buildings, products, and landscapes with radically decreased environmental impacts. This 10th anniversary edition makes the work available to a new generation of practitioners and thinkers concerned with moving our society onto a more sustainable path. Using examples from architecture, industrial ecology, sustainable agriculture, ecological wastewater treatment, and many other fields, Ecological Design provides a framework for integrating human design with living systems. Drawing on complex systems, ecology, and early examples of green building and design, the book challenges us to go further, creating buildings, infrastructures, and landscapes that are truly restorative rather than merely diminishing the rate at which things are getting worse.

World Peace Diet (Tenth Anniversary Edition)

Author: Will Tuttle

Publisher: Lantern Books

ISBN: 1590565282

Category: Health & Fitness

Page: 350

View: 2336


The Tenth Anniversary Edition of the bestselling WORLD PEACE DIET includes a new preface, new resources, and a study guide. The book presents the outlines of a more empowering understanding of our world, based on the comprehending the far-reaching implications of our food choices. Tuttle offers a set of universal principles for all people of conscience that show how we as a species can move our consciousness forward.

En la Lucha / In the Struggle

Author: Ada María Isasi-Díaz

Publisher: Fortress Press

ISBN: 9781451403428

Category: Social Science

Page: 284

View: 386


A tenth anniversary edition of the classic introduction to mujerista theology for Hispanic women offers an inspirational look at the everyday struggles, insights, attitudes, and lives of Hispanic women from the perspective of Hispanic identiy in North American society, with summaries of the sources, aims, goals, and tenets of mujerista theology. (Christianity)

The Happiness Project

Author: Gretchen Rubin

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 006158326X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 338

View: 3299


Bretchen Rubin had an epiphany one rainy afternoon in the unlikeliest of places: a city bus. "The days are long, but the years are short," she realized. "Time is passing, and I'm not focusing enough on the things that really matter." In that moment, she decided to dedicate a year to her happiness project. In this lively and compelling account, Rubin chronicles her adventures during the twelve months she spent test-driving the wisdom of the ages, current scientific research, and lessons from popular culture about how to be happier. Among other things, she found that novelty and challenge are powerful sources of happiness; that money can help buy happiness, when spent wisely; that outer order contributes to inner calm; and that the very smallest of changes can make the biggest difference.

A Life in Stitches

Author: Rachael Herron

Publisher: HGA Publishing

ISBN: 1940785626

Category: Crafts & Hobbies

Page: 216

View: 1079


A hilarious, heartfelt romp that will bring you home to yourself. You don’t have to be a knitter to fall in love with this book—any person who’s ever made anything with their hands will dive joyfully into these pages and come back up renewed and ready to create. Tenth Anniversary Edition - This beloved bestseller is newly updated with fresh stories and extra devotion to the happiness found in everyday tools. Internationally bestselling author Rachael Herron shows that when life unravels, there’s usually a way to knit it back together again, and if there’s not, there’s still hope to be found in the simple tools of the craft. Honest, funny, and full of warmth, Herron’s tales, each inspired by something she knitted, will speak to anyone who’s ever loved (or lost). From her very first sweater (a hilarious disaster) to the yellow afghan that caused a breakup (and, ultimately, a breakthrough), every chapter has a moving story behind it. This beautifully candid collection about crafting the art of happiness through joy and grief is perfect for fans of Elizabeth Gilbert and Glennon Doyle. Click BUY now! Rachael Herron is the author of more than two dozen books, including thriller (under R.H. Herron), mainstream fiction, feminist romance, memoir, and nonfiction about writing. She received her MFA in writing from Mills College, Oakland, and she teaches writing extension workshops at both UC Berkeley and Stanford. She is a proud member of the NaNoWriMo Writer’s Board. An AmeriKiwi, she’s currently living in New Zealand.

Dignity: Its Essential Role in Resolving Conflict

Author: Donna Hicks

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 0300263503

Category: Psychology

Page: 245

View: 2809


A noted conflict-resolution expert explores dignity, its role in human conflict, and its power to improve relationships Drawing on her extensive experience in international conflict resolution and on insights from evolutionary biology, psychology, and neuroscience, Donna Hicks explains what the elements of dignity are, how to recognize dignity violations, how to respond when we are not treated with dignity, how dignity can restore a broken relationship, why leaders must understand the concept of dignity, and more. By choosing dignity as a way of life, Hicks shows, we open the way to greater peace within ourselves and to a safer and more humane world for all. For the Tenth Anniversary Edition of Dignity, Hicks has written a new preface that reflects on her experience helping communities and individuals understand the power of dignity and how it can lead to a more peaceful world. “Anyone who understands the importance of personal feelings and their fuel for conflict should consider Dignity as a powerful advisory and motivational guide.”—Midwest Book Review Winner of the 2012 Educator’s Award, given by the Delta Kappa Gamma Society International.

The Power of Kindness

Author: Piero Ferrucci

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101216026

Category: Self-Help

Page: 352

View: 1074


"A book after my own heart!"—His Holiness The Dalai Lama The Power of Kindness is a stirring examination of a simple but profound concept. Piero Ferrucci, one of the world's most respected transpersonal psychologists, explores the many surprising facets of kindness and argues that it is this trait that will not only lead to our own individual happiness and the happiness of those around us, but will guide us in a world that has become cold, anxious, difficult, and frightening. Piero Ferrucci warns against the dangers of "global cooling." As the pace of living grows faster and the impact of new technologies more insistent, communications become hurried and impersonal. The drive for profit overrides the heart. Warmth and genuine presence fade. In eighteen interlocking chapters, Dr. Ferrucci reveals that the kindest people are the most likely to thrive, to enable others to thrive, and to slowly but steadily turn our world away from violence, self-centeredness, and narcissism- and toward love. Writing with a rare combination of sensitivity and intellectual depth, Dr. Ferrucci shows that, ultimately, kindness is not a luxury in our world but rather a necessity for us all.

Paul Weller: My Ever Changing Moods

Author: John Reed

Publisher: Omnibus Press

ISBN: 0857120492

Category: Music

Page: 240

View: 5864


The best-selling biography to the life and mood-swings of the one and only Modfather. Through his work with The Jam, The Style Council and ultimately as a solo artist, Weller has remained one of our most uncompromising artists and social commentators. John Reed charts the turbulent course of Weller's career as the Woking-born songwriter has battled to balance his moral convictions with the demands of being a pop music artist. This updated version brings the story fully into the 21st century, and includes a comprehensive discography as well as a host of previously unpublished photographs.