The Sisters

Author: Georg Ebers

Publisher: BoD – Books on Demand

ISBN: 3734051126

Category: Fiction

Page: 48

View: 3230


Reproduction of the original: The Sisters by Georg Ebers

The Sisters

Author: Henry Cockton

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: England

Page: 258

View: 2668


The Sisters — Complete

Author: Georg Ebers

Publisher: DigiCat

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 249

View: 7872


The Sisters is a historical fiction set in the 2nd century BC that narrates the story of the twin sisters Klea and Irene, growing up within the boundaries of the temple of Serapis and serving as its wards. Klea and Irene are entirely fictional personalities, but the writer of this work, German Egyptologist Georg Moritz Ebers, reminds the reader in the preface that he has attempted to give a precise picture of the historical features of the time in which these sisters live and function with the help of tolerably abundant sources. The author presents vivid descriptions of that period without using complex words that keep the reader engaged. Through his accurate historical narrative of the 2nd century BC, George Ebers has given us a fair amount of information about the people, their cultures and traditions, their mindsets and beliefs, and all that existed way before us.

The Sisters That Met Misfortune

Author: Noura Maheeb

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 1524678961

Category: Fiction

Page: 282

View: 6372


Three sisters seek to run away from misfortunes and ask an old witch, Miss Fort, to help them. Their quest takes them on a long journey, and on that journey of love and loss, they discover that there are bigger problems in life than the problems the world has set upon themproblems that come from within themselves rather than from the world outside.

The Sisters Mallone

Author: Louisa Ermelino

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 074323328X

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 9202


The Mallone sisters look Irish, but don’t let their blue eyes fool you. “It’s all in how you say it,” their grandma Anona proudly says. “Ma-llone is Irish. Mal-lon-e is Italian.” Growing up Italian in the 1920s, in Hell’s Kitchen, an Irish enclave, requires toughness, thrift, and a calculating mind―even for the three beautiful Mallone sisters. And when their baby sister Gracie is swept off her feet by no-good Frankie Merelli, Helen and Mary will do anything to make sure Grace gets the life she deserves, even if that means going after her husband… The Sisters Mallone is a black comedy about the power of sisterhood and the importance of family―and family connections. Through irrepressible characters, and infectious and suspenseful writing, The Sisters Mallone reveals the American immigrant’s dream―with a twist.

Prophecy Of The Sisters

Author: Michelle Zink

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0748112073

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 288

View: 2011


Without the Keys, something terrible will happen. Something that cannot be undone. And with them, I might bring an end to the riddle of the Prophecy and my strange part in it. If Alice and I are on conflicting sides of the Prophecy, the Keys would be dangerous in her hands. Which means I have to find them. And I have to do it before my sister. This is the story of sixteen-year-old Lia Milthorpe's quest to discover her role and her twin sister's in a powerful prophecy that has affected twin sisters for generations. But nothing can prepare her for what she discovers - about herself, about her family, and about the danger that goes from haunting her dreams to becoming her reality.

The Sisters O'Donnell

Author: Lyn Andrews

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755376307

Category: Fiction

Page: 369

View: 9225


New start. New lives. New troubles. 1920s Liverpool is the beautifully portrayed setting for The Sisters O'Donnell - a delightful saga about three young Irish women building new lives for themselves, from bestselling author Lyn Andrews. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Dilly Court and Nadine Dorries. Throughout County Tipperary the three sisters were known as the Sisters O'Donnell. They all have red hair, but little else in common. Together they move to Liverpool in the 1920s to make a new life for themselves - although each sister intends to go about it in her own sweet way. Gina wants to be a star of the theatre, Mary-Kate wants to find a husband, and Bridget, shy, gentle Bridget, just wants to escape the Troubles. But when they get to Liverpool they realise that fame and fortune are thin on the ground as, indeed, is work. And their money is running out fast... The sisters have a long way to go before they fulfil their dreams - will the bonds of sisterhood be enough to hold them together? What readers are saying about The Sisters O'Donnell: 'An absolutely brilliant book, really well written, I just couldn't wait to turn the page to see what would happen next!' 'The best book I have read for ages' 'This book will tug at your heart strings and prove hard, if not impossible, to put down'

The Sisters of Summit Avenue

Author: Lynn Cullen

Publisher: Gallery Books

ISBN: 1982129859

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 3977


From the bestselling author of Mrs. Poe and Twain’s End comes a “poignant, beautifully rendered story of two sisters who find the courage to reclaim their bond after years of misunderstandings and heartbreak” (Melanie Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author) during the Great Depression. 1934. Ruth has been single-handedly raising four young daughters and running her family’s Indiana farm for eight long years, ever since her husband, John, was infected by the infamous “sleeping sickness” devastating families across the country. If only she could trade places with her older sister, June: blonde and beautiful, married to a wealthy doctor, living in a mansion in St. Paul. And June has a coveted job, too, as one of “the Bettys,” the perky recipe developers who populate the famous Betty Crocker test kitchen. But these gilded trappings hide sorrows: she has borne no children. And the man she loves more than anything belongs to Ruth. When the two sisters reluctantly reunite after a long estrangement, June’s bitterness about her sister’s betrayal sets into motion a confrontation that’s been years in the making. And their mother, Dorothy, who’s brought the two of them together, has her own dark secrets, which might blow up the fragile peace she hopes to restore between her daughters. An emotional journey of redemption, inner strength, and the ties that bind families together, for better or worse, The Sisters of Summit Avenue is a moving and heartfelt tribute to mothers, daughters, and sisters everywhere.