The Truth about Stories

Author: Thomas King

Publisher: ReadHowYouWant

ISBN: 9781459664869

Category: Authors, Canadian

Page: 122

View: 1646


Winner of the 2003 Trillium Book Award ''Stories are wondrous things, '' award - winning author and scholar Thomas King declares in his 2003 CBC Massey Lectures. ''And they are dangerous.'' Beginning with a traditional Native oral story, King weaves his way through literature and history, religion and politics, popular culture and social protest, gracefully elucidating North America's relationship with its Native peoples. Native culture has deep ties to storytelling, and yet no other North American culture has been the subject of more erroneous stories. The Indian of fact, as King says, bears little resemblance to the literary Indian, the dying Indian, the construct so powerfully and often destructively projected by White North America. With keen perception and wit, King illustrates that stories are the key to, and only hope for, human understanding. He compels us to listen well

The Truth About Stories

Author: Thomas King

Publisher: House of Anansi

ISBN: 0887848958

Category: Social Science

Page: 208

View: 6473


Winner of the 2003 Trillium Book Award "Stories are wondrous things," award-winning author and scholar Thomas King declares in his 2003 CBC Massey Lectures. "And they are dangerous." Beginning with a traditional Native oral story, King weaves his way through literature and history, religion and politics, popular culture and social protest, gracefully elucidating North America's relationship with its Native peoples. Native culture has deep ties to storytelling, and yet no other North American culture has been the subject of more erroneous stories. The Indian of fact, as King says, bears little resemblance to the literary Indian, the dying Indian, the construct so powerfully and often destructively projected by White North America. With keen perception and wit, King illustrates that stories are the key to, and only hope for, human understanding. He compels us to listen well.

The Truth About Her

Author: Jacqueline Maley

Publisher: HarperCollins Australia

ISBN: 1460712900

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 7047


How can you write other people's stories, when you won't admit the truth of your own? An absorbing, moving, ruefully tender, witty and wise novel of marriage, motherhood and the paths we navigate through both, for fans of Ann Patchett and Anne Tyler. 'I loved The Truth About Her. It's an intelligent, compelling, nuanced tale of guilt, culpability, pride, shame and atonement. But most of all, it's a love letter to daughters, from the mothers who raise them. An astoundingly good debut.' Annabel Crabb Journalist and single mother Suzy Hamilton gets a phone call one summer morning, and finds out that the subject of one of her investigative exposes, 25-year-old wellness blogger Tracey Doran, has killed herself overnight. Suzy is horrified by this news but copes in the only way she knows how - through work, mothering, and carrying on with her ill-advised, tandem affairs. The consequences of her actions catch up with Suzy over the course of a sticky Sydney summer. She starts receiving anonymous vindictive letters and is pursued by Tracey's mother wanting her, as a kind of rough justice, to tell Tracey's story, but this time, the right way. A tender, absorbing, intelligent and moving exploration of guilt, shame, female anger, and, in particular, mothering, with all its trouble and treasure, The Truth About Her is mostly though a story about the nature of stories - who owns them, who gets to tell them, and why we need them. An entirely striking, stylish and contemporary novel, from a talented new writer. PRAISE FOR THE TRUTH ABOUT HER 'Heartfelt, funny and will resonate with many readers. This tender, witty and beautifully written novel is for fans of Georgia Blain, Charlotte Wood and Ann Patchett.' Books+Publishing 'A stunning novel, sharply observed, beautifully written, enthralling.' Julia Baird 'Read the first sentence of Jacqueline Maley's debut novel, and you will be in it until the end. Electrifying, deeply unsettling and so, so satisfying. And, if you've ever tried to manage the sharp end of a career with the blunt demands of parenthood, fiercely recognisable.' Meg Mason, author of Sorrow and Bliss 'I loved The Truth About Her. I could not put it down - whip-smart, sexy and with so much heart - and god, that ending packed a punch. The sort of book that all mothers need to read.' Eliza Henry- Jones, author of In the Quiet and Ache

The Truth About Stories

Author: Leah Byrd

Publisher: Samantha J Rapp

ISBN: 9781736297827

Category:

Page: 46

View: 336


A book is a curious thing. Inside, you might find short tales or long chronicles or some stories that never really end at all. And some books, though entirely made up, are absolutely true - giving us the power to see what could be instead of what is, to shape tomorrows before they become yesterdays. And who knows how the world might change because of it.

The Best American Short Stories 2006

Author: Ann Patchett,Katrina Kenison

Publisher: Mariner Books

ISBN: 9780618543526

Category: Fiction

Page: 388

View: 2331


Presents a collection of stories selected from magazines in the United States and Canada

Storytelling at Work

Author: Mitch Ditkoff

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780996912204

Category:

Page: 284

View: 5944


Storytelling at Work is a groundbreaking book about the power of personal storytelling to spark insight, meaning, and innovation - especially in the modern day workplace where data and information have too often supplanted knowledge and wisdom. The author of the book, Mitch Ditkoff, has been an "innovation provocateur" to some of the world's most forward thinking organizations since 1987 and has come to realize that the single most effective way to jump start wisdom in the workplace is via the sharing of well told stories - first person "moments of truth" that have embedded within them the DNA of what it really takes to be a positive force for change, on or off the job. Part One of Storytelling at Work includes 37 of the author's own stories from the front lines of business, both as the Co-Founder of Idea Champions - a leading innovation consultancy - and earlier in his life, as a young entrepreneur trying to find his way in the world. The stories are entertaining, evocative, and mind opening. Each one is followed by a brief reflection - a simple way for readers to apply the message of the story to their own lives. Part Two of the book is a collection of 16 essays on the art and science of storytelling, a thought provoking exploration of why stories are such a powerful communication medium and how the reader can make best use of stories to have the most possible positive impact on others. "I truly LOVE this book Mitch Ditkoff has delivered a modern classic on how to communicate with wisdom. Kudos " --Rowan Gibson, author of The Four Lenses of Innovation "Storytelling at Work is filled with Eureka moments that will spark your creativity and ignite your motivation. Original and deeply insightful " --Marshall Goldsmith, author of Triggers, a New York Times and Wall Street Journal #1 bestseller "Mitch Ditkoff's powerfully written book shows us how storytelling, well done, humanizes the world of work and helps us tune into the deep well of timeless wisdom within." --Tim Gallwey, author of The Inner Game of Tennis