The Tender Bar

Author: J. R. Moehringer

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1401383416

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 384

View: 8768


Soon to be a major Amazon film directed by George Clooney and starring Ben Affleck, Tye Sheridan, Lily Rabe, and Christopher Lloyd, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar, in the tradition of This Boy’s Life and The Liar’s Club. J.R. Moehringer grew up captivated by a voice. It was the voice of his father, a New York City disc jockey who vanished before J.R. spoke his first word. Sitting on the stoop, pressing an ear to the radio, J.R. would strain to hear in that plummy baritone the secrets of masculinity and identity. Though J.R.'s mother was his world, his rock, he craved something more, something faintly and hauntingly audible only in The Voice. At eight years old, suddenly unable to find The Voice on the radio, J.R. turned in desperation to the bar on the corner, where he found a rousing chorus of new voices. The alphas along the bar—including J.R.'s Uncle Charlie, a Humphrey Bogart look-alike; Colt, a Yogi Bear sound-alike; and Joey D, a softhearted brawler—took J.R. to the beach, to ballgames, and ultimately into their circle. They taught J.R., tended him, and provided a kind of fathering-by-committee. Torn between the stirring example of his mother and the lurid romance of the bar, J.R. tried to forge a self somewhere in the center. But when it was time for J.R. to leave home, the bar became an increasingly seductive sanctuary, a place to return and regroup during his picaresque journeys. Time and again the bar offered shelter from failure, rejection, heartbreak—and eventually from reality. In the grand tradition of landmark memoirs, The Tender Bar is suspenseful, wrenching, and achingly funny. A classic American story of self-invention and escape, of the fierce love between a single mother and an only son, it's also a moving portrait of one boy's struggle to become a man, and an unforgettable depiction of how men remain, at heart, lost boys. Named a best book of the year by The New York Times, Esquire, The Los Angeles Times Book Review, Entertainment Weekly, USA Today, NPR's "Fresh Air," and New York Magazine A New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, San Francisco Chronicle, USA Today, Booksense, and Library Journal Bestseller Booksense Pick Borders New Voices Finalist Winner of the Books for a Better Life First Book Award

Summary of J.R. Moehringer's The Tender Bar

Author: Milkyway Media

Publisher: Milkyway Media

ISBN: N.A

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: N.A

View: 4519


Please note: This is a companion version & not the original book. Book Preview: #1 When I was seven years old, I saw nine men in orange softball uniforms racing around Memorial Field, the silhouette of Charles Dickens silkscreened on their chests. They were competitors, but they never stopped laughing. I laughed harder than anyone. #2 I remember the game well, and the beginning of my relationship with time. I wanted to watch the men forever, so I could understand what was so funny. I lived with my grandfather, Grandpa, and my mother’s two grown siblings. #3 My father was a popular rock ’n’ roll disc jockey, and his plummy baritone flew down the Hudson River. He would speak each day into a large microphone in New York City, and his voice would burst from the radio on Grandpa’s kitchen table. #4 The Voice was my only connection to the masculine world. I listened so attentively to The Voice that I became a prodigy at selective listening, which I thought was a gift until it proved to be a curse.

Tender Bar

Author: J. R. Moehringer

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783596176151

Category:

Page: 459

View: 2242


Tender Bar

Author: J. R. Moehringer,Brigitte Jakobeit

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783596510764

Category:

Page: 751

View: 3768


The Tender Bar

Author: J R Moehringer

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1444717952

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 300

View: 4412


'Highly entertaining . . . constructed as skilfully as a drink mixed by the author's Uncle Charlie' New York Times In the rich tradition of bestselling memoirs about self-invention, The Tender Bar is by turns riveting, moving, and achingly funny. An evocative portrait of one boy's struggle to become a man, it's also a touching depiction of how some men remain lost boys. JR Moehringer grew up listening for a voice, the voice of his missing father, a DJ who disappeared before JR spoke his first words. As a boy, JR would press his ear to a battered clock radio, straining to hear in that resonant voice the secrets of identity and masculinity. When the voice disappeared, JR found new voices in the bar on the corner. A grand old New York saloon, the bar was a sanctuary for all sorts of men -- cops and poets, actors and lawyers, gamblers and stumblebums. The flamboyant characters along the bar taught JR, tended him, and provided a kind of fatherhood by committee. Torn between his love for his mother and the lure of the bar, JR forged a boyhood somewhere in the middle. When the time came to leave home, the bar became a way station -- from JR's entrance to Yale, where he floundered as a scholarship student; to Lord & Taylor, where he spent a humbling stint peddling housewares; to the New York Times, where he became a faulty cog in a vast machine. The bar offered shelter from failure, from rejection, and eventually from reality, until at last the bar turned JR away.

Looking for Lionel and Other Stories

Author: Paul V. Walters

Publisher: Strategic Book Publishing & Rights Agency

ISBN: 1681812584

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 4647


Looking For Lionel is a deviation for Walters, whose Savage Trilogy captivated readers across the globe. This quirky and intriguing collection of short stories and previously published essays are a delight to read. From the heart-wrenching Looking For Lionel, Refugee and First Love to the hilarious Le Grand Café, Heavenly Summit and Burying Izzy Lazzard, these stories are sure to entertain the reader looking for “something different.” Walters has the ability to capture the true essence of the short story, and this anthology will take you on a journey to faraway places where the plot lines drag the reader into a world of flawed characters and bizarre situations. Looking For Lionel is a must for anyone who has a love of the short story narrative. “Every one of these stories is a superbly nuanced snapshot… Walters proves he is an adept raconteur on every level.” - Alana Woods, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian

Open

Author: Andre Agassi

Publisher: Vintage

ISBN: 9780307592804

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 400

View: 2016


#1 NATIONAL BESTSELLER Far more than a superb memoir about the highest levels of professional tennis, Open is the engrossing story of a remarkable life. Andre Agassi had his life mapped out for him before he left the crib. Groomed to be a tennis champion by his moody and demanding father, by the age of twenty-two Agassi had won the first of his eight grand slams and achieved wealth, celebrity, and the game’s highest honors. But as he reveals in this searching autobiography, off the court he was often unhappy and confused, unfulfilled by his great achievements in a sport he had come to resent. Agassi writes candidly about his early success and his uncomfortable relationship with fame, his marriage to Brooke Shields, his growing interest in philanthropy, and—described in haunting, point-by-point detail—the highs and lows of his celebrated career.

Baby, You are My Religion

Author: Marie Cartier

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1317544714

Category: Religion

Page: 224

View: 8130


Baby, You Are My Religion argues that American butch-femme bar culture of the mid-20th Century should be interpreted as a sacred space for its community. Before Stonewall—when homosexuals were still deemed mentally ill—these bars were the only place where many could have any community at all. Baby, You are My Religion explores this community as a site of a lived corporeal theology and political space. It reveals that religious institutions such as the Metropolitan Community Church were founded in such bars, that traditional and non-traditional religious activities took place there, and that religious ceremonies such as marriage were often conducted within the bars by staff. Baby, You are My Religion examines how these bars became not only ecclesiastical sites but also provided the fertile ground for the birth of the struggle for gay and lesbian civil rights before Stonewall.