The Liar's Daughter

Author: Rona Halsall

Publisher: Bookouture

ISBN: 1800192835

Category: Fiction

Page: 311

View: 8205


‘Wow!!!!… An absolutely fantastic unputdownable psychological thriller… It kept me on the edge of my seat and then in the edge of my bed until late at night as I just could not put it down!!!… I was captivated.’ Bookworm86 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ The call comes on an ordinary Sunday afternoon to say your sister has been admitted to hospital with a serious head injury. But you don’t have a sister… do you? You’ve never doubted your parents. You’ve loved them without question your whole life. But your stepmother is uncharacteristically speechless, and your father isn’t well enough to understand. So you get in your car. Turn the key in the ignition. Knowing everything behind you is a lie. Not knowing what lies ahead: the truth… or something far darker? A deliciously dark and twisty tale of deception, secrets and family ties, The Liar’s Daughter is perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, The Woman in the Window and The Family Upstairs. Readers are loving The Liar’s Daughter: ‘Holy Moly!… I LOVED it!… There are just SO many secrets that made my head spin… I was tricked, kept in the dark and that rug was firmly pulled from my feet… A book that will sink its claws into you. It made me question everything… Enough twists to keep your head spinning as if you have been on the Waltzers!!’ Zooloo’s Book Diary ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Straight out FABULOUS!!… Every..... Single..... Time.... I thought I had it figured out I got a surprising twist. Don't ya just love that?… I literally could not put this book down.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Wowzers!!… What a rollercoaster this was, just when you think you had worked it out bang Rona pulls out another twist… Gripping all the way to the end… My book of the year.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Deliciously dark and twisty… Will have you locking all the doors and flipping pages in order to find out what happened… Seriously one of the best psychological thrillers I’ve read in a long time!… Your heart will be pounding!’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Absolutely love this book, read it so fast… One of the best thrillers of the year. I highly recommend it.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Hands down one of the best thrillers I’ve read so far this year… Will have your heart racing, your palms sweaty, and your breath stuck in your throat. The suspense gets that overwhelming. Wear a neck brace when you read this one!… It’s a twisty roller coaster ride… Just when you think the story is going in one direction, another sudden, unexpected twist jerks it in another… The ending is brilliant!’ Book Rant Reviews ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘It’s 4AM where I am and I had to tell you how much I loved this one. I stayed up all night when I only intended to read one chapter. Do yourself a favor, get this page turner full of twists, secrets, surprises. You have no idea what to expect next. Just when you think you know — you have no clue.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘From the very beginning a feeling of creepiness crept into the book. I felt I had to be on guard the whole time. There never seemed to be a safe place. It was like there was always someone watching, following your every move and that’s just great... I thoroughly enjoyed it.’ B for Bookreview ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘This book just goes off like a rocket – believe me it just gets better and better. There’s a particular point where you realise there is so much more to this story and the twists and turns start. I stayed up into the early hours to finish [it].’ Fiction Cafe Book Club ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

The Liar's Promise

Author: Mark Tilbury

Publisher: Bloodhound+ORM

ISBN: 1913682684

Category: Fiction

Page: 312

View: 3904


A mother must protect her daughter from an unknown evil in this dark paranormal thriller from the author of the Ben Whittle Investigations. During a visit to a local theatre, four-year-old Chloe Hollis becomes hysterical. But her mother, Mel, doesn’t realise that this is just the beginning of the nightmare. In the coming weeks, Chloe talks of the Tall Man—of death. At her wit's end, Mel confides in Charles Honeywell, the headmaster at the school where she works. But what Mel doesn’t know is that Charles is linked to what is happening to her daughter. Will Mel learn the terrible truth? And can she overcome her own tragic past and save her daughter before it’s too late?

The Liar's Room

Author: Simon Lelic

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 0241296579

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 337


'BRILLIANTLY CHILLING' Cara Hunter, author of In the Dark 'YOU'LL TRY TO OUTGUESS THE PLOT BUT ALWAYS BE ONE STEP BEHIND' C J Tudor One Room. Two Liars. Who will make it out alive? FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE HOUSE, COMES THE NEW SPINE-TINGLING THRILLER YOU WON'T BE ABLE TO PUT DOWN Susanna Fenton has a secret. Fourteen years ago she left her identity behind, reinventing herself as a counsellor and starting a new life. It was the only way to keep her daughter safe. But everything changes when Adam Geraghty walks into her office. She's never met this young man before - so why does she feel like she knows him? Then Adam starts to tell her about a girl. A girl he wants to hurt. And Susanna realises she was wrong. She doesn't know him. BUT HE KNOWS HER. AND THE GIRL HE PLANS TO HURT IS HER DAUGHTER... The addictive new thriller with an ending you'll never guess, The Liar's Room is perfect for readers of Shari Lapena's The Couple Next Door and A J Finn's The Woman in the Window. SIMON LELIC - THRILLERS TO KEEP YOU UP ALL NIGHT: 'Had me in a headlock from the start and wouldn't loosen its grip till the last page' John Marrs 'Deliciously dark and clever' Mark Edwards 'Taut, unsettling and brilliantly done' Tim Logan 'Tense and unputdownable as anything. A fantastic read' Luca Veste 'A superbly written and well-crafted thriller. It will have you up all hours of the night!' Kathryn Croft 'The Liar's Room is a book you can't walk away from' Emma Kavanagh 'A wonderfully claustrophobic read exposing the fault lines in families and the terrible danger of secrets' Cath Staincliffe 'Brilliant ... complex characters that draw you in and won't let you go' Amy Lloyd 'Hugely gripping and spooky as hell' Mark Billingham 'Taught, tense and terrifying, I loved it!' Sharon Bolton 'A darkly disturbing thriller that hooked me from the first page. Highly recommended!' Nuala Ellwood, author of My Sister's Bones 'This terrifying thriller sent shivers through me' Jane Corry, author of My Husband's Wife

