The Plantagenets

Author: J. S. Hamilton

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN: 1441157123

Category: History

Page: 246

View: 7774


A complete account of the rulers and politics of the Plantagenet reign.

The Plantagenets

Author: Derek Wilson

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0857386069

Category: History

Page: 336

View: 6674


England, 1154. As Henry II seizes the throne after years of turmoil, a new dynasty is poised to haul this hitherto turbulent nation out from the Dark Ages and transform it into the nation state we recognize today. Featuring some of England's greatest but also most notorious kings, the house of Plantagenet would reign for over 300 blood-soaked, yet foundational, years. The dynasty provides some of the most evocative names in our history: from the brave yet rash Richard the Lionheart, his treacherous brother John, the hapless Richard II, and the hero of Agincourt Henry V, through to the controversial Richard III. And in this authoritative, intelligent and grippingly written book, acclaimed historian Derek Wilson brings this thrilling era to life.

101 Amazing Facts about The Plantagenets

Author: Jack Goldstein

Publisher: Andrews UK Limited

ISBN: 1785381814

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 55

View: 8235


Why was Edward I also known as Edward Longshanks? What do historians think happened to the Princes in the Tower? Who became known as ‘The Kingmaker’ and why? And who shocked Europe with the murder of Thomas Becket, the Archbishop of Canterbury? All of these questions and more are answered in this excellent book containing over one hundred facts about the Plantagenets. Separated into sections covering either an individual monarch or era (such as the Angevins or the House of York), the book is perfect for anyone studying this fascinating period in English History as well as those with a general interest in the age.

The Plantagenets: The Kings Who Made England

Author: Dan Jones

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0007457499

Category: History

Page: 672

View: 4853


Eight generations of the greatest and worst kings and queens that this country has ever seen – from the White Ship to the Lionheart, bad King John to the Black Prince and John of Gaunt – this is the dynasty that invented England as we still know it today – great history to appeal to readers of Ken Follet, Bernard Cornwell, Tom Holland

The Plantagenet Empire, 1154-1224

Author: Martin Aurell

Publisher: Pearson Education

ISBN: 9780582784390

Category: History

Page: 359

View: 1092


No further information has been provided for this title.

The Dragon Legacy

Author: Nicholas de Vere

Publisher: Book Tree

ISBN: 9781585091317

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 437

View: 8132


A collection of essays on the Deresthai culture with accompanying extracts from the Dragon Court archives comprising the official history of the Dragon peoples.