The Library Book

Author: Susan Orlean

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

ISBN: 1476740194

Category: History

Page: 336

View: 4139


Susan Orlean’s bestseller and New York Times Notable Book is “a sheer delight…as rich in insight and as varied as the treasures contained on the shelves in any local library” (USA TODAY)—a dazzling love letter to a beloved institution and an investigation into one of its greatest mysteries. “Everybody who loves books should check out The Library Book” (The Washington Post). On the morning of April 28, 1986, a fire alarm sounded in the Los Angeles Public Library. The fire was disastrous: it reached two thousand degrees and burned for more than seven hours. By the time it was extinguished, it had consumed four hundred thousand books and damaged seven hundred thousand more. Investigators descended on the scene, but more than thirty years later, the mystery remains: Did someone purposefully set fire to the library—and if so, who? Weaving her lifelong love of books and reading into an investigation of the fire, award-winning New Yorker reporter and New York Times bestselling author Susan Orlean delivers a “delightful…reflection on the past, present, and future of libraries in America” (New York magazine) that manages to tell the broader story of libraries and librarians in a way that has never been done before. In the “exquisitely written, consistently entertaining” (The New York Times) The Library Book, Orlean chronicles the LAPL fire and its aftermath to showcase the larger, crucial role that libraries play in our lives; delves into the evolution of libraries; brings each department of the library to vivid life; studies arson and attempts to burn a copy of a book herself; and reexamines the case of Harry Peak, the blond-haired actor long suspected of setting fire to the LAPL more than thirty years ago. “A book lover’s dream…an ambitiously researched, elegantly written book that serves as a portal into a place of history, drama, culture, and stories” (Star Tribune, Minneapolis), Susan Orlean’s thrilling journey through the stacks reveals how these beloved institutions provide much more than just books—and why they remain an essential part of the heart, mind, and soul of our country.

The Library Book

Author: N.A

Publisher: Profile Books

ISBN: 1847658407

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 132

View: 5102


From Alan Bennett's Baffled at a Bookcase, to Lucy Mangan's Library Rules, famous writers tell us all about how libraries are used and why they're important. Tom Holland writes about libraries in the ancient world, while Seth Godin describes what a library will look like in the future. Lionel Shriver thinks books are the best investment, Hardeep Singh Kohli makes a confession and Julie Myerson remembers how her career began beside the shelves. Using memoir, history, polemic and some short stories too, The Library Book celebrates 'that place where they lend you books for free' and the people who work there. All royalties go to The Reading Agency, to help their work supporting libraries.

Summary of Susan Orlean's The Library Book

Author: Everest Media,

Publisher: Everest Media LLC

ISBN: 1669358380

Category: History

Page: N.A

View: 3772


Please note: This is a companion version & not the original book. Sample Book Insights: #1 Harry Peak, who was known for his blond hair, decided to become an actor. He began dropping the phrase when I’m a movie star into conversations, and his family thought he was on a medical show or in The Trial of Billy Jack. #2 The Central Library is located in downtown Los Angeles, at the corner of Fifth Street and Flower. It was designed by the architect Bertram Goodhue and opened in 1926. The library opens at ten A. M. , but by daybreak there are always people hovering nearby. #3 The library was already in gear, humming with staff members who were readying it for the day. The shipping department had been at work since dawn, packing tens of thousands of books into plastic bins. #4 The library is a stage that is constantly being prepared for a performance. Every time the security guard hollers out that the library has opened, there is a sense of stage business, as people find their places and things are set right before the burst of action begins.

Black Moon Rising (The Library Book 2)

Author: D. J. MacHale

Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers

ISBN: 1101932597

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 304

View: 2583


Leave the lights on for The Library, Book 2, another thriller from bestselling author D. J. MacHale! Fans of R. L. Stine, Nightmares!, and Lockwood & Co., check out a book and fall under its spell . . . literally. Marcus is an agent of the Library—a place that exists outside time, filled with stories that don’t have an ending. Mysteries that won’t be solved until Marcus and his friends step in to finish them. Before it’s too late. An evil is plaguing a middle school in Massachusetts. Windows shatter for no reason. Bleachers collapse at a pep rally. Most of the students think they’re just having a string of bad luck, but Marcus and his friends suspect something a lot more sinister. Something like witchcraft. When the black moon rises, this story must come to an end . . . one way or another. Kids love Curse of the Boggin (The Library, Book 1): “A mysterious, hard-to-put-down book with a twisting plot, funny characters, and haunting souls. I can’t wait to hear what adventures they have next.” —A.J. H., age 11 “I read enough in just one day to fill my school reading log for a week.” —Michael C., age 10 “A unique, intriguing book filled with page-turning adventures.” —Madeline H., age 12 “Couldn’t put it down. I stayed up reading until 11:00 p.m. with only one thought in my mind: one more chapter!” —Ben H., age 11

