The Secret Life of France

Author: Lucy Wadham

Publisher: Faber & Faber

ISBN: 0571252257

Category: Travel

Page: 336

View: 7598


At the age of eighteen Lucy Wadham ran away from English boys and into the arms of a Frenchman. Twenty-five years later, having married in a French Catholic Church, put her children through the French educational system and divorced in a French court of law, Wadham is perfectly placed to explore the differences between Britain and France. Using both her personal experiences and the lessons of French history and culture, she examines every aspect of French life - from sex and adultery to money, happiness, race and politics - in this funny and engrossing account of our most intriguing neighbour.

The Secret Life of Words

Author: Henry Hitchings

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

ISBN: 142994157X

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 448

View: 6858


Words are essential to our everyday lives. An average person spends his or her day enveloped in conversations, e-mails, phone calls, text messages, directions, headlines, and more. But how often do we stop to think about the origins of the words we use? Have you ever thought about which words in English have been borrowed from Arabic, Dutch, or Portuguese? Try admiral, landscape, and marmalade, just for starters. The Secret Life of Words is a wide-ranging account not only of the history of English language and vocabulary, but also of how words witness history, reflect social change, and remind us of our past. Henry Hitchings delves into the insatiable, ever-changing English language and reveals how and why it has absorbed words from more than 350 other languages—many originating from the most unlikely of places, such as shampoo from Hindi and kiosk from Turkish. From the Norman Conquest to the present day, Hitchings narrates the story of English as a living archive of our human experience. He uncovers the secrets behind everyday words and explores the surprising origins of our most commonplace expressions. The Secret Life of Words is a rich, lively celebration of the language and vocabulary that we too often take for granted.

The Secret Life of Spies

Author: Michael Noble,Alexander Mostov

Publisher: Wide Eyed Editions

ISBN: 0711247552

Category: Spies

Page: 48

View: 2862


Uncover the lives of 20 real-life spies who dedicated their lives to the world of espionage and made it their mission to uncover the truth and collect secret information from their enemies.

The Secret Life of Lady Liberty

Author: Robert Hieronimus,Laura E. Cortner

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1620551594

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 448

View: 1316


The goddess origins of the Statue of Liberty and her connections with the founding and the future of America • Examines Lady Liberty’s ties to Native American spiritual traditions, the Earth Mother, Roman goddesses, Black Madonnas, and Mary Magdalene • Reveals the sharp contrast between depicting “liberty” as a female and the reality of women and other suppressed classes even today • Explains how this Goddess of the New World inspires all people toward equality, compassion, peace-keeping, and environmental stewardship Uncovering the forgotten lineage of the Statue of Liberty, Bob Hieronimus and Laura Cortner explain how she is based on a female symbol representing America on the earliest maps of the continent in the form of a Native American “Queen.” The image of a woman symbolizing independence was embraced by the American revolutionaries to rally the populace against the King, filling the role of “Founding Mother” and protector of the fledgling republic. Incorporating Libertas, the Roman goddess of freed slaves, with Minerva, Demeter, Justice, and the Indian Princess, Lady Liberty is seen all over the nation’s capital, and on the seals and flags of many states. Showing how a new appreciation for the Statue of Liberty as the American goddess can serve as a unifying inspiration for activism, the authors explore how this Lady Liberty is a personification of America and its destiny. They examine multiple traditions that influenced her symbolism, from the Neolithic Earth Mother, to Mary Magdalene, Columbia, and Joan of Arc, while revealing the sharp contrast between depicting “liberty” as a female and the reality of women and other suppressed classes throughout history. Their study of “Liberty Enlightening the World” led them to conclude that the empowerment of contemporary women is essential for achieving sustainable liberty for all. Sounding the call for this “Goddess of the New World” to inspire us all toward peacekeeping, nurturing, compassion, and environmental stewardship, the authors explain how the Statue of Liberty serves as the conscience of our nation and is a symbol of both the myths that unite us and the diversity that strengthens us.

The Secret Life of Decisions

Author: Meena Thuraisingham,Wolfgang Lehmacher

Publisher: Gower Publishing, Ltd.

ISBN: 1409453278

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 203

View: 3257


The Secret Life of Decisions exposes the unchallenged myths and distortions that impact our reasoning ability, raising our awareness of the many traps we can fall into. Meena Thuraisingham and her collaborator, Wolfgang Lehmacher, have drawn from decades of work with leaders showing that even the most talented leaders and teams can end up making sub-optimal decisions. This is rarely because they had poor critical thinking faculties but rather because they did not pay enough attention to the often invisible traps hardwired into our thinking processes, letting through only information that conforms with our current beliefs, mental models and expectations. This leaves many leaders and businesses exposed. This book is an essential read for developing and seasoned executives who have to work through high stakes decisions. It treats choosing wisely and the thinking involved as a skill that can be improved with the guided practice and supporting tools provided here. The journey however starts with awareness that comes from outing the 'secret' forces that can sabotage the quality of our decisions.

