The Knife Man

Author: Wendy Moore

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1409044629

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 656

View: 8832


WINNER OF THE MEDICAL JOURNALISTS' OPEN BOOK AWARD 2005 Revered and feared in equal measure, John Hunter was the most famous surgeon of eighteenth-century London. Rich or poor, aristocrat or human freak, suffering Georgians knew that Hunter's skills might well save their lives but if he failed, their corpses could end up on his dissecting table, their bones and organs destined for display in his remarkable, macabre museum. Maverick medical pioneer, adored teacher, brilliant naturalist, Hunter was a key figure of the Enlightenment who transformed surgery, advanced biological understanding and even anticipated the evolutionary theories of Darwin. He provided inspiration both for Dr Jekyll and Dr Dolittle. But the extremes to which he went to pursue his scientific mission raised question marks then as now. John Hunter's extraordinary world comes to life in this remarkable, award-winning biography written by a wonderful new talent.

Itchy Mitch and the Taming of Broken Jaw Junction

Author: Duane L. Ostler

Publisher: Duane L Ostler

ISBN: 1476260303

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 70

View: 383


In the year 1885, the sleepy little Nevada town of Broken Jaw Junction is a quiet place--until Old Jake finds gold! Suddenly the town is overrun by outlaws, galoots and trouble makers of all kinds, and there doesn't seem to be a sheriff in the old west who can stop them. That is, until vegetable-loving 'Itchy Mitch' Gardener arrives. He looks like a harmless West Virginia farm boy who would rather just plant tomatoes and hoe weeds than fight outlaws. But somehow he manages to stop quick draws, bank robbers, cattle thieves, claim jumpers and bullies. And he does it all with just a few carrot sticks and celery! It looks like Sheriff Mitch is unstoppable and that law and order and vegetable salad have come to Broken Jaw Junction to stay. But even Itchy Mitch isn't invincible, and one day he meets his match in a most unexpected foe ...

Rio Savannah

Author: Tad Hutton

Publisher: Foremost Press, Inc.

ISBN: 0978970411

Category: Fiction

Page: 248

View: 9634


Violence and fear erupt on two continents as Gray Hart's business trip entangles him in kidnappings, drug wars, and terrorist attacks. His friends become defiant heroes, battling the greed and corruption of major powers.

Piercing the Darkness

Author: Frank Peretti

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1451673345

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 1571


Now in ebook, the classic sequel to bestseller This Present Darkness, about another small town in the midst of an unseen supernatural battle for truth. This sequel to This Present Darkness follows the supernatural battle over the small town of Bacon’s Corner, where, once again, armies of angels and demons are at war. Sally Beth Roe is trying to escape her past and struggling to find the truth, while Tom Harris finds himself embroiled in a battle to save a Christian school threatened by outside forces.

Bingo's Run

Author: James A. Levine

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1588369471

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 5464


For fans of Dave Eggers, Teju Cole, and James McBride, comes this extraordinary novel of morality and the redemptive powers of art that offers a glimpse into an African underworld rarely described in fiction. Meet Bingo, the greatest drug runner in the slums of Kibera, Nairobi, and maybe the world. A teenage grifter, often mistaken for a younger boy, he faithfully serves Wolf, the drug lord of Kibera. Bingo spends his days throwing rocks at Krazi Hari, the prophet of Kibera’s garbage mound, “lipping” safari tourists of their cash, and hanging out with his best friend, Slo-George, a taciturn fellow whose girth is a mystery to Bingo in a place where there is never enough food. Bingo earns his keep by running “white” to a host of clients, including Thomas Hunsa, a reclusive artist whose paintings, rooted in African tradition, move him. But when Bingo witnesses a drug-related murder and Wolf sends him to an orphanage for “protection,” Bingo’s life changes and he learns that life itself is the “run.” A modern trickster tale that draws on African folklore, Bingo’s Run is a wildly original, often very funny, and always moving story of a boy alone in a corrupt and dangerous world who must depend on his wits and inner resources to survive. ONE OF LIBRARY JOURNAL’S OUTSTANDING NEW VOICES TO CONSIDER “Bingo’s voice guides us; by turns he is aggressive, confident, smart, cynical, but also naive. Bingo tosses his observations at us with great urgency, almost percussively, in a staccato manner that recalls gunshots. And though he’s blunt, he’s also a sensitive observer. . . . Levine is creating a sense of an entire world, raffish and fast. . . . The larger story Levine is telling . . . is the story of a person’s mind, and of the good, bad, and indifferent forces that make him what he is—and that story is told with compassion and intelligence.”—The Boston Globe “James A. Levine is a deeply gifted writer who reaches into the dirt, sweat, and diesel of modern-day Nairobi and introduces us to a young innocent whose adventures are unforgettable. Bingo’s runs between joy and death, laughter and sorrow, survival and redemption, will make you feel like cheering.”—James McBride, author of The Good Lord Bird and The Color of Water “Bingo’s Run is one of those rare books that infuse a potentially difficult subject with intimacy, tenderness, and humor. Social commentary, gritty comedy, and pure cinematic adrenaline meet in an utterly compelling novel with a voice all its own.”—Tash Aw, author of Five Star Billionaire “Bingo’s Run manages to read like timely news and high adventure at the same time. Levine’s main character, Bingo, is an underage drug runner, hardened orphan, and hustler extraordinaire. He’s also funny and wise well beyond his years. The rousing story of Bingo’s evolution is matched only by Levine’s portrait of modern-day Nairobi, both child and city depicted with real flair and affection.”—Victor LaValle, author of The Devil in Silver “Bingo is a fascinating and inimitably likable character. Levine, a Mayo clinic professor of medicine and well-known child advocate, excels at telling his adventurous, comic, and realistically gritty story with humor but not with pathos, successfully addressing the harsh and sometimes tragic story of a child at risk.”—Library Journal