Surrender the Key (The Library Book 1)

Author: D. J. MacHale

Publisher: Yearling

ISBN: 1524772259

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 272

View: 8388


Previously published as Curse of the Boggin. A fast-paced, thrilling series opener from bestselling author D. J. MacHale. Check out a book—and unlock an adventure! There's a place filled with tales that don't have an ending. Puzzles that won't be solved until someone steps in to finish them. Enter the Library. Marcus and his friends have found the key to open it. And they need to use it, because, clearly, something is up. A strange guy in a bathrobe haunts them; fires rage and flare out in an instant; a peculiar old lady keeps telling them, “Surrender the key. . . .” At first Marcus thinks he’s going nuts, until the mystery gets personal. The Library may hold some answers, but the clock is running out. Because on these library shelves, the stories you don’t finish might just finish you. . . . Kids love Surrender the Key (The Library, Book 1): “A mysterious, hard-to-put-down book with a twisting plot, funny characters, and haunting souls. I can’t wait to hear what adventures they have next.” —A.J. H., age 11 “I read enough in just one day to fill my school reading log for a week.” —Michael C., age 10 “A unique, intriguing book filled with page-turning adventures.” —Madeline H., age 12 “Couldn’t put it down. I stayed up reading until 11:00 p.m. with only one thought in my mind: one more chapter!” —Ben H., age 11

Oracle of Doom (The Library Book 3)

Author: D. J. MacHale

Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers

ISBN: 1101932635

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 304

View: 6344


Check out a book and read your future. . . . It's another page-turning adventure from #1 New York Times bestselling author D. J. MacHale! Marcus is an agent of the Library, a place filled with tales that don't have an ending. Puzzles that won't be solved until Marcus and his friends step in to finish them. This time it's their own stories at stake. Theo just visited the Oracle Baz, an old amusement-park machine that spits out fortunes for the cost of a quarter. Fun, right? The only problem is, the oracle's cheap predictions have been coming true . . . and Theo's fortune says that life as he knows it will end on his fourteenth birthday! Plus, Lu's cousin, who also went to the oracle, is missing. Marcus knows where to find help for his friends--the Library. It turns out that the Oracle Baz was a real man who died in a fire long ago. Can a glimpse into the fortune-teller's past change all their futures?

The Library, Books 16-20

Author: Diodorus Siculus

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0191078050

Category: History

Page: 624

View: 9166


Starting with the most meagre resources, Philip made his kingdom the greatest power in Europe The Greek historian Diodorus of Sicily is one of our most valuable sources from ancient times. His history, in forty volumes, was intended to range from mythological times to 60 BCE, and fifteen of The Library's forty books survive. This new translation by Robin Waterfield of books 16-20 covers a vital period in European history. Book 16 is devoted to Philip, and without it the career of this great king would be far more obscure to us. Book 17 is the earliest surviving account by over a hundred years of the world-changing eastern conquests of Alexander the Great, Philip's son. Books 18-20 constitute virtually our sole source of information on the twenty turbulent years following Alexander's death and on the violent path followed by Agathocles of Syracuse. There are fascinating snippets of history from elsewhere too - from Republican Rome, the Cimmerian Bosporus, and elsewhere. Despite his obvious importance, Diodorus is a neglected historian. This is the first English translation of any of these books in over fifty years. The introduction places Diodorus in his context in first-century-BCE Rome, describes and discusses the kind of history he was intending to write, and assesses his strengths and weaknesses as a historian. With extensive explanatory notes on this gripping and sensational period of history, the book serves as a unique resource for historians and students.

Alleged Price Fixing of Library Books

Author: United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on the Judiciary. Subcommittee on Antitrust and Monopoly

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Books

Page: 177

View: 1579


The Nebraska Library Book

Author: Carole Marsh

Publisher: Carole Marsh Books

ISBN: 0793330874

Category:

Page: 66

View: 4458