The Pretty Girl Killer

Author: Andrew Byrne

Publisher: Penguin Group Australia

ISBN: 0143796755

Category: True Crime

Page: 368

View: 1880


This is the story of Christopher Wilder: the surf-loving son of a decorated naval war hero born in the suburbs of Sydney, who became the most wanted man in America – a psychopathic serial killer who slaughtered more than sixteen young women in the USA and is the prime suspect in the infamous Australian Wanda Beach murders. Wilder was handsome and charming, and time and time again he managed to convince beautiful young women that he was a fashion photographer looking to help them start a career in modelling. What followed were some of the most brutal, sadistic crimes the world has ever seen – as well as a years-long police operation, dogged by missed opportunities and bad decisions, to track the killer down. Featuring new evidence unearthed from case files and interviews with FBI agents, witnesses and survivors, some of whom have spoken for the first time since the horrendous crimes were committed, The Pretty Girl Killer takes us right into the mind and moment of one of Australia’s most heinous exports.

All the Pretty Girls

Author: J.T. Ellison

Publisher: MIRA

ISBN: 0369718585

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 5925


All the pretty girls vanish one by one… Return to the riveting start of the Taylor Jackson series by New York Times bestselling author J.T. Ellison with a heart-pounding case of murder, intrigue, and lies buried deep. After a local girl turns up dead, Nashville Homicide lieutenant Taylor Jackson is determined to catch the serial rapist responsible for the crime. Called “The Southern Strangler,” this sadistic killer is slaughtering young women throughout Southeast, leaving a gruesome memento at each crime scene—the prior victim's severed hand. Taylor finds herself in a joint investigation with her lover, FBI profiler Dr. John Baldwin, as they pursue the vicious murderer. Ambitious TV reporter Whitney Connolly is certain the Southern Strangler is her ticket out of Nashville; she's got a scoop that could break the case. But she has no idea how close to this story she really is—or what it will cost her. Battling an old injury and her own demons, Taylor is desperate to quell the rising tide of bodies. But as the killer spirals out of control, everyone involved must face a horrible truth—the purest evil is born of private lies. Previously Published. Read the Taylor Jackson Series by J.T. Ellison: Book 1: All the Pretty Girls Book 2: 14 Book 3: Judas Kiss Book 4: The Cold Room Book 5: The Immortals Book 6: So Close the Hand of Death Book 7: Where All the Dead Lie

The Prettiest Girls in Euphoria, Kansas

Author: Bruce Kellner

Publisher: Mondial

ISBN: 1595691782

Category: Fiction

Page: 248

View: 860


On a midwestern farm in the last century, a boy is forced to come of age in a colorful family of dysfunctional women, scarred by the unfulfilled dreams of his alcoholic mother, his strange spinster aunts, his malevolent nieces, and especially "the prettiest girls in Euphoria, Kansas," his five unforgettable sisters. The hapless lives of frigid Emily, beautiful Louella, the competitive but dim twins Verda and Opal, and baleful Alice (also the lives of the losers they marry or don't) range from hilarious to heartbreaking. Inevitably, these women - equally appealing and appalling - dominate their much younger "Brother," an identity he can only escape by fleeing from them. Now, as a man in late middle-age, Brother must return to the town he escaped long before, in an attempt to cope with the shards of memory that have always haunted him.

A Dramaturgical Approach to Understanding the Serial Homicides of Ted Bundy

Author: Bernard East

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN: 1793625050

Category: Social Science

Page: 178

View: 905


Ted Bundy shared his secrets with his closest prison friends, insights about his influences, perversions, dump sites, and victims. Applying Goffman's concept of dramaturgy Bundy's narrative at the front stage, where he engaged with police, journalists, and psychologists, is contrasted to the backstage, where he interacted with fellow inmates.

Killer's Dozen

Author: Richard A. Lupoff

Publisher: Wildside Press LLC

ISBN: 1434403963

Category: Fiction

Page: 252

View: 9585


From the Introduction by Ed Gorman: If there's one thing Dick Lupoff understands (with perverse glee) it's the sorry state of the human condition. In this collection you'll find a wide variety of humans whose conditions leave much to be desired. A pit bull owner who's just as nasty as his dog A thief who believes his father-in-law was a real Nazi A dead-end boxer who has come back in a boxing movie A detective named Caligula Foxx who might be Nero Wolfe in drag A crooked corporal whose payoff is death Not only are the storylines original, the writing is indelibly stamped with Dick's vision and voice. Dick's writing talents really can't be defined by the usual means. Yes, he writes science fiction. Yes, he writes fantasy. Yes, he writes mystery. But what he really writes are Lupoffs. Long, short, hilarious, whimsical, dark, mysterious-they're all Lupoffs. Richard A. Lupoff is the author of many books including the popular Lindsey-and-Plum mysteries. The next of these, The Emerald Cat Killer, will be published by St. Martin's Press in October, 2010. His most recent collection of mysteries is Quintet: The Cases of Chase and Delacroix, published by Crippen & Landru.

