The Sun Kings

Author: Stuart Clark,Geoff Andersen,Stuart G. Clark

Publisher: Princeton University Press

ISBN: 9780691126609

Category: Science

Page: 211

View: 7573


Recounts the story behind English astronomer Richard Carrington's observations of a mysterious explosion on the surface of the sun and how his understanding that the sun's magnetism directly influences the Earth helped usher in the modern era of astronomy.

The Sun King's Atlantic

Author: Jutta Wimmler

Publisher: BRILL

ISBN: 9004336087

Category: History

Page: 244

View: 1891


In The Sun King’s Atlantic, Jutta Wimmler reveals the many surprising ways in which Africa and America channeled cultural developments in France, exploring their impact on material culture, theatre, science and religion.

The Sun King at Sea

Author: Meredith Martin,Gillian Weiss

Publisher: Getty Publications

ISBN: 1606067303

Category: Art

Page: 256

View: 9551


This richly illustrated volume, the first devoted to maritime art and galley slavery in early modern France, shows how royal propagandists used the image and labor of enslaved Muslims to glorify Louis XIV. Mediterranean maritime art and the forced labor on which it depended were fundamental to the politics and propaganda of France’s King Louis XIV (r. 1643–1715). Yet most studies of French art in this period focus on Paris and Versailles, overlooking the presence or portrayal of galley slaves on the kingdom’s coasts. By examining a wide range of artistic productions—ship design, artillery sculpture, medals, paintings, and prints—Meredith Martin and Gillian Weiss uncover a vital aspect of royal representation and unsettle a standard picture of art and power in early modern France. With an abundant selection of startling images, many never before published, The Sun King at Sea emphasizes the role of esclaves turcs (enslaved Turks)—rowers who were captured or purchased from Islamic lands—in building and decorating ships and other art objects that circulated on land and by sea to glorify the Crown. Challenging the notion that human bondage vanished from continental France, this cross-disciplinary volume invites a reassessment of servitude as a visible condition, mode of representation, and symbol of sovereignty during Louis XIV’s reign.

The Hand of the Sun King

Author: J.T. Greathouse

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1473232902

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 3636


'A captivating epic of conflicted loyalties and dangerous ambition' Anthony Ryan, New York Times bestselling author 'Brilliantly told and immediately engrossing, filled with magic, mistakes, and their merciless consequences' Andrea Stewart, author of The Bone Shard Daughter 'An exciting new voice in epic fantasy' SFX 'This is one of the best debuts I've ever read' Novel Notions My name is Wen Alder. My name is Foolish Cur. All my life, I have been torn between two legacies: that of my father, whose roots trace back to the right hand of the Emperor. That of my mother's family, who reject the oppressive Empire and embrace the resistance. I can choose between them - between protecting my family, or protecting my people - or I can search out a better path . . . a magical path, filled with secrets, unbound by empire or resistance, which could shake my world to its very foundation. But my search for freedom will entangle me in a war between the gods themselves . . . The first book in the Pact and Pattern series. Fans of Robin Hobb, Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn and R.F. Kuang's The Poppy War will love the magic running through every page. * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 'J.T. Greathouse is about to take Patrick Rothfuss's crown' Mike Shackle 'A coming-of-age narrative with the energy of a modern fantasy and the gravity of a classic' M.L. Wang 'Entertaining, richly imaginative and full of conflict' Anna Stephens 'An absolute triumph' The Fantasy Hive 'A staggering fantasy debut' FanFiAddict