The Secret Life of the Seine

Author: Mort Rosenblum

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0786731184

Category: History

Page: 256

View: 1688


Mort Rosenblum, a celebrated foreign correspondent, invites us aboard his fifty-four-foot launch tied up in the center of Paris and introduces us to the characters who share his life along the river, ranging from eccentric movie stars and reclusive novelists to barge families just scraping by. He then hauls in the bow line for an unforgettable tour of the river itself from its source to its mouth. The Secret Life of the Seine is a love story between man and boat and the river that they live on, a discourse on the sensual beauty of France and the art of living well. In the tradition of A Year in Provence, Under the Tuscan Sun, and Paris to the Moon, here is what Garry Trudeau called "a moveable feast [with] a top speed of five knots—fast enough for fun, languid enough for dreaming. Take a trip you'll never take: This is what books are for."

The Secret Life of Genius

Author: John Chambers

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1594779260

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 336

View: 3576


A look at the metaphysical experiences that shaped the lives and work of 24 great men and women from the Renaissance to modern times • Chronicles the changing relationship with God, nature, and spirituality from the 16th century to the 20th century • Includes encounters with the paranormal of Ben Johnson, Isaac Newton, Mary Shelley, Leo Tolstoy, Doris Lessing, and Winston Churchill What role did the esoteric thought of Swedenborg play in the creative output of Honoré de Balzac? Did a supernatural encounter prompt Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley to focus her work on the theme of immortality? Building on his earlier research on communications with the spirit world that Victor Hugo, author of Les Misérables, experienced while in exile on the isle of Jersey, John Chambers now looks at the role occult knowledge and supernatural experiences played in the lives of 24 geniuses. His investigation spans the life and work of William Blake, Helena Blavatsky, and W. B. Yeats, whose esoteric interests are well known, as well as those little suspected of such encounters with worlds beyond ours, including Doris Lessing, Leo Tolstoy, Norman Mailer, Yukio Mishima, and Winston Churchill. Chambers presents more than a collection of anecdotes and newly revealed secrets. His research provides insightful historical context of the decisive turning point that took place with the collapse of Prague, the occult capital of Europe, in 1620, which resulted in the victory of Cartesian reality and Newton’s scientific paradigm over the esoteric traditions that flourished until that time. The magical and occult world shown in the lives of these 24 great men and women offers us a glimpse of what could still be ours--a world that though it is now overshadowed by modern scientific and technological principles is yet still visible on the horizon through the visions and paranormal experiences of these geniuses.

The Secret Life of Kris Kringle

Author: Jhon Kilgore

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 0615253237

Category: Fiction

Page: 374

View: 6281


The Secret Life of Kris Kringle as told by his brother, Olaf, answers the questions... Who were Santa's parents? How did he get all those amazing powers? Where did the Elves come from and why are their short and tall Elves in legend? And what about Santa's reindeer? These and some of the mysteries of the last thousand years are woven into a tale that even the Sphinx could enjoy.

The Secret Life of Poems

Author: Tom Paulin

Publisher: Faber & Faber

ISBN: 0571264042

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 256

View: 7723


The Secret Life of Poems is a primer which offers a poem - or on occasion an excerpt - succeeding with commentary in which rhythm, form, metre and sources are the order of the day, not ethical commentary or descriptive paraphrase. This brief engagement with forty-seven poems is intended for students and readers of poetry, and seeks to explain how poetry works by bringing into view the hidden order of specific poems.

The Secret Life of Elizabeth I

Author: Paul Doherty

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755395832

Category: Fiction

Page: 176

View: 3023


A secret that could have changed the course of English history... Acclaimed historian Paul Doherty offers an insightful interpretation of one of the most fascinating English monarchs in his masterful 'faction', The Secret Life of Elizabeth I. From master historian Paul Doherty comes a detective story with a difference: tracking down the real Elizabeth I, and capturing the atmosphere of Elizabethan and Jacobean England. Written as a 'faction', The Secret Life of Elizabeth I interprets original sources through one of the Queen's ladies-in-waiting. These illuminating 'recollections' form the book, uncovering everything from the passionate relationship between Elizabeth and Robert Dudley, to the stunning revelation that they had a son, Arthur Dudley, seized by the Spanish in 1587. What readers are saying about Paul Doherty: 'Doherty is a spellbinding storyteller with an exceptional grasp of history. This story is of the usual high standard we expect from him and utterly fascinating, I couldn't put it down' 'This book is beyond fantastic. Paul Doherty brought Elizabethan times back to life here - making you feel you're there' 'Doherty proves that he is a scholar as well as a writer of novels'