The Real James Herriot

Author: James Wight

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN: 9780345434906

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 404

View: 812


No one is better poised to write the biography of James Herriot than the son who worked alongside him in the Yorkshire veterinary practice when Herriot became an internationally bestselling author. Now, in this warm and poignant memoir, Jim Wight talks about his father--the beloved veterinarian whom his family had to share with half the world. Alf Wight (aka James Herriot) grew up in Glasgow, where he lived during a happy rough-and-tumble childhood and then through the challenging years of training at the Glasgow Veterinary College. The story of how the young vet later traveled to the small Yorkshire town of Thirsk, aka Darrowby, to take the job of assistant vet is one that is well known through James Herriot's internationally celebrated books and the popular All Creatures Great and Small television series. But Jim Wight's biography ventures beyond the trials and tribulations of his father's life as a veterinarian to reveal the man behind the stories--the private individual who refused to allow fame and wealth to interfere with his practice or his family. With access to all of his father's papers, correspondence, manuscripts, and photographs--and intimate remembrances of all the farmers, locals, and friends who populate the James Herriot books--only Jim Wight could write this definitive biography of the man who was not only his father but his best friend.

The Real James Herriot

Author: Jim Wight

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 0140268812

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 621

View: 8649


After qualifying as a vet in 1939, Alf Wight, aka James Herriot, moved to a veterinary practice in Thirsk. He was over fifty when his first book of stories about life as a Yorkshire vet was published, giving birth to some of Yorkshire's most famous and much-loved literary characters. Although he brought fame and fortune to himself and those around him, Alf Wight remained an intensely private person, respected and trusted by those whose animals he cared for, and adored by millions of fans. This illuminating biography reveals the real man behind the title 'The World's Most Famous Vet'.

The Real James Herriot

Author: James Wight

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN: 0307790924

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 384

View: 7096


No one is better poised to write the biography of James Herriot than the son who worked alongside him in the Yorkshire veterinary practice when Herriot became an internationally bestselling author. Now, in this warm and poignant memoir, Jim Wight talks about his father--the beloved veterinarian whom his family had to share with half the world. Alf Wight (aka James Herriot) grew up in Glasgow, where he lived during a happy rough-and-tumble childhood and then through the challenging years of training at the Glasgow Veterinary College. The story of how the young vet later traveled to the small Yorkshire town of Thirsk, aka Darrowby, to take the job of assistant vet is one that is well known through James Herriot's internationally celebrated books and the popular All Creatures Great and Small television series. But Jim Wight's biography ventures beyond the trials and tribulations of his father's life as a veterinarian to reveal the man behind the stories--the private individual who refused to allow fame and wealth to interfere with his practice or his family. With access to all of his father's papers, correspondence, manuscripts, and photographs--and intimate remembrances of all the farmers, locals, and friends who populate the James Herriot books--only Jim Wight could write this definitive biography of the man who was not only his father but his best friend. NOTE: This edition does not include a photo insert.

The Real James Herriot

Author: Jim Wight

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 0141916532

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 384

View: 9739


After qualifying as a vet in 1939, Alf Wight, aka James Herriot, moved to a veterinary practice in Thirsk. He was over fifty when his first book of stories about life as a Yorkshire vet was published, giving birth to some of Yorkshire's most famous and much-loved literary characters. Although he brought fame and fortune to himself and those around him, Alf Wight remained an intensely private person, respected and trusted by those whose animals he cared for, and adored by millions of fans. This illuminating biography reveals the real man behind the title 'The World's Most Famous Vet'.

Summary of Jim Wight's The Real James Herriot

Author: Everest Media,

Publisher: Everest Media LLC

ISBN: 1669358720

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 65

View: 6684


Please note: This is a companion version & not the original book. Sample Book Insights: #1 Alf Wight was not a Scotsman, as he never lost the soft Glaswegian accent he developed over his twenty-three years in that great Scottish city. He was an Englishman born of English parents in an English town. He was not a Scotsman, and he never spent his entire life as a practicing veterinary surgeon in Yorkshire. #2 Alf’s mother, Hannah, was a music lover who wanted to improve herself and her family’s situation. She sent her husband to Glasgow in 1914, where he could find work in the shipyards and cinemas. #3 The family was devastated by the death of Jim’s brother Alfred in the First World War, but his name lived on through Alf. Jim was a quiet, reserved and very gentlemanly man, while Pop was a fanatical football fan and a native of Sunderland. #4 The Wight family had their first home in Glasgow in 1916, when baby Alfred was barely three weeks old. His happy and fulfilling childhood days in the city resulted in him forever referring to himself as a Glaswegian.

