The Shop Girls of Harpers

Author: Rosie Clarke

Publisher: Boldwood Books Ltd

ISBN: 1838892044

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 9434


'Brilliant read. Wonderful characters that draw you into Harpers world. Thoroughly enjoyable.' Kitty Neale The beginning of a brand new series from No1 bestselling author Rosie Clarke, Welcome to Harpers of Oxford Street. London 1911When all four girls are lucky enough to be selected as sales staff their exciting new adventure begins. Join them as they overcome heartbreak and grief, find love and happiness and remain united in their friendship, whatever life throws at them., A heart-warming saga following the lives, loves and losses of the Harpers Girls. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Pam Howes and Dilly Court. What readers are saying about The Shop Girls of Harpers: 'A lovely book to read and the first of a new series with characters that blend so well and a great story of friendship, family and love. Well worth 5*' 'A lovely read first in a new series, looking forward to the next. English saga writing at its best: wonderful characters, emotional, warm, lovely, highly recommend' 'Heart Warming, Compelling and Authentic, that features strong friendships, trials and tribulations of each woman, strong, relatable female characters, and a wonderfully enchanting location ' 'This book is brilliantly written and the descriptions are so well done that you feel like you are there in the book as a character. ' 'I got sucked in immediately and could not put it down!' 'I can 100% guarantee that I will be reading more of Rosie's work in the future' ' this is a book for all ages to read it really is a FULL- THROTTLE TRUMPET TOOTING EXTRAVAGANZA.'

The Shop Girls

Author: Ellee Seymour

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0751554979

Category: History

Page: 336

View: 6835


For Eve, Irene, Betty and Rosemary, working at the exclusive Heyworth's department store in Cambridge is a dream come true. Once the girls step inside the elegant building - surrounded by luxurious dresses and beautiful accessories - the hardships of their own lives are temporarily forgotten. Serving a variety of curious customers, from glamorous gypsy queens to genuine royalty and stuffy academics to the city's fashionable elite, the store is a place where these young women can forge successful careers, under the ever-watchful eye of flamboyant owner Mr Heyworth. Set against the backdrop of the closing years of the Second World War, and moving into the 1950s, The Shop Girls perfectly captures the camaraderie and friendship of four ambitious young women working together in a store that offered them an escape from the drudgery of their wartime childhoods. Each of the girls' stories will be individually published from July 2014 in fortnightly serialised ebooks, leading up to the release of the complete edition (with bonus material) in September.

A Store at War

Author: Joanna Toye

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780008458379

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 8005


The Shop Girls: Eve's Story

Author: Ellee Seymour

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0751554995

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 64

View: 4801


For Eve, working in Heyworth's department store in Cambridge is a dream come true. Once she steps inside the elegant building - surrounded by beautiful dresses, sumptuous fabrics and glamorous accessories - the hardships and struggles of her own life are temporarily forgotten. Heyworth's is a magical place, where Eve and her friends - in their smart, simple black dresses - serve the fashionable elite of Cambridge, and glimpse lives of style and ease far beyond anything they had ever imagined. It is also a place where hard work and talent are valued, and where these young women can forge a successful career. Set against the backdrop of the closing years of the Second World War, and moving into the 1950s, The Shop Girls perfectly captures the camaraderie and friendship of four ambitious young women working together in a store that offered them an escape from the drudgery of their wartime childhoods. Each of the girls' stories will be individually published from July 2014 in fortnightly serialised ebooks, leading up to the release of the complete edition (with bonus material) in September.

The Shop Girls: Betty's Story

Author: Ellee Seymour

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0751555010

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 64

View: 9767


For Betty, working in Heyworth's department store in Cambridge is a dream come true. Once she steps inside the elegant building - surrounded by beautiful dresses, sumptuous fabrics and glamorous accessories - the hardships and struggles of her own life are temporarily forgotten. Heyworth's is a magical place, where Betty and her friends - in their smart, simple black dresses - serve the fashionable elite of Cambridge, and glimpse lives of style and ease far beyond anything they had ever imagined. It is also a place where hard work and talent are valued, and where these young women can forge a successful career. Set against the backdrop of the closing years of the Second World War, and moving into the 1950s, The Shop Girls perfectly captures the camaraderie and friendship of four ambitious young women working together in a store that offered them an escape from the drudgery of their wartime childhoods. Each of the girls' stories will be individually published from July 2014 in fortnightly serialised ebooks, leading up to the release of the complete edition (with bonus material) in September.

The Shop Girl's Soldier

Author: Karen Dickson

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1471185508

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 1797


AS WAR APPROACHES, WILL HER LOVE GUIDE HIM HOME? ‘An exciting, fresh and talented new voice – a five-star read!’ CAROL RIVERS, author of Molly’s Christmas Orphans Southampton, 1905. Ellie-May and Jack have been inseparable since birth. They are best friends, having grown up together on the same street. But when Jack and his mother fall on hard times they are thrown into the workhouse, and he and Ellie-May are forced into a goodbye. Four years later, now aged sixteen, Jack returns to Southampton and is reunited with Ellie-May. Quickly they both realise that their feelings for each other go beyond friendship, and with Jack home for good the pair are finally free to be together. But when WWII approaches, Jack’s duty to his country is hard to ignore and when he enlists to fight, they are once again torn apart. Will Ellie-May and Jack find their way back to each other before it’s too late? A brand new wartime family saga, perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Val Wood

The Shop Girls: Rosemary's Story

Author: Ellee Seymour

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0751555029

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 64

View: 1713


For Rosemary, working in Heyworth's department store in Cambridge is a dream come true. Once she steps inside the elegant building - surrounded by beautiful dresses, sumptuous fabrics and glamorous accessories - the hardships and struggles of her own life are temporarily forgotten. Heyworth's is a magical place, where Rosemary and her friends - in their smart, simple black dresses - serve the fashionable elite of Cambridge, and glimpse lives of style and ease far beyond anything they had ever imagined. It is also a place where hard work and talent are valued, and where these young women can forge a successful career. Set against the backdrop of the closing years of the Second World War, and moving into the 1950s, The Shop Girls perfectly captures the camaraderie and friendship of four ambitious young women working together in a store that offered them an escape from the drudgery of their wartime childhoods. Each of the girls' stories will be individually published from July 2014 in fortnightly serialised ebooks, leading up to the release of the complete edition (with bonus material) in September.

The Shop Girls: Irene's Story

Author: Ellee Seymour

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0751555002

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 64

View: 2543


For Irene, working in Heyworth's department store in Cambridge is a dream come true. Once she steps inside the elegant building - surrounded by beautiful dresses, sumptuous fabrics and glamorous accessories - the hardships and struggles of her own life are temporarily forgotten. Heyworth's is a magical place, where Irene and her friends - in their smart, simple black dresses - serve the fashionable elite of Cambridge, and glimpse lives of style and ease far beyond anything they had ever imagined. It is also a place where hard work and talent are valued, and where these young women can forge a successful career. Set against the backdrop of the closing years of the Second World War, and moving into the 1950s, The Shop Girls perfectly captures the camaraderie and friendship of four ambitious young women working together in a store that offered them an escape from the drudgery of their wartime childhoods. Each of the girls' stories will be individually published from July 2014 in fortnightly serialised ebooks, leading up to the release of the complete edition (with bonus material) in September.