Gods & Monsters

Author: Lyn Benedict

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101513942

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 9236


View our feature on Lyn Benedict's Gods & Monsters. Sylvie Lightner is no ordinary P.I. She specializes in cases involving the unusual and unbelievable. When she finds the bodies of five women in the Florida Everglades, Sylvie believes them to be the work of a serial killer and passes the buck. But when the bodies wake and shift shape, killing the police, Sylvie finds herself at the head of a potentially lethal investigation.

The Italian Lover

Author: Robert Hellenga

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0316026301

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 1699


An exhilarating novel of romance, art, and food in Florence, featuring the beloved Margot Harrington, who graced Robert Hellenga's The Sixteen Pleasures. Margot Harrington's memoir about her discovery in Florence of a priceless masterwork of Renaissance erotica -- and the misguided love affair it inspired - is now, 25 years later, being made into a movie. Margot, with the help of her lover, Woody, writes a script that she thinks will validate her life. Of course their script is not used, but never mind -- happy endings are the best endings for movies, as Margot eventually comes to see. At the former convent in Florence where The Sixteen Pleasures -- now called The Italian Lover - - is being filmed, Margot enters into a drama she never imagined, where her ideas of home, love, art, and aging collide with the imperatives of commerce and the unknowability of other cultures and other people.

THE BIOPODS of RESUS NINE

Author: Peter Thompson

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1326887831

Category: Fiction

Page: 284

View: 3135


In a race to the planet of Tharn to help Princess Jeeva's home world, Marcus Cobb's life almost ends. There, he finds his old enemy the Lowi and their creches, but now there is a far more dangerous offshoot, developed by them. A being with a mind of its own and an agenda that the creches know nothing about.

Tango Dragon and the Asteroid

Author: Robert Denton

Publisher: Balboa Press

ISBN: 1452596239

Category: Fiction

Page: 396

View: 8076


The first story, Ice Dragon Rising, explains how three young men sacrificed their own lives to create the Ice Dragon to save their world from a terrible War Lord. Broken for two thousand years, the next episode begins in 2012. The Reluctant Hero tells of Henry Barton-Jones, now ready but reluctant to take up the fight. Almost blinded by a rainstorm lashing deserted streets, he collides with Charlotte Masterson. She is wandering forlorn and desperate to free herself from Ricardo Bettencourt, a notorious and psychopathic but brilliant villain and drug baron. Henry connects with his old CIA partner, and together they fight Ricardos global blackmail scheme as it begins to go wrong with threatening and catastrophic consequences. In Tango Dragon and the Asteroid, Henry finds an innocent tango school in Toulouse is a cover for a private combat-training school. Ricardo still wants to kill Charlotte but then changes his mind. In a psychopathic mind game, Ricardo deviously binds Henry and Charlotte into another grotesque but daring blackmail scheme to bleed $380 billion from the worlds governments and walk away scot free.