Revenge of the Liar

Author: JC Beall

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0199233918

Category: Philosophy

Page: 374

View: 1865


Fourteen new essays by some of the world's leading experts, together with an extensive introduction, examine the nature of the Liar paradox and its resistance to any attempt to solve it.

The Liar's Dictionary

Author: Eley Williams

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1473562805

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 5964


A WINNER OF THE 2021 BETTY TRASK AWARDS SHORTLISTED FOR THE DESMOND ELLIOTT PRIZE 2021 __________________________ 'Joyous' SPECTATOR 'Remarkable' SUNDAY TIMES 'A playful delight... A glorious novel' OBSERVER Swansby's New Encyclopaedic Dictionary is riddled with fictitious entries known as mountweazels penned by Peter Winceworth, a man wishing to make his lasting mark back in 1899. It's up to young intern Mallory to uncover these mountweazels before the dictionary can be digitised for modern readers. Lost in Winceworth's imagination - a world full of meaningless words - will Mallory finally discover the secret to living a meaningful life? __________________________ 'Made me almost tearful with gratitude that a book as clever as this could give such uncomplicated pleasure ... And when you find a book like this, you grab it, and you hold it close.' JOHN SELF 'A delight ... As funny and vivid as Dickens, as moving and memorable as Nabokov ... An extraordinarily large-hearted work.' THE CRITIC 'Deft and clever, refreshing and rewarding ... An assured and satisfying writer, her language rich and intricate and her characters rounded enough to be sympathetic and lampoonist enough to be terribly funny.' LITERARY REVIEW '[The] most exciting of young British writers ... Williams luxuriates in words and wordplay, in definition and precision and invention ...The Liar's Dictionary is a public joy, and Eley Williams a free-spirited literary kook with bags of potential.' BIG ISSUE 'A singular, hilarious, word-drunk novel, which I suspect will be seen in the future as a classic comic novel.' DAVID HAYDEN, IRISH TIMES 'The Liar's Dictionary is the book I was longing for ... Positively intoxicated with the joy and wonder of language ... Eley Williams brings erudition and playfulness - and lovely sweetness - to every page.' BENJAMIN DREYER, New York Times bestselling author of DREYER'S ENGLISH 'This tale of lexical intrigues is an absolute joy to read! It's gloriously inventive and playful, but with just the right amount of heart.' LUCY SCHOLES

Tall Stories From the Liar's Bench

Author: Paul R. Wonning

Publisher: Mossy Feet Books

ISBN: 1311327371

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 4350


These funny tall tales are anything but true. This classic collection of homespun humor as told by the two men on the Liar’s Bench in Seldon’s Barbershop amuses and sometimes astounds the other occupant of the barbershop, Jason Wells. You will laugh at the hilarious tales spun by the rascals on the liar’s bench. tall tale, hilarious, funny fiction, humor, collection, tall story

The Liar in Your Life

Author: Robert Feldman

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0446552194

Category: Psychology

Page: 304

View: 9631


In The Liar in Your Life, psychology professor Robert Feldman, one of the world's leading authorities on deception, draws on his immense body of knowledge to give fresh insights into how and why we lie, how our culture has become increasingly tolerant of deception, the cost it exacts on us, and what to do about it. His work is at once surprising and sobering, full of corrections for common myths and explanations of pervasive oversimplifications. Feldman examines marital infidelity, little white lies, career-driven resumé lies, and how we teach children to lie. Along the way, he reveals-despite our beliefs to the contrary- how it is nearly impossible to spot a liar (studies have shown no relationship between nervousness, lack of eye contact, or a trembling voice, and acts of deception). He also provides startling evidence of just how integral lying is to our culture; indeed, his research shows that two people, meeting for the first time, will lie to each other an average of three times in the first ten minutes of a conversation. Feldman uses this discussion of deception to explore ways we can cope with infidelity, betrayal, and mistrust, in our friends and family. He also describes the lies we tell ourselves: Sometimes, the liar in your life is the person you see in the mirror. With incisive clarity and wry wit, Feldman has written a truthful book for anyone who whose life has been touched by deception.

The Liar ; The Illusion

Author: Pierre Corneille

Publisher: Theatre Communications Group

ISBN: N.A

Category: French drama

Page: 124

View: 1727


The Liar

Author: Luke Harding,David Leigh,David Pallister

Publisher: Penguin Uk

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 236

View: 4403


When the Guardian first published details of Jonathan Aitken's abuse of power, he resigned from the Cabinet and vowed to fight for his name. In this book, three of the journalists who worked on the original story reveal the details of what unfolded.