The Last Living Slut

Author: Roxana Shirazi

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 0061992496

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 336

View: 7871


The Last Living Slut is the salaciously literary and sexually liberated account of one young woman’s transition from traditionally-raised Iranian to rock and roll groupie for Guns N Roses, Motley Crew, and many others. Paired with a powerful introduction by New York Times bestselling authors Neil Strauss and Anthony Bozza, Roxana Shirazi’s The Last Living Slut is a passionate tale of jilted love, brutal revenge, and backstage encounters that make Pamela Des Barres’s I’m With The Band read like the diary of a nun.

The Literature of the Iranian Diaspora

Author: Sanaz Fotouhi

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 0857724304

Category: History

Page: 280

View: 9874


The 1979 Revolution in Iran caused the migration of millions of Iranians, many of whom wrote, and are still writing, of their experiences. Formed at the junctions of Iranian culture, English language and Western cultures, this body of work has not only formed a unique literary space, offering an insightful reflection of Iranian diasporic experiences and its shifting nature, but it has also been making a unique and understudied contribution to World Literatures in English as significant as Indian, African and Asian writing in English. Sanaz Fotouhi here traces the origins of the emerging body of diasporic Iranian literature in English, and uses these origins to examine the socio-political position and historical context from which they have emerged. Fotouhi brings together, introduces and analyses, for the first time, a significant range of diasporic Iranian writers alongside each other and alongside other diasporic literatures in English. While situating this body of work through existing theories such as postcolonialism, Fotouhi sheds new light on the role of Iranian literature and culture in Western literature by showing that these writings distinctively reflect experiences unique to the Iranian diaspora. Analysing the relationship between Iranians and their new surroundings, by drawing on theories of migration, narration and identity, Fotouhi examines how the literature borne out of the Iranian diaspora reconstructs, maintains and negotiates their Individual and communal identities and reflects today's socio-political realities. This book will be vital for researchers of Middle Eastern literature and its relationship with writings from the West, as well as those interested in the cultural history of the Middle East.

Atomic Love: A Heavy Metal Memoir

Author: Jessie Rose

Publisher: Black Summer Press

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 772

View: 8542


Dark. Terrifying. Compelling. Los Angeles, 1986. Jenny Stone, a blossoming art student, is lured into the L.A. underground by a blue-haired, goth street artist with a purse full of drugs and a not-so-lucky rabbit’s foot. Lost, she lands at the feet of a charismatic rock star, Evan Reed. Not a Sunset glam rocker, Evan is the lead singer of rock 'n’ roll’s loudest, angriest band, embodying the dark side of the “The Strip.” Handsome, charming, and enthralled with the young artist, he wants her paintings—then he wants her. A dangerous cocktail of narcissistic love bombing and manipulation keeps her in his orbit. His demons and need for control threaten every aspect of their lives together. There were warnings, one red flag after another. Yet, Jenny is pulled into money, fame, and excess. Will she survive or succumb to the violence that surrounds her? Atomic Love is Sharp Objects meets heavy metal memoir and will appeal to fans of Gone Girl and Caroline Kepnes's You.

Urban and Visual Culture in Contemporary Iran

Author: Pedram Dibazar

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1350195316

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 224

View: 2796


In Urban and Visual Culture in Contemporary Iran, Pedram Dibazar argues that everyday life in Iran is a rich domain of social existence and cultural production. Regular patterns of day-to-day practice in Iran are imbued with forms of expressivity that are unmarked and inconspicuous, but have remarkable critical value for a cultural study of contemporary society. Blended into the rhythms of everyday life are nonconformist modes of presence, subtle in their visibility and non-confrontational in their resistance to the established societal norms and structures. This volume is about such everyday tactics and creativity as lived in space, visualised in cultural forms and communicated through media. Through its analysis of familiar everyday experiences, Urban and Visual Culture in Contemporary Iran covers a wide range of ordinary practices-such as walking, driving, shopping and doing or watching sports-and spatial conditions-such as streets, cars, rooftops, shopping centres and stadiums. It also explores a variety of cultural formations, including film, photography, architecture, literature, visual arts, television and digital media. This book offers new ways of thinking about visual and urban cultures by highlighting a politics of everyday life that is conditioned on concerns over visibility and presence.

Seen and Unseen: Visual Cultures of Imperialism

Author: Sanaz Fotouhi,Esmail Zeiny

Publisher: BRILL

ISBN: 9004357017

Category: History

Page: 225

View: 8049


Seen and Unseen explores how visual mediums construct visual cultures that create limited perspectives of issues and groups, specific to this volume, the representation of Islam and Muslims. It deals with fixed and stereotypical visual representations and explores alternative and challenging representations that are reconstructing existing belief systems.

Marcus the Last Living Roman

Author: Robert W. Barker

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 1462828698

Category: Fiction

Page: 772

View: 9482


In 88 B.C. King Mithradates Eupator VI of Pontus ordered the murders of every man, woman, and child of Latin heritage in all of Asia Minor {Today’s Turkey} and the Aegean Cyclades. A state organized genocide or murder of Romans covering half a continent and over one hundred thousand victims. Herein resides the account of one exceptionally unfortunate and resilient youth. He awakes to a dissimilar world and discovers his life torn to shreds. Yet he makes the most of his situation with brains, bravado, and spiritual strength. This is further the narrative of those brave Ionian souls who we re willing to risk their lives to assist this Roman lad. Witnessing his families’ demise, the young man survives and is the last Latin speaking citizen remaining alive in this vast area.

Songbooks

Author: Eric Weisbard

Publisher: Duke University Press

ISBN: 147802139X

Category: Music

Page: 552

View: 5294


In Songbooks, critic and scholar Eric Weisbard offers a critical guide to books on American popular music from William Billings's 1770 New-England Psalm-Singer to Jay-Z's 2010 memoir Decoded. Drawing on his background editing the Village Voice music section, coediting the Journal of Popular Music Studies, and organizing the Pop Conference, Weisbard connects American music writing from memoirs, biographies, and song compilations to blues novels, magazine essays, and academic studies. The authors of these works are as diverse as the music itself: women, people of color, queer writers, self-educated scholars, poets, musicians, and elites discarding their social norms. Whether analyzing books on Louis Armstrong, the Beatles, and Madonna; the novels of Theodore Dreiser, Gayl Jones, and Jennifer Egan; or varying takes on blackface minstrelsy, Weisbard charts an alternative history of American music as told through its writing. As Weisbard demonstrates, the most enduring work pursues questions that linger across time period and genre—cultural studies in the form of notes on the fly, on sounds that never cease to change meaning.

Gender, Metal and the Media

Author: Rosemary Lucy Hill

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 113755441X

Category: Social Science

Page: 184

View: 4205


This book is a timely examination of the tension between being a rock music fan and being a woman. From the media representation of women rock fans as groupies to the widely held belief that hard rock and metal is masculine music, being a music fan is an experience shaped by gender. Through a lively discussion of the idealised imaginary community created in the media and interviews with women fans in the UK, Rosemary Lucy Hill grapples with the controversial topics of groupies, sexism and male dominance in metal. She challenges the claim that the genre is inherently masculine, arguing that musical pleasure is much more sophisticated than simplistic enjoyments of aggression, violence and virtuosity. Listening to women’s experiences, she maintains, enables new thinking about hard rock and metal music, and about what it is like to be a women fan in a sexist environment.