James Herriot: The Life of a Country Vet

Author: Graham Lord

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755364708

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 273

View: 6351


Alf Wight, a modest Scottish writer, better known as James Herriot, wrote books that became worldwide best sellers, films, audiobooks, and a much-loved television show. In The Life of a Country Vet, Graham Lord has written a detailed and affectionate biography of this remarkable man. Lord carefully documents Wight's life, beginning with his childhood in Glasgow and his years in veterinary college. Following his development as a writer, the source of his pen name, and his struggles to get published. Along the way, we encounter some extraordinary events and hidden tragedies in this seemingly magical life. Millions of fans laughed and cried at Wight's delightful stories of life as a vet. Lord reveals that some of the stories were utterly true, and some were utterly fictional. He illuminates the real relationships between the memorable characters that inhabit the books. This warm yet insightful portrait by Lord - who knew his subject very well - will be enjoyed by Wight's myriad of fans. It also dispels the myths that have grown around the life of one of the most famous and deeply loved vets the world has known.

James Herriot

Author: Michael John Rossi

Publisher: Greenwood Publishing Group

ISBN: 9780313294495

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 248

View: 4944


Offers an examination of the Scottish veterinarian's five major works published between 1972 and 1992.

The Wonderful World of James Herriot

Author: James Herriot

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 1035008521

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 344

View: 4055


The perfect gift for fans of All Creatures Great and Small, this is a charming collection of classic stories from James Herriot’s much-loved books with insights into his life and work from his children Rosie and Jim. With astute observations and boundless humour, country vet Herriot captures the spirit of the Yorkshire Dales and of rural communities on the cusp of change, before tractors and machines had taken over and modern medicines and antibiotics transformed veterinary work. Along the way a beloved cast of characters emerges, from the squabbling brothers Tristan and Siegfried to Herriot’s hapless courtship and eventual family life with Helen Anderson. But it’s the animals which are at the heart of Herriot’s stories. Whether he’s dodging a raging bull on a risky artificial insemination assignment, becoming pen pals with Tricki Woo the spoilt Pikingese or the inevitable trials and tribulations of lambing season, there’s never a dull moment in Herriot’s company. At times moving and often laugh-out-loud funny, The Wonderful World of James Herriot will delight fans old and new.

Young James Herriot

Author: John Lewis-Stempel

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1446416224

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 272

View: 9102


Set in Glasgow in the 1930s, Young James Herriot is the fascinating story of Herriot’s formative years at veterinary college, recounting the tales behind his calling to work with animals and his early friendships. With no modern drugs, and a lot of trial-and-error, James sets about learning how to treat the local farm animals and the pets of city folk. Accompanied by a cast of eccentric professors and an ensemble of aspiring veterinarians, this book reveals a world now lost to us, showing how life in pre-war Britain changed an enthusiastic young student named Alf Wight into the man who would charm millions of readers the world over.

Three James Herriot Classics

Author: James Herriot

Publisher: Open Road Media

ISBN: 1453239405

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 1324

View: 3557


The beloved New York Times bestsellers that inspired the popular BBC series—from a Yorkshire veterinarian and a “wise and wonderful writer” (The Boston Globe). Perhaps better than any other writer, James Herriot reveals the ties that bind us to the natural world. Collected here are three of his masterpieces—All Creatures Great and Small, All Things Bright and Beautiful, and All Things Wise and Wonderful—which have been winning over animal lovers everywhere for almost fifty years. From his night visits to drafty barns during freezing northern England winters, to the beautiful vitality of rural life in the summertime, to the colorful menagerie of animals—and their owners—that pass through his office, Herriot vividly evokes the daily challenges and joys that come with being a veterinarian. Witty and heartwarming, this collection of whimsical, dramatic, and touching anecdotes reveals the ties that bind us to the animals in our lives. This edition features a new introduction from the author’s son and bonus archival photos.