The Irishman

Author: Tom Shone

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781614289067

Category: Art

Page: 240

View: 2311


Martin Scorsese has long been revered as one of our greatest living directors; his career spans more than 50 years and includes some of the most celebrated American gangster films--from Mean Streets to Casino and, of course, Goodfellas. His latest foray into the genre is The Irishman, a majestic epic that covers bold, new ground. Starring Robert De Niro, Al Pacino and Joe Pesci, the film examines organized crime in post-war America through the eyes of World War II veteran Frank Sheeran, a hustler and hitman who worked alongside some of the most notorious figures of the 20th century. Spanning decades, the film chronicles one of the greatest unsolved mysteries in American history, the disappearance of legendary union boss Jimmy Hoffa, and offers a monumental journey through the hidden corridors of organized crime: its inner workings, rivalries and connections to mainstream politics. Featuring special on-set photography and studio portraits by Brigitte Lacombe, unit photography by Niko Tavernise and a text by author and film critic Tom Shone, this stunning monograph takes readers behind the scenes and examines the making of The Irishman in the context of Scorsese's expansive career. Through interviews with Scorsese, De Niro, Pacino, Pesci, and the rest of the film's cast and creative team, Shone situates The Irishman as a reminiscence of Scorsese's own life and times--an intimate and cutting meditation on loyalty, betrayal, and regret. The Irishman was released on November 27th, 2019, and is now available on Netflix.

Wilde the Irishman

Author: Jerusha Hull McCormack

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 0300072961

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 205

View: 5128


"In this vigorous study, seventeen leading Irish artists, critics, and cultural commentators explore the neglected theme of Wilde's Irishness."--Jacket.

Kill the Irishman

Author: Rick Porrello

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1439171750

Category: True Crime

Page: 304

View: 4884


Be sure to see Kill the Irishman—the major motion picture based on Rick Porrello’s true-crime masterpiece! A modern warrior known as Greene Was very quick and smart, and mean. He scrambled hard and fought like hell, And led a charmed existence. They shot him down and blew him up With most regular persistence. —From The Ballad of Danny Greene Clevelan d, the 1970s: A fearless Irishman boldly muscles in on the Italian-American Mafia—intrepid, charismatic, shrewd, cunning, and armed with a master plan to take over the rackets under the auspices of the Irish banner of which he was so fiercely proud. His name is Greene, his signature color is green, and with his Irish luck for surviving bungled mob attempts on his life, he is seemingly indestructible. In the end, the war with Danny Greene—and his ultimate murder—severely crippled the Italian stranglehold on organized crime, with historic repercussions that outlived the unsinkable Irishman himself.

The Irishman's Daughter

Author: V.S. Alexander

Publisher: Kensington Books

ISBN: 1496712307

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 7425


From the acclaimed author of The Magdalen Girls and The Taster comes a powerful, unforgettable novel of strength and resilience, set against the backdrop of the Irish famine. Ireland, 1845. To Briana Walsh, no place on earth is more beautiful than Carrowteige, County Mayo, with its sloping fields and rocky cliffs perched above the wild Atlantic. The small farms that surround the centuries-old Lear House are managed by her father, agent to the wealthy, reckless Sir Thomas Blakely. Tenant farmers sell the oats and rye they grow to pay rent to Sir Thomas, surviving on the potatoes that flourish in the remaining scraps of land. But when the potato crop falls prey to a devastating blight, families Briana has known all her life are left with no food, no resources, and no mercy from the English landowner, who seems indifferent to everything except profit. Rory Caulfield, the hard-working young farmer Briana hopes to marry, shares the locals’ despair—and their anger. There’s talk of violent reprisals against the callous gentry and their agents. Briana’s studious older sister, Lucinda, dreams of a future far beyond Mayo. But even as hunger and disease settle over the country, killing and displacing millions, Briana knows she must find a way to guide her family through one of Ireland’s darkest hours—toward hope, love, and a new beginning. Praise for V.S. Alexander’s The Taster “This haunting and engrossing novel will appeal to fans of Anthony Doerr and Kristin Hannah.” —Booklist “The ‘taster’s’ story adds to a body of nuanced World War II fiction such as Elizabeth Wein’s Code Name Verity, Anthony Doerr’s All the Light We Cannot See, and Tatiana de Rosnay’s Sarah’s Key. Book clubs and historical fiction fans will love discussing this and will eagerly await more from Alexander.” —Library Journal

The Irishman (Movie Tie-In)

Author: Charles Brandt

Publisher: Steerforth

ISBN: 158642257X

Category: True Crime

Page: 384

View: 1080


ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED AS I HEARD YOU PAINT HOUSES New York Times Bestseller Now a major motion picture directed by Academy Award® winner Martin Scorsese, starring Academy Award® winners Robert De Niro, Al Pacino, Joe Pesci, Anna Paquin, and Academy Award® nominee Harvey Keitel, and written by Academy Award® winner Steven Zaillian. The Irishman “gives new meaning to the term ‘guilty pleasure.’’’ — Bryan Burrough, author of Public Enemies, in The New York Times Book Review “Told with such economy and chilling force as to make The Sopranos suddenly seem overwrought and theatrical.” —New York Daily News “A terrific read.” —Kansas City Star Includes an Epilogue and a Conclusion that detail substantial post-publication corroboration of Frank Sheeran's revelations about the killings of Jimmy Hoffa, Joey Gallo and JFK. The Irishman is an epic saga of organized crime in post-war America told through the eyes of World War II veteran Frank Sheeran, a hustler and hitman who worked for legendary crime boss Russell Bufalino alongside some of the most notorious figures of the 20th Century. Spanning decades, Sheeran’s story chronicles one of the greatest unsolved mysteries in American history, the disappearance of legendary union boss Jimmy Hoffa, and it offers a monumental journey through the hidden corridors of organized crime: its inner workings, rivalries and connections to mainstream politics. Sheeran would rise to a position of such prominence that in a RICO suit against The Commission of La Cosa Nostra, the US Government would name him as one of only two non-Italians in conspiracy with the Commission. Sheeran is listed alongside the likes of Anthony “Tony Pro” Provenzano and Anthony “Fat Tony” Salerno. In the course of nearly five years of recorded interviews, Sheeran confessed to Charles Brandt that he handled more than twenty-five hits for the mob, and Brandt turned Sheeran’s story into a page-turning true crime classic.