The Irishman's Daughter

Author: V.S. Alexander

Publisher: Kensington Books

ISBN: 1496712307

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 997


From the acclaimed author of The Magdalen Girls and The Taster comes a powerful, unforgettable novel of strength and resilience, set against the backdrop of the Irish famine. Ireland, 1845. To Briana Walsh, no place on earth is more beautiful than Carrowteige, County Mayo, with its sloping fields and rocky cliffs perched above the wild Atlantic. The small farms that surround the centuries-old Lear House are managed by her father, agent to the wealthy, reckless Sir Thomas Blakely. Tenant farmers sell the oats and rye they grow to pay rent to Sir Thomas, surviving on the potatoes that flourish in the remaining scraps of land. But when the potato crop falls prey to a devastating blight, families Briana has known all her life are left with no food, no resources, and no mercy from the English landowner, who seems indifferent to everything except profit. Rory Caulfield, the hard-working young farmer Briana hopes to marry, shares the locals’ despair—and their anger. There’s talk of violent reprisals against the callous gentry and their agents. Briana’s studious older sister, Lucinda, dreams of a future far beyond Mayo. But even as hunger and disease settle over the country, killing and displacing millions, Briana knows she must find a way to guide her family through one of Ireland’s darkest hours—toward hope, love, and a new beginning. Praise for V.S. Alexander’s The Taster “This haunting and engrossing novel will appeal to fans of Anthony Doerr and Kristin Hannah.” —Booklist “The ‘taster’s’ story adds to a body of nuanced World War II fiction such as Elizabeth Wein’s Code Name Verity, Anthony Doerr’s All the Light We Cannot See, and Tatiana de Rosnay’s Sarah’s Key. Book clubs and historical fiction fans will love discussing this and will eagerly await more from Alexander.” —Library Journal

After Eli

Author: Terry Kay

Publisher: Untreed Reads

ISBN: 1611874637

Category: Fiction

Page: 167

View: 596


In 1939, a sweet-talking, blackhearted Irishman works an isolated Georgia town into a ferment with his visions and wild schemes in quest of a legendary cache of money.

Oscar Wilde and Contemporary Irish Drama

Author: Graham Price

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 3319933450

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 249

View: 2845


This book is about the Wildean aesthetic in contemporary Irish drama. Through elucidating a discernible Wildean strand in the plays of Brian Friel, Tom Murphy, Thomas Kilroy, Marina Carr and Frank McGuinness, it demonstrates that Oscar Wilde's importance to Ireland's theatrical canon is equal to that of W. B. Yeats, J. M. Synge and Samuel Beckett. The study examines key areas of the Wildean aesthetic: his aestheticizing of experience via language and self-conscious performance; the notion of the dandy in Wildean texts and how such a figure is engaged with in today's dramas; and how his contribution to the concept of a ‘verbal theatre’ has influenced his dramatic successors. It is of particular pertinence to academics and postgraduate students in the fields of Irish drama and Irish literature, and for those interested in the work of Oscar Wilde, Brian Friel, Tom Murphy, Thomas Kilroy, Marina Carr and Frank McGuinness. okokpoj

Radburn Bay

Author: Ruth Donnelly

Publisher: Christian Faith Publishing, Inc.

ISBN: 1645154262

Category: Fiction

Page: 538

View: 6333


When their great Aunt Rebecca Sarah passes away, Jonathan Radburn and his family inherit the great Radburn Hall on the shores of Radburn Bay. But upon inheriting the great Hall, it comes with an ancestor: Thomas Radburn. Thomas Radburn is very much undead and has been sleeping in the wine cellar since the early part of the twentieth century. As everyone else has received an inheritance; Jimmy Wolf has received an old key. With this old key, Jimmy unlocks Thomas's coffin unsuspectingly. Jimmy unleashes Thomas Radburn into an unsuspecting world. The history of Radburn Bay comes alive, regaling how Radburn Bay was settled.