Underworld Tycoon

Author: Qi NiuKanChangBen

Publisher: Funstory

ISBN: 1649918631

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 3096


He was originally a good student who studied at the same time. Originally, he wanted to study hard, get into a good university, and after graduation, find a stable job. However, fate played tricks on him, and he became a legendary underworld tycoon!

The Minds of Mass Killers

Author: P. Shavaun Scott

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN: 1476684472

Category: True Crime

Page: 372

View: 7427


Public mass killings are becoming more common. Though the chances of being harmed or killed in a mass shooting are slim, each incident affects the public's sense of safety. There are many myths and falsehoods concerning mass murderers. As a result, the public lacks reliable knowledge about the reasons behind such killings, preventing the development of comprehensive strategies to mitigate the violence. Written by a mental health therapist with thirty years of research experience in criminal psychology, this book clarifies the realities of mass killings. Using the research on psychological profiling, it provides a foundation for understanding the "pathway to violence" identified in the personal histories of many mass murderers. Drawing from criminology, neuroscience and developmental and social psychology, the author makes the case that we are all capable of creating a safer society.

Dead Pretty

Author: David Mark

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1444798081

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 7964


The fifth novel in the DS McAvoy series by bestselling author David Mark, perfect for fans of Val McDermid and Peter Robinson. Hannah Kelly has been missing for nine months. Ava Delaney has been dead for five days. One girl to find. One girl to avenge. And DS Aector McAvoy won't let either of them go until justice can be done. But some people have their own ideas of what justice means... DEAD PRETTY is the stunning new novel from one of Britain's most original crime writers.

Murder & Mayhem on Chicago's North Side

Author: Troy Taylor

Publisher: Arcadia Publishing

ISBN: 1614232989

Category: History

Page: 119

View: 1724


The author of Haunted Illinois visits the criminal history of the Windy City neighborhood where mobsters and murderers plied their trades. In 1929, Chicago gangster Al Capone arranged a special St. Valentine’s Day delivery for his favorite arch enemies: a massacre. Seven North Side mobsters were left dead. Yet random killings and bizarre murders were not unfamiliar in Chicago. Tales of the city’s most violent and puzzling murders make this gripping work truly hair-raising: a deranged stalker kills his love object and then himself; a sausage maker uses the tools of his trade to rid himself of his wife; and a meticulous serial killer cleans his dead victim’s wounds before taping them closed. Through accounts dripping with mystery, gory details and suspense, Troy Taylor brilliantly tells the twisted history of Chicago’s North Side. Includes photos!

The Rise of True Crime: 20th-Century Murder and American Popular Culture

Author: Jean Murley

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN: 1573567728

Category: Social Science

Page: 192

View: 2191


During the 1950s and 1960s True Detective magazine developed a new way of narrating and understanding murder. It was more sensitive to context, gave more psychologically sophisticated accounts, and was more willing to make conjectures about the unknown thoughts and motivations of killers than others had been before. This turned out to be the start of a revolution, and, after a century of escalating accounts, we have now become a nation of experts, with many ordinary people able to speak intelligently about blood-spatter patterns and organized vs. disorganized serial killers. The Rise of True Crime examines the various genres of true crime using the most popular and well-known examples. And despite its examination of some of the potentially negative effects of the genre, it is written for people who read and enjoy true crime, and wish to learn more about it. With skyrocketing crime rates and the appearance of a frightening trend toward social chaos in the 1970s, books, documentaries, and fiction films in the true crime genre tried to make sense of the Charles Manson crimes and the Gary Gilmore execution events. And in the 1980s and 1990s, true crime taught pop culture consumers about forensics, profiling, and highly technical aspects of criminology. We have thus now become a nation of experts, with many ordinary people able to speak intelligently about blood-spatter patterns and organized vs. disorganized serial killers. Through the suggestion that certain kinds of killers are monstrous or outside the realm of human morality, and through the perpetuation of the stranger-danger idea, the true crime aesthetic has both responded to and fostered our culture's fears. True crime is also the site of a dramatic confrontation with the concept of evil, and one of the few places in American public discourse where moral terms are used without any irony, and notions and definitions of evil are presented without ambiguity. When seen within its historical context, true crime emerges as a vibrant and meaningful strand of popular culture, one that is unfortunately devalued as lurid and meaningless pulp.