The Man Who Outshone The Sun King

Author: Charles Drazin

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1446494624

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 352

View: 1885


Sometime late in 1664, the musketeer D'Artagnan rode beside a heavily-armoured carriage as it rumbled slowly southwards from Paris, carrying his great friend Nicolas Fouquet to internal exile and life imprisonment in the fortress of Pignerol. There he would be incarcerated in a cell next door to the Man with the Iron Mask... From a glittering zenith as the King's first minister, builder of the breathtaking chateau of Vaux-le-Vicomte, collector of books, patron of the arts and lover of beautiful women, Fouquet had fallen like Icarus. Charged with embezzlement, he was convicted and sentenced to banishment until the King intervened to change his sentence to life imprisonment. Charles Drazin's riveting account brings to life the rich and hazardous world in which Foucquet lived. As a child he learned from his devout mother how to mix herbal remedies for the patients at the Hotel-Dieu and from his father, a creature of Cardinal Richelieu, the demands of political life. Drazin tells of the young man's first adventures as a tax-collector, caught up in rebellion in the Dauphiné , of the loyalty and service that he gave to Cardinal Mazarin and of the financial wizardry that somehow kept France's finances together. The cunning, charisma and charm of Fouquet enchant and beguile while they reveal the seeds of his destruction. But it is in his downfall and incarceration, which he bore with great fortitude, courage and humour, that Fouquet's strength of character and grace emerge, as he somehow survives both solitary confinement and absence of books, pen and ink. The richness and contrasts of his remarkable story are done full justice in this compelling book.

In the Shadow of the Sun King

Author: Golden Keyes Parsons

Publisher: Thomas Nelson

ISBN: 1418571628

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 513


Madeleine Clavell--beautiful, fiercely faithful, and...an outlaw. As Huguenots in 17th-Century France, Madeleine Clavell and her family defy French law daily. Though they live in comfort and happiness in the French countryside, their Protestant Christianity is considered traitorous. But they are wary. Persecution is surely at hand. Then King Louis XIV's dragoons arrive, forcing the family from their country estate. Madeleine must gather her courage and seek out the king in his royal palace at Versailles. Because Madeleine has a secret. Though years and a thousand choices have separated them, Madeleine and King Louis have a history together. One she feels certain he has not forgotten. She will risk everything to speak to him again. But will the impetuous king choose to save her...and her family? And if so, at what price?

Scottish Soldiers in France in the Reign of the Sun King

Author: Matthew Glozier

Publisher: BRILL

ISBN: 9047405382

Category: History

Page: N.A

View: 3637


This study of Scottish soldiers in France in the age of the Sun King provides fascinating information about the visicitudes suffered by the brave personnel of the regiment of George Douglas, Earl of Dumbarton. Hardly the heirs of an 'auld' alliance amity, they became the playthings of a king intent on transforming the nature of war in his era.

A/AS Level History for AQA The Sun King: Louis XIV, France and Europe, 1643–1715 Student Book

Author: David Hickman

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 1107571774

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 192

View: 6324


A new series of bespoke, full-coverage resources developed for the AQA 2015 A/AS Level History. Written for the AQA A/AS Level History specifications for first teaching from 2015, this print Student Book covers The Sun King: Louis XIV, France and Europe, 1643-1715 Depth component. Completely matched to the new AQA specification, this full-colour Student Book provides valuable background information to contextualise the period of study. Supporting students in developing their critical thinking, research and written communication skills, it also encourages them to make links between different time periods, topics and historical themes.

Der Westfälische Friede

Author: Heinz Duchhardt,Eva Ortlieb

Publisher: Oldenbourg Wissenschaftsverlag

ISBN: N.A

Category: Europe

Page: 888

View: 3180


Im Herbst 1996 fand in Munster die zentrale deutsche Konferenz zur wissenschaftlichen Aufarbeitung des Westfalischen Friedens statt, dessen Abschluss sich zum 350. Mal jahrt. Der Kongress, auf dem annahernd funfzig ausgewiesene Fachleute aus uber einem Dutzend Staaten referierten, wird in der vorliegenden Publikation dokumentiert, mit der ein sakulares Ereignis der europaischen Geschichte in umfassender Weise erhellt und neue Forschungsfelder erschlossen werden. Das wissenschaftliche Gewicht des Tagungsbandes wird durch seinen interdisziplinaren Charakter noch erhoh