The Irishman's Daughter

Author: V.S. Alexander

Publisher: Kensington Books

ISBN: 1496712307

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 454


From the acclaimed author of The Magdalen Girls and The Taster comes a powerful, unforgettable novel of strength and resilience, set against the backdrop of the Irish famine. Ireland, 1845. To Briana Walsh, no place on earth is more beautiful than Carrowteige, County Mayo, with its sloping fields and rocky cliffs perched above the wild Atlantic. The small farms that surround the centuries-old Lear House are managed by her father, agent to the wealthy, reckless Sir Thomas Blakely. Tenant farmers sell the oats and rye they grow to pay rent to Sir Thomas, surviving on the potatoes that flourish in the remaining scraps of land. But when the potato crop falls prey to a devastating blight, families Briana has known all her life are left with no food, no resources, and no mercy from the English landowner, who seems indifferent to everything except profit. Rory Caulfield, the hard-working young farmer Briana hopes to marry, shares the locals’ despair—and their anger. There’s talk of violent reprisals against the callous gentry and their agents. Briana’s studious older sister, Lucinda, dreams of a future far beyond Mayo. But even as hunger and disease settle over the country, killing and displacing millions, Briana knows she must find a way to guide her family through one of Ireland’s darkest hours—toward hope, love, and a new beginning. Praise for V.S. Alexander’s The Taster “This haunting and engrossing novel will appeal to fans of Anthony Doerr and Kristin Hannah.” —Booklist “The ‘taster’s’ story adds to a body of nuanced World War II fiction such as Elizabeth Wein’s Code Name Verity, Anthony Doerr’s All the Light We Cannot See, and Tatiana de Rosnay’s Sarah’s Key. Book clubs and historical fiction fans will love discussing this and will eagerly await more from Alexander.” —Library Journal

Wilde the Irishman

Author: Jerusha Hull McCormack

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 0300072961

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 205

View: 8648


"In this vigorous study, seventeen leading Irish artists, critics, and cultural commentators explore the neglected theme of Wilde's Irishness."--Jacket.

Manchester

Author: J.B. Willis

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 1481711490

Category: Fiction

Page: 248

View: 8500


John Bishop Manchester, a boy of sixteen, finds himself confronted with a rather adult situation at a very young and fragile point in his life. He has lived with his mother in the beautiful town of Norfolk, Virginia for the majority life and is unaware of his father's exsistance. When a pile of old secrets finds itself falling upon his mother's library floor, he flees in search of the man he would soon call his father. John finds himself in route along, with his mountain man of an uncle by the name of Frederick Manchester, to the Lexington, South Carolina tobacco plantation. Soon after his arrival, John realizes that the time to mature had come sooner than he had anticipated and finds himself in a very hostile situation. Life has finally reared its nasty head up at him and now he must take accountability for his mistakes and responsibility for the ones he holds dear. He soon finds himself traveling west in the company of a runaway slave by the name of James, two rambunctious irish brothers, and his faithful horse named Old Hickory. Not to mention a band of angry overseers who pursue their every move, led by a ruthless man by the name of Simon Monroe. In the American wild west, John will find that growing up will come natural when exposed to the unpredictability of this untamed land.

After Eli

Author: Terry Kay

Publisher: Untreed Reads

ISBN: 1611874637

Category: Fiction

Page: 167

View: 4343


In 1939, a sweet-talking, blackhearted Irishman works an isolated Georgia town into a ferment with his visions and wild schemes in quest of a legendary cache of money.

Selected Letters of John Keats

Author: John Keats

Publisher: Harvard University Press

ISBN: 0674264991

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 576

View: 4828


The letters of John Keats are, T. S. Eliot remarked, "what letters ought to be; the fine things come in unexpectedly, neither introduced nor shown out, but between trifle and trifle." This new edition, which features four rediscovered letters, three of which are being published here for the first time, affords readers the pleasure of the poet's "trifles" as well as the surprise of his most famous ideas emerging unpredictably. Unlike other editions, this selection includes letters to Keats and among his friends, lending greater perspective to an epistolary portrait of the poet. It also offers a revealing look at his "posthumous existence," the period of Keats's illness in Italy, painstakingly recorded in a series of moving letters by Keats's deathbed companion, Joseph Severn. Other letters by Dr. James Clark, Percy Bysshe Shelley, and Richard Woodhouse--omitted from other selections of Keats's letters--offer valuable additional testimony concerning Keats the man. Edited for greater readability, with annotations reduced and punctuation and spelling judiciously modernized, this selection recreates the spontaneity with which these letters were originally written.