The Last Best Cure

Author: Donna Jackson Nakazawa

Publisher: Avery

ISBN: 159463128X

Category: Health & Fitness

Page: 299

View: 2238


The award-winning author of The Autoimmune Epidemic traces her long-time struggle with autoimmune disorders and her effort to improve life quality, documenting her year-long experimentation with various therapies before discovering a transformative treatment for negative childhood experiences.

The Last Best Cure

Author: Donna Jackson Nakazawa

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101609907

Category: Self-Help

Page: 320

View: 6221


One day Donna Jackson Nakazawa found herself lying on the floor to recover from climbing the stairs. That’s when it hit her. She was managing the symptoms of the autoimmune disorders that had plagued her for a decade, but she had lost her joy. As a science journalist, she was curious to know what mind-body strategies might help her. As a wife and mother she was determined to get her life back. Over the course of one year, Nakazawa researches and tests a variety of therapies including meditation, yoga, and acupuncture to find out what works. But the discovery of a little-known branch of research into Adverse Childhood Experiences causes her to have an epiphany about her illness that not only stuns her—it turns her life around. Perfect for readers of Gretchen Rubin's The Happiness Project, Nakazawa shares her unexpected discoveries, amazing improvements, and shows readers how they too can find their own last best cure.

Compass to Healing: My Journey to Wellness

Author: Rebecca A. Houtsma

Publisher: Balboa Press

ISBN: 1982277033

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 260

View: 2293


In the spring of 2015, I became very ill. For eighteen months, I could barely get off the couch. I was sick, had no energy, my anxiety went out of control, and I sank into a deep depression. In Compass to Healing: My Journey to Wellness, I share what happened to me when I finally gave up trying to fix, control, and micromanage the universe to protect my family and heal myself. Compass to Healing: My Journey to Wellness tells the story of my surrender to a higher power and the gifts and guidance that came to me in the form of a voice, signs, and messages, many of which I received from family, friends, and strangers, as I began to experiment with connecting, trusting, and communicating with that higher realm of power. In Compass to Healing: My Journey to Wellness, I begin to discover my own inner compass and a way out of fear and anxiety, and, in doing so, regain my health and courage and find myself gifted with miracles, faith, hope, and the great, healing love of family and friends—love that was there all along, and love that carried me through. I interpret my healing journey using the spiritual lens of the traditional, indigenous, Andean Medicine Wheel and its four cardinal directions. In Compass to Healing: My Journey to Wellness, my healing journey takes me south and west and brings me into contact with beautiful events, places, and people—each with something important to teach me.

The Angel and the Assassin

Author: Donna Jackson Nakazawa

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN: 1524799181

Category: Science

Page: 320

View: 6993


A thrilling story of scientific detective work and medical potential that illuminates the newly understood role of microglia—an elusive type of brain cell that is vitally relevant to our everyday lives. “The rarest of books: a combination of page-turning discovery and remarkably readable science journalism.”—Mark Hyman, MD, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Food: What the Heck Should I Eat? NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY WIRED Until recently, microglia were thought to be helpful but rather boring: housekeeper cells in the brain. But a recent groundbreaking discovery has revealed that they connect our physical and mental health in surprising ways. When triggered—and anything that stirs up the immune system in the body can activate microglia, including chronic stressors, trauma, and viral infections—they can contribute to memory problems, anxiety, depression, and Alzheimer’s. Under the right circumstances, however, microglia can be coaxed back into being angelic healers, able to make brain repairs in ways that help alleviate symptoms and hold the promise to one day prevent disease. With the compassion born of her own experience, award-winning journalist Donna Jackson Nakazawa illuminates this newly understood science, following practitioners and patients on the front lines of treatments that help to “reboot” microglia. In at least one case, she witnesses a stunning recovery—and in others, significant relief from pressing symptoms, offering new hope to the tens of millions who suffer from mental, cognitive, and physical health issues. Hailed as a “riveting,” “stunning,” and “visionary,” The Angel and the Assassin offers us a radically reconceived picture of human health and promises to change everything we thought we knew about how to heal ourselves.

The Ultimate Competitive Advantage

Author: Shawn D Moon,Sue Dathe-Douglass

Publisher: BenBella Books, Inc.

ISBN: 1940363640

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 224

View: 2477


“People are our most important asset." Every company pays lip service to this platitude, but how many companies really embrace it? People are what sustain—or ruin—your brand. If your people are not excited about the company, indifferent, or even alienated from it, your competitive advantage will disappear. In The Ultimate Competitive Advantage, FranklinCovey experts Shawn D. Moon and Sue Dathe-Douglass lay out the steps leaders can take to tap into their companies' most valuable and unique resource: people. When you promote a company of proactive and engaged employees who create a winning culture, sustain it, leverage it, and make it work no matter what comes your way, your business rises above the rest. From the company that brought you The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, The Ultimate Competitive Advantage offers six highly effective practices that will propel your company to success by unleashing the potential of your people. Each practice in The Ultimate Competitive Advantage is based on fundamental principles that hold true across all industries, from the necessity of being proactive to the importance of building win-win relationships. Implementing these practices is the key to making a distinctive difference in the marketplace. The Ultimate Competitive Advantage will enable your company to achieve remarkable results and become an industry standout by leveraging your most important asset: your people.

Beyond Measure

Author: Vicki Abeles

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1451699255

Category: Education

Page: 304

View: 1277


Now in paperback, the New York Times bestseller from Race to Nowhere director Vicki Abeles about how our schools can revolutionize learning, prioritize children’s health, and re-envision success for a lifetime. Race to Nowhere, Vicki Abeles’s groundbreaking documentary about our educational system, tapped into a widespread problem in our nation’s schools: From high school to kindergarten, an entire generation of American students is being pressured to perform in ways that make them less intellectually flexible, creative, and responsive to a changing world. Vicki brought home how, as students race against each other to have constantly higher grades, better test scores, and more AP courses than their classmates, they are damaging their own mental and physical health. Now in the New York Times bestseller Beyond Measure, Vicki continues this all-important conversation, seeking out success stories to inspire and instruct those who are eager to create change. We see examples of teachers who have cut the workload in half and seen scores rise; parents who have taken the pressure off of their kids only to find their motivation and abilities rise on their own; schools that have instituted later start times so that the kids are getting the sleep they need able to learn more efficiently. Everyone is aware that the educational system is broken, and Beyond Measure reveals a personal, unique, on-the-ground perspective. From limiting the number of AP courses a college will consider to eliminating the competitive need to “do more than the next kid” and shifting emphasis in the admissions process to essay options over test scores. “With both heart and smarts, Vicki Abeles showcases the courageous communities that are rejecting the childhood rat race and reclaiming health and learning (Maria Shriver).” The result will help students succeed, not just on the race to college—but for life.

So You Want to Sing with Awareness

Author: Matthew Hoch

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers

ISBN: 1538124734

Category: Mindfulness (Psychology)

Page: 344

View: 1795


"So You Want to Sing with Awareness brings together a variety of topics related to bodywork and mindfulness routinely practiced by singing teachers. Each chapter is written by a specialist in the field who has successfully adapted a specific method and integrated its core concepts into their pedagogy"--