The House on the Hill

Author: Cesare Pavese

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 0241370531

Category: Fiction

Page: 176

View: 7970


'Pavese's novels are works of an extraordinary depth where one never stops finding new levels, new meanings' Italo Calvino June, 1943. Allied aircraft are bombing Turin; fascist Italy is on its knees. Every evening, after a day's teaching in the city, Corrado returns to the safety of the hills and the care of his two doting landladies. He has no attachments, no obligations. Yet against his better judgement he is drawn to the easy warmth of a circle of anti-fascists who congregate at a nearby tavern, and confronted with a painful choice: emotional and political commitment, with all its dangers - or devastating retreat. Pavese's extraordinary semi-autobiographical novel is a lucid portrayal of missed opportunities and human weakness, set against the seductive intensity of the Italian countryside. Translated with an introduction by Tim Parks

The House on the Hill

Author: Lisa Stieva

Publisher: FriesenPress

ISBN: 1525589547

Category: Fiction

Page: 218

View: 2902


Widow Susan Connors’ visit to aunt Mary dealt her a huge wake-up call spurring the decision to sell her beloved family home to seek new adventures and a second chance at love. As she and her book club friends plot a unique way to find deserving new owners for her heritage house in Clarksburg, Ontario, will her plans crumple in the wake of a world-wide pandemic? Recent Metro University graduate Jules Bailey is an independent young woman working to build a life. After losing her part-time job, she lands her dream teaching position and becomes a welcome addition to the Clarksburg Academy. Renting an affordable cottage in Clarksburg is the key to her financial ability to pursue her dreams. Will totally hot local golf pro, Jared or refined yet rugged, Dylan become the life partner she seeks? Vancouver native, Dylan Connors’ inaugural visit to Ontario does not go as he envisioned. His plan to propose to his long-time girlfriend dissolves while attending his friend’s wedding at the Grey Mountain Resort and Spa. Reconnecting with his aunt Susan, meeting her beautiful tenant Jules and seeking answers about his biological father take him down a new path. Facing compromised health in the wake of the pandemic, will his lifelong dreams come true? Lisa Stieva’s gift for storytelling is revealed in her debut Christian romance novel. Be swept away by the colourful cast of characters, twisting plot and rich Canadian setting in the modern day fairytale she weaves.

The House on the Hill

Author: Kevin Sampson

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1448137896

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 3936


THE CHILLING SECOND DCI BILLY McCARTNEY THRILLER DCI Billy McCartney has had enough of the police force. But then a runaway arrives on his doorstep and he is plunged back into one of his most traumatic cases. McCartney and his partner DS Millie Baker were in Ibiza – their objective, to infiltrate a major international drug gang. They were close to a breakthrough when Millie was abducted and killed. The shivering waif who knocks on Mac’s door has escaped from the same captors and he is soon on a mission that goes far beyond law and order. This is McCartney’s chance for redemption... Praise for the DCI Billy McCartney series: ‘Pace and tension in spades...’ Irish Times ‘Ferociously compelling’ Reader’s Digest ‘Violent and earthy, reflecting its inner-city locale. And did I mention the killer ending? Marvellous’ Raven Crime Reads ‘A punched-in-the-solar-plexus feeling occurs as this novel’s final, gobsmacking twist is revealed. Without a doubt my crime novel of the year’ CrimeFictionLover ‘The final few paragraphs are as magnificent as they are unexpected. You will put this book down with a sense of dizzy wonder’ Sachin Nakrani

Murder At The House On The Hill

Author: Victoria Walters

Publisher: Hera books Ltd

ISBN: 1912973634

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 6216


'Superb sleuthing! I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to Dedley End and can't wait to go back!' Heidi Swain, author of Underneath the Christmas Tree Once Upon A Crime... Nancy Hunter and her grandmother Jane Hunter run the Dedley Endings Bookshop, selling crime, thriller and mystery books, in a small, quiet Cotswold village where nothing ever happens... That is, until the wealthy and reclusive Roth family open up their mansion for the first time in thirty years, inviting the people of Dedley End to a lavish engagement party. While everyone is thrilled to finally look around the mansion on the hill, the festivities are quickly cut short when beautiful Lucy, recently married to young Harry Roth, is found dead after being pushed over the first-floor balustrade. But who among the guests could have been capable of her murder – and why? Nancy and Jane decide to investigate – after all, not only do they own a crime themed bookshop, they were also both named after famous literary detectives – but soon wonder if they’ve taken on more than they can handle. Especially when it seems the killer has worked out that they’re hot on their heels... Can they catch the murderer before the murderer catches up with them? Or will there be a deadly ending to this story? Join the unlikeliest detective duo for the first of The Dedley End Mysteries series, for fans of Richard Osman and Charlaine Harris’ Aurora Teagarden series. Praise for Murder at the House on the Hill: 'Such a fab book - really puts the cosy in cosy crime!' M. A. Kuzniar, author of Midnight in Everwood 'This is a brilliant 'whodunnit' which gave me some serious Miss Marple feels...it's absolutely brilliant and a pleasure to read' Head in a Book18 ‘I loved this brilliant cozy read...it felt very Christie-esque. Nancy and Jane were fab, I loved their relationship. And I can't wait for more.’ ☆☆☆☆☆ Reader Review ‘I really loved this book...The writing always kept me guessing what would happen next.’ Reader Review 'A delightful detective duo, a charming and clever cosy mystery.' Diane Jeffrey, author of The Silent Friend 'A cosy, satisfying and enjoyable murder mystery full of intrigue...and even better, with a bookshop too!' Ella Allbright, author of The Last Charm ‘A well-executed murder mystery...gives us a cozy and sweet Christmas vibes on a small village and I loved every second of it.’ Reader Review 'Cleverly plotted, highly entertaining and addictive. I loved it!' Ruby Speechley, author of The Face at the Window ‘I was hooked on page one...Love the author's writing style. It has elements of the classic whodunnit...I definitely want more!’ Reader Review ‘A blast! It's fast paced, fun and it keeps you guessing till the end!...The story is filled with lots of characters and unusual twists.’ Reader Review 'An enchanting mystery...kept me guessing throughout.' Jane Isaac, author of One Good Lie

The House on the Hill-Lake District Revisited

Author: Grenda Walton

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 1463440278

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 232

View: 591


In 1944, World War II was still raging, especially for English children. My father had been left with five children that he could not handle, and then we found ourselves in a strange place, an Orphanage in the Lake District of Great Britain. Many times, our nieces and nephews have asked my sisters and me about our time in the Orphanage, and I have promised them a book for years. I finally felt I could dredge up what I had pushed down for so long. These are stories about our lives, as well as some of the girls, in the home from 1944 to 1952, my memories of events that happened, good and bad, in those eight years. In many ways, that time gave me determination and fortitude to press on regardless, and I hope the remembering, even though a bit painful, helps in your understanding.

The River's Destiny

Author: Barney McMillan

Publisher: Dorrance Publishing

ISBN: 0805966374

Category: Poetry

Page: 228

View: 3989


"As the Bishop Saw It."

Author: Caspar Henry Borgess

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Europe

Page: 266

View: 2370


English Grammar ...

Author: California. State Board of Education

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: English language

Page: 292

